Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Vice President Alex Ekwueme Is Reportedly In Coma...

Wednesday, November 01, 2017

Former Vice President Alex Ekwueme Is Reportedly In Coma...

Second republic Vice-President, Dr. Alex Ekwueme, has collapsed and is currently in Intensive Care in Enugu State. 

The PUNCH learnt on Tuesday night that Ekwueme collapsed around 2am last Saturday, at his residence in Independence Layout, Enugu.

The development comes barely 10 days (October 10) after he celebrated his 85th birthday. Family members said that the former vice-president went into coma soon after he collapsed. He was trying to get something from the table when he suddenly collapsed and immediately someone raised the alarm, we proceeded to revive him while cautious enough not to attract neighbours,” a relative, who spoke on the condition of anonymity, said.

When it became obvious that he had lapsed into coma, we rushed him to a hospital (unnamed) in GRA (Government Reserved Area), but we were referred to Memphys Hospital by medical consultants who had critically examined his condition. The source said that the family chose to keep the incident secret for a while with the hope that Ekwueme would “miraculously” come out of coma.

When there was no sign of improvement on Monday afternoon, we rallied round and informed the former governor of Anambra State, Mr. Peter Obi, who is like a son, and he has been making plans to fly him overseas.

Medical personnel at Memphys Hospital said that Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu State broke down in tears on seeing Ekwueme at the Intensive Care Unit on Tuesday evening. My namesake, Ifeanyichukwu, do not leave us now! Even if you must go, please wait to see your daughter become the deputy governor of Anambra State before you leave us,” Ugwuanyi was reported to have wailed at the ICU.

12 comments:

1. Buhari sent this man to kirikiri prison, and home arrest to his his fulani brother Shagari.
    Peace upon his soul.

2. Eyya.. I pray he comes out alive, Amen.

3. He has lived well. May God heal him Amen

4. He will come out of coma like a bouncing baby boy.
    Amen

5. Imagine what cane out of the govenor's mouth! Must you bring politics into a critical situation like this?
    All he thought of is Ekweme"s support via his daughter!
    Nigerian politicians think through their anus. Brainless selfish idiots.

There goes the wailing govenor again!!! It is well with Ekweme IJN

6. This is not a funny thing, but Ugwuanyi sabi cry no be small, haaai, such an emotional somebody.

Get well Sir.

7. Get well soon sir. Because your death will cause more harm than good. All the things your brothers took from Oko your home town including the kingship, they are just waiting for your death to pounce on your brothers and take it back. They are holding their peace just because of the little respect they have for you for old time sake. So hang in there.

8. EKWUEME NWANNE. AGWU NE CHE NDI IGBO. O GA ADIRI GI NMA