Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governors Give Condition To Obey Buhari's Directive To Pay Salaries Before Christmas

Tuesday, November 28, 2017

Governors Give Condition To Obey Buhari's Directive To Pay Salaries Before Christmas

Governors from the 36 states have said they will abide by the directive of President Muhammadu Buhari to pay all outstanding salary arrears before Christmas.

They, however, gave a condition to be met for them to comply with the directive.

This was revealed by Governor Rochas Okorocha of Imo State while briefing State House correspondents after the governors held a closed-door meeting with Mr. Buhari inside the council chamber of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

Mr. Okorocha, who confirmed the directive from Mr. Buhari, said the payment of the arrears is dependent on the president’s approval of the payment of the 50 per cent Paris Club loan refund.

“Yes, with the Paris Club coming, every worker should enjoy his/her Christmas”, Mr. Okorocha said.

The Imo governor also said: “the president has expressed the need to make ensure that every Nigerian especially the workers have a beautiful Christmas and the issue of outstanding Paris club was discussed and that was taken care of.”

He said the governors put pressure on the president to get approval for the balance so that they (governors) can make adequate appropriation arrangements.

“We also made a request for Mr. President’s approval so that the balance should form part of our 2018 budget, because we can’t include it, until we are sure that the money is coming. That was also sorted out.

“So, as it is now, the issue of workers took the centre stage and Mr. President was concerned about those who depend on their salaries to feed their families and pay their house rent and he had the assurance from the governors that we will meet up those obligations”, he said.

The governor of Kaduna State, Nasir El-Rufai, who also spoke at the briefing said every state will get its own share of the Paris Club refund based, ”on what was arrived at after reconciliation irrespective of the quantum of arrears owed.”

“Every state has a specific amount that was deducted. That amount may be enough to cover the arrears; it may not be, because you cannot get more than what you are entitled to. It varies from state to state.

“My state has no salary arrears at all. So, it’s a mute issue. Kano doesn’t have salary arrears. Whatever we are getting, we just continue with our development projects.

“Some states have salary arrears that are bigger than the Paris Club refund they are getting. Even when they get it, they will not be able to clear the salary arrears. But it is better to reduce it so that people will have happier Christmas than not,” he said.

from premiumtimes

13 comments:

1. Please where does the money these governors use in paying themselve and the house members come from, since workers salaries now depend on Paris abi London funds.
    They had better put pensioners in the scheme of thing, can't imagine how the old people are faring.
    Kudos to the states that are not owing salaries.

2. Okoroawusa status money alone should be more than enough to pay off salaries oooo

3. Biko who knows how i can get in touch with Atiku

4. Even if all the state governors comply and pay am sure my state Governor will not pay even if given the whole money in the country. Simply wicked

5. IF ONLY NIGERIANS UNDERSTAND THIS GOVT. HAS NOTHING TO OFFER, THEY WLD VE BEEN PREPARING TO VOTE THEM OUT IN 2019 B4 THEY BURY NIGERIA. SO WORKERS FAITH NOW DEPENDS ON PARIS CLUB LOAN. WHAT HAPPENS AFTER DECEMBER WHEN THE LOAN HAS COMPLETELY BEEN EXHAUSTED.

YESTERDAY THEY INAUGURATED COMMITTEE ON MINIMUM WAGE, SAME GOVT. THAT CANNOT PAY WORKERS EVEN AT CURRENT MINIMUM WAGE. NIGERIANS ARE BECOMING POORER/HUNGRY EVERYDAY. PEOPLE SHOULD OPEN THEIR EYES AND BEGIN TO SEE THINGS THEMSELVES.

A WORD IS ENOUGH FOR THE WISE.

6. But you politicians salaries are not dependent on Paris club. Your allowances are not dependent on Paris club. But workers salaries on paris club. What a country!

7. Dear "Governors"... So for your state workers to get paid now...nah for fed govt to first give una own share of the Paris loan...mmmm...was this what you promised them during your campaigns????.

God will definitely judge all of you.

As for Rochas..nah to put up more status with the loan be that.

May God deliver Nigeria and Nigerians from these lot.

It is well.

8. Someone like ortom will begin to tell stories of huge wage bill and what not

9. This is wickedness in deeper mind,
    the government money are not even your own money and you find its
    so bad to pay people the money they has worked for...evil heart in power