Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Inspector General Of Police Appears Before Senate And Keeps Mum On Questions Regarding Fraud Allegations Against Him

Thursday, November 09, 2017

Inspector General Of Police Appears Before Senate And Keeps Mum On Questions Regarding Fraud Allegations Against Him

A mild drama ensued at the National Assembly on Wednesday as the Inspector-general of police (IGP), Ibrahim Idris refused to entertain questions from the senate committee probing allegations levelled against him by Senator Isah Misau.

The Inspector general of Police Ibrahim Idris on Wednesday finally appeared before the Senate ad-hoc committee investigating the alleged corruption levelled against him. Senator Isa Misau had accused the IGP of pocketing the sum of N10 billion illegal cash monthly.

Idris who was accompanied by senior police officers told the senators that he would not answer any question as the matter was in court.

His words: "I’m represented by a Senior Advocate of Nigeria, Alex Izyon. He is going to refer to as my true response on allegations made by Senator Isa Misau against me.

I will not make any other comment or answer any question in respect to the allegation and various civil and criminal cases pending in the law court. More especially, when the Senator has already been arraigned in court in respect of these matters. I decided to appear before this Senate committee on the allegations out of the high respect I have for the Senate and my penchant for the rule of law. Futhermore, it is expected that the Senate and the committee will refrain from making reference to the issue as it would be against order 41 (7) and 53 (5) of the Senate standing order 2015 as amended.

In his remarks, Senator Ita Enang urged the lawmaker to apply the multi-door approach to resolving the matter. The committee adjourned the matter.

From the Whistler

10 comments:

1. Shame on this man!...
    And he was the person that carried Evans case for head!...
    Criminal!...

1. I assumed what the reason could be even before reading and I was right but trust the illiterates on this blog. How is he supposed to answer to a matter in court???

2. Looking at him is like looking at my uncle. Ole IGP

3. When it suits them, they obey court order s and when it doesn't court laws are thrashed. Smh

4. If he'll not answer any questions, then why did he appear before the Senate.

5. Ok na! If d matter is truly already in court, then he responded well. All of dem are even d same so they should treat other matters arising jare.

6. I cry for my country. No politicians have our interest at heart.

7. 10 billion naira monthly...
    Please someone should shift let me faint.

8. HE HAS A POINT THO. THE MATTER IS IN COURT