Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists -Unforgettable Journey Part 2

Saturday, November 25, 2017

Saturday In House Gists -Unforgettable Journey Part 2

Ever travelled anywhere and cannot forget the experience whether good or bad?

Last week,we had the FIRST PART of the Unforgettable Journey...

Today we are concluding it because some people did not get the chance to take part.....
If you tried last week you can try again cos we all have multiple travel stories....

*I just remembered travelling with my dad once and he stopped the car on the way cos he had running stomach..The next time he came out he was covered in faeces cos he fell into a hole full of it...
This was how he drove all the way from Ore to the village..I threw up so much on the road from the smell that i had lost weight by the time we arrived the Village and my grandma was complaining 'that i was too lean.....I was even too tired to argue with her as usual..lol

92 comments:

1. My road experience are too numerous to mention..

2. The first time I traveled to Northern Nigeria that was for NYSC. I was so shocked at the way robbers robbed. They see an approaching vehicle, they open fire and finish every living thing inside. Then they come in to search for what to steal.

I saw a lot of these and each time I traveled through their roads, I was "scared". And when it is time for prayers on the road, the driver simply packed the bus and left, you are on your own.

3. Yaaaaay Stella brought it back.
    Ewwwwww at your gist but poopoo can be a bastard for travelers sha.
    See like I said last week I have a lot of terrible experiences from travelling, I can't believe that I currently enjoy road trips like it's nothing.

After my Unijos post utme exams, I went down to Abuja to see my sister. I urgently had to leave before my planned date as I had an exam to write. So my sister hurriedly dropped me off at Zuba park, I found a bus going to Lagos and was even taken inside my luxurious bus with A/C and TV. Mind you, I have never taken Marcopolo abi what are they called before so I was excited about travelling in luxury or so I thought. So they asked me to pay that most people book ahead but I was lucky that they were still some seats left and that once it's 10pm, we would start our trip and would arrive in Lagos very early in the morning. After payment and choosing my preferred seat, I decided to walk around and get food to eat because it wasn't even 7pm yet. Anyway, around 9pm I decided to go to my luxurious bus for boarding. The guy that showed me around and that I paid money to was no where to be found but I wasn't worried since I had my bus ticket. I got to the bus and I got the news "this bus no fit move again, them just call the driver say him get court case tomorrow"
    I was like, 😨😨 " I don't understand, if one driver is indisposed definitely there are other available drivers to move the bus". As far as I was concerned nothing was going to get in the way of my luxurious bus and I. I was still speaking English and my voice was already getting hoarse from shouting. They eventually told me they found another bus with driver to do the trip, so I started to smile again and asked them to take me to my new bus. When I saw the new bus, I almost fainted. Even our Lagos molue back in the day was far better than what was before me. I couldn't believe that the gongoni I was looking at was what I'd board to Lagos. I started another bout of screaming "Give me my money, I am not going again". This time, they didn't even bother to placate me and told me "we no dey return money for here, if you no wan go again comot for road make other people enter". Ah, I was so confused and then it dawned on me that there was never a luxurious bus at least not the one I was shown and this was their tactic to lure unsuspecting passengers. It was past 10pm and I didn't see a miracle happening. So I got into the bus, it was parked full with attachments. One lady, was transporting crates of eggs and they were lined up all over the place. The bus seats were old and worn out. Anyway, the trip started and the first scene that greeted my eyes was an accident between a trailer and a bus that had just left the same park. Our bus didn't even stop, dead bodies and tomatoes everywhere. Just before we got to Lagos, armed robbers were attacking some travelers ahead of us so we had to stop for a while with other travelers before proceeding. We eventually got to Lagos after noon and then it clicked that my exam was Thursday the 20th not Thursday the 21st and I left Abuja on the day the exam was written. I had passed through so much for nothing 😂😂. Anyway, I got home safe Ka sa ma dupe.

1. This na bed time story nahh, after two good rounds of no stop knacking.

2. Night trips are so scary. I heard those days they could rob a bus 2-3times before they reach their destination.

3. 😂😂😂😂😂 Just imagined you sending a text from the boot.

4. Lol, Isaac. This second comment is for you.. dunno how it landed here.

4. Mine was my first post ume I went to write in Oleh....it is a journey I will never forget because our exam was supposed to commence by 10am but we ended up writing by 7:30pm...it was hell for almost of all us who had no plans to spend the night there... I entered car trunk(boot) more than 3 times in different cars... It was after like the 4th or 5th car I got home, the experience too sweet and bitter, can't narrate all... But I told myself if I don't die tonight I can't die again and God was there for us all through... It was at that point in delta when ritualist and armed robbery was on the high side... My mum drained my battery with calls, scaring me the more with her endless calls of worries and prayers.... She will say please send the plate number to me or your dad... Me inside boot with strangers... Some policemen even gave us bottle water when we were stopped and were laughing at us, even dpo spoke to my mum... Am busy let me be going lol

5. Haa Stella yaff kee me o....😁😁😁😂😂😂😂

6. @ chi exotic, about your hospital comment in sp, I think the fault is partly ours too. In a situation where the victim is suffering from a severe health problem, serious accident of any form and even gun shot(though police report is required), please let us make sure that the victim is rushed to a government hospital no matter the distance. A government hospital will never reject a patient. The reason the small and medium private ones reject them is because they don't have the facilities to take care of them. Tell me how many of them that have a pediatric ward for example, they will refer you to a government hospital. So, instead of us to carry this people to 4 or 5 different private hospitals where they will be rejected b4 one of them will now have the courtesy to refer you, why can't we just save that time to take them to where they will not be rejected. Though for the patient to be quickly attended to is another case entirely because I don't know of other states but if it is Lagos state hospitals(state hospitals), be rest assured that they will quickly attend to them especially emergency cases.

7. 2015 my mum and I travelled to Bauchi. We got to Apo park late so it took a while before the car got filled up. One man came and suggested that we pay for the last seat as it was just my mum and I at the back while he sat in front. It was N2500 or so. Mumsy said we could only affort 1k meaning the man was to pay 1500 Aline while me n mumsy will pay N500 each. I used side eye to look at mumsy cos shame don dey catch me, d woman troway face o. The man agreed and journey began. Not so long after we took off, mumsy stopped to buy egusi,grape and dry fish,we were actually going for my intro. At gidan waya,mama bought fruits and even offered the man even though he did not take. We were supposed to be broke o,yet na we buy pass for car. Journey continued, we were all gusting and having a nice time. We now got to a suya spot on Bauchi- Jos road and the man said he wanted suya and asked if we cared,mumsy said no problem we Dont mind. I wanted the ground to swallow me at this moment,haba,after paying the larger sum at the park and na me n mumsy enjoy the comfort pass we are still collecting suya? I just put my head down,mumsy was laughing. I gisted daddy n siblings at home n theyvso made fun of her ehnn. The funniest part is I never saw her in that light as she's very generous and doesn't collect things from people. I concluded that the woman for don task people well well wen she was younger.

8. #You'd rather have an enemy who slaps you in the face than a friend who stabs you in the back*

9. lol,well i can't recall any peculiar and unforgettable journey

1. I beg you with all you hold dear. DON'T remember anyone pls. I'm yet to recover from your gbagauns the last time you posted a gist. .

10. Oops I didn't know I typed so much. Make una sorry o 😁😁

1. We enjoyed it. So you & data vendor na mate. Good to know.

11. Ok, I was barely 10 I think, we took a road trip to our hometown from Lagos, it was fun, anticipated it for weeks, first ever family road trip to the village, we had a lot of goodies in the car to eat, my sweet daddy was driving his new Mercedes, all seemed to be going well until car developed a fault and we suddenly stopped at the outskirts of sagamu i think. We scurried to park at the side, good Samaritans came to help, my dad left with them in a bid to get a mechanic who could quickly repair it so we could be on our way. We waited n waited, mom said its not safe to be waiting on the road, we took a walk, got to a store and we ordered some drinks. Just as we were sipping our cold drinks, the 3 ORANGE men walked in! I had caught a glimpse of them from afar crossing the road, but i felt they probably had somewhere to go n hurried along w, to see them now face to face was scary! I just froze, couldn't move, felt this nostalgic feeling of impending doom! still feel it when i think of that experience. I just felt they followed me and would harm me. They took their drinks and left, 1 starred at me with a grin on his face! I was truly terrified,started crying.I later realised i had Maskophobia! The car was finally towed back to lagos, teuat my mum to blame the village people who saw us driving with their 'Nyokometer aka mirror on the wall', she later said it was Godswill, and that was the end of our attempt at ever driving to the east.

1. I don't understand at all. Ur story is confusing.....

2. *Masklophobia
      You skipped the story a bit.
      Were they wearing masks like masquerades or their faces were painted like clowns?

12. In 2013, as part of the army's efforts to rid Maiduguri of BH, network communication were ceased. No calls, texts or email unless there was wifi. Internet cafes were packed full and the wifi frustrating.
    I was an intern at UMTH but with what was going on I wanted to leave. I heard that people were going to Damaturu to make calls so I called my friend D and he agreed we'd go there together so I could communicate with my contacts in Abuja as well as tell our family members we were still alive.
    We set out in the morning, made calls, chilled a bit. I was asked to call back in a weeks time to confirm if I was taken in FCTA. I went back to damaturu, but I almost never returned. It was in the afternoon, we were about approaching, roughly 45mins away from Damaturu. Many vehicles were parked and we thought it was a military checkpoint carrying out routine checks on travellers. They were dressed in military uniform but some were light skinned like arabs. The ladies were separated from the men and we were asked to produce ID cards, I had my old student ID card and joined the queue with it.
    Further ahead, we saw them pouring some substances on the men, then one of the soldiers brought out a chainsaw, asked them to kneel and chopped off his head before our eyes.
    They weren't soldiers, they were BH. I dropped my ID card and started running, we all started running. As we were running we'd hear shouts of wai o Allah! as someone was brought down by a bullet. I kept running and didn't know where I was going. I didn't care, I just didn't want to be caught. They were in the bush looking for us, capturing women, killing men, raping and slaughtering. I was just lucky. I climbed a tree and slept in it that night with a man I recognised as my lecturer in unimaid, he was drenched in blood and sweat and crying like a baby. The lady with the baby that sat next to me in the vehicle I traveled with was shot dead.
    The next day, we met some villagers, who helped us escape we trekked a long distance till we got to an army base in banki. We were brought back to Maiduguri by the soldiers. I left Maiduguri in 2015. I was born there and I sometimes miss the place.

1. Jesus Christ, thank God for safety. Last time I went to Maiduguri was in 2013.

2. Waoh!!!thank God for your life

3. Jesus is Lord, this has the be the most horrific thing I have read in a while, your God is alive, oh my the poor woman oh boko haram, God will deal with you

4. You saw hell, just like in the movies. I'm happy you are here to tell your story.

5. This is terrible. Thank you God you were not hurt.

6. Jesuuuu!!!!😳😳😳😳😳😳😳
      Thank God fot your life ooh

7. Hmmm you have really peeped through the Windows of hell

13. In 2013 June, I had an unforgettable funny journey experience. My brother and I were travelling to Abuja from Osogbo in his friend's car, he was driving. we didn't have much cash on us and we heard there were checkpoints on that road. So we concluded that we will act a little drama anytime we come across police checkpoint so that we won't pay them money. I was very thin then. When we sight them, I will fake sleep and change my face like I was sick.
    Any checkpoint we reach, the following conversation ensued:

Police: where una dey go?
    My bother : We dey go village
    Police: Wetin dey happen for there?/ what what your mission there?
    My brother: This my sister here has HIV/AIDS, our dad said I should bring her down to the village so they can try native medicines on her.
    Police: Oya go go go

He will now beckon on his colleagues at the front to allow us go. We end up paying only one or two police officers till we got to the place. Hehehehehe.

14. The journey I could remember now is when I traveled to effurum warri for a seminar, the seminar ended late, though I was given allowance for hotel accomodation but I decided to travel back that evening so I could pocket the hotel money.

Got to the park, the available bus was already occupied with only the back seats remaining, I entered and within a minute a lady entered and sat beside me, another lady also entered and we started our journey. Half way through the journey, the lady beside me started nodding her head from sleep, as a good Samaritan I offered my shoulder for her to rest her head. The roads from effurum to asaba were filled with many potholes and as a result of that the lady's bosom kept brushing my upper arm, at some point I felt the lady was doing it deliberately and that was when the man in me stirred up so I started returning the smooching.. 😂 😂.

We arrived asaba around 9pm and I convinced the lady to pass the night at my place... The rest was history!

DontQuoteMe™

1. Hian
      I would have been dissapointed if it was otherwise.
      Abi is it not elastic again?

2. Poor boy. Now we know why you're so shallow, you've exchanged your senses for sex with an evil spirit

3. .....And I read this to the end thinking there was gist😩😩😩😩

4. Namsense stowi.... Mtcheeeew

5. Anon God punish you and your entire family, as you are anonymous so shall your destiny and family remain anonymous.

DontQuoteMe™

15. During my NYSC days, was coming back for easter holidays on a good Friday from abj, omo na so road block, everybody was travelling that day, the road blockage tie wrapper, coupled with all those dangote trailers wey don't block road, omo we got to lokoja around 6pm when we don enter one kukere road like that, na so the driver insist o, ahhh that he must get to Umuahia by fire by force that day, we got to Enugu around 12am, we jammed some policemen on the road and they warned us to just stop over at Enugu and continue the next morning say road too risky, driver refused o, when we got to 4corner na so all the passengers para for am before im come stop, as wey dey inside bus dey sleep na so agbero them come they harass us, that are vigilante members and we must pay for the parking space and the protection, the funny thing was that I didn't have one naira, I came to the park with my ATM so that I will withdraw before the journey starts,unfortunately the machines were not dispensing, na so i use the little wey I get pay with hope say I go withdraw for lokoja, even when we got there late no money to buy pure water, God bless one lady that bought me food when she found out my predicament, and when we got to Enugu she said she wasn't going ahead dropped and gave me 1k,God bless you sis, wherever you are. We left early and got to umuahia by 7am, we were all smelling, ewwwwww

16. Mine was when I travelled to Jos for a conference. We were much from our side so we decided to go charter a bus instead of going one-one.
    Well, we set out on the journey happily with getting to know the strangers who are the same mission with you.

Before heading for that journey, I already forewarned myself on the pros and cons of an 18hour journey.
    We set out to go. After about 6hours on the road, my stomach began to churn, I got that sign as a running stomach so I tried to suppress it but since I couldn't again, I had to tell the driver. He had to look for where to stop and so I and others came down to answer nature's call.

Hmm, I didn't know that answer was an approval to the worms in my stomach to start playing games with me. After 30mins, it started again, after 15mins then I took flagyl and tetracycle (first ever warning I gave to myself. I don't go on a journey with purge medicine and some other medicine)
    Then I already began to feel sick. My body was hot and I felt like my stomach was suddenly tied with a robe.
    I decided to sleep so my body can calm down.

I always believe God is a faithful God. When it was night around pastmidnight, we were on one of the northern states already. About 2 states more to get to Jos and everyone in the bus was sleeping. Suddenly, it looked like we were floating and somersaulting on the air. Everyone woke up and began to pray, shouting blood of Jesus and calling on every deity they know.

Soon, we came down with a crash on the ground. Driver was shouting 'Ewoo, Ewoo, they wan kill me oo'. It was obvious we nearly didn't not survive an accident. Note that we are the only one on the road as at then. When some guys occupied the front seat and was trying to find out the cause, driver self confessed that he was sleeping and driving. He was still nodding as at then.
    Thankfully for his honesty that he can't continue, other guys took turn to drive us.

Alright and so we thought this was the last and we can have a blissful journey at last.
    Getting to 2am, we saw some police cars hurrying past us, they weren't going to the direction we were going, they were coming from there.

When we stopped to ask them hat happened, they hurriedly told us that heavily armed robbers are some miles away from us and we should turn back or better still, come down from the bus and hide into the bush.

The first impulse the person driving us had was to turn back and run with the police. Ah ! The fear that gripped us that night ehn, and the kind of driving too.
    Soon, we heard gunshot, the first, second, they weren't too far from us and the third.

Ha! When we couldn't find the police van again, someone suggested that we just park the car and dive into the bush. Since it was a straight road and we aren't seeing any street to turn to. We stopped the car, hide our belongings and dived into the bush. Chai! That bush played with our souls that night. It was thorny, itchy and what have u.

After about 45mins, in a minute rush, first, second and third car passed with an announcement (2 gunshot). We stayed for about 15mins more in the bush before we came out.

We reached our destination around 5am, with battered faces and bodies. You can tell what we went through on the journey by the look on our faces.

After then, I made a resolution not to go on a long journey again but na me abi. Lai lai, that résolution no hold water because I can't be having a conference in Eithopia or UK and then I don't have money for the flight and decides to waste that opportunity because of road experience.

17. Experience has taught me to always copy my comment whenever I am typing a note book on the comment box and to avoid crying.

You guys enjoy my story. I balanced well to type it cos it's an experience of a lifetime. Will go and archive it after now sef

1. Enjoy which story? In your mind

18. My own experience was during my university days, I was on a journey to school for my convocation, I boarded Osogbo bus from Iyana Ipaja and i sat at the second row of the back seat, waiting for more passengers, in some minutes a young lady with a baby came and sat beside me, as I stared at her, I knew she was local, because her intonation and dress sense was weird. The bus got filled up and an official of road transport workers, came to check all the tires and also collected settlement. The woman with a baby bought a lot of eggs, biscuit etc at the park and then the journey started, I was irritated by the woman way of eating and when she removed her baby from her back, I just peep at the baby, and I wasn't interested in carrying the baby, because the baby didnt look well, then I decided to mind my business by playing with my phone, at times she tried to chat me, but didn't give her audience and keep on playing with my phone. All of sudden the bus began to sway from left to right and then I looked up to see what was happening, only for me to discover that, our driver was struggling with the steering, the women shouting Jesus,the woman beside me had threw her baby on my legs and shouting in yoruba "Moku o, tani mose, mi osi so fun wan nle pe mo travulu" (Am dead, who did i offend and I didn't tell anyone at home that am embarking on a journey). I held on the baby on my lap and started removing my ear rings and asking for forgiveness, the thought of my candle night in school started playing like movie in my mind. The driver tried to avoid cars and was able to stop the car after a long struggling. The car was stopped and we all came down, some women started vomiting while the men blamed the driver for over speeding, I got down, and couldn't believe that I survived it while the woman who sat beside me vomited and started saying she's isn't going with the bus again o. I just laugh and thank God whenever I remember the incident, that's why I have develop the phobia of travelling. Original.

1. Didn't understand how her looks, accent and baby was relevant to this story

2. You don't have to understand.
      Read and waka pass.
      This is not for JAMB exam.

19. I stopped becoming friendly with fellow passengers after my experience 7years ago.
    I was travelling in a bus from Kwara state to attend a friend's wedding in Lagos.
    We boarded the bus at the park. One middle aged man was seated beside me, I was seated beside the window. He was buying different things and offering them to me and I greedily collected. He will beg me to collect the things through the window for him and he will ask me to collect my own too. I was eating and drinking. I became so free with him. He told me about his family in London. How his wife refuse to call him for the past two years and he was the one that laboured for her to travel. How he ran into depression and almost committed suicide. I felt pity for him. He said he was going to see his brother in Lagos who promised to help him.
    When we entered Lagos, he spilled a soft drink on his clothes and asked if I have tissue, I offered him my handkerchief instead. He cleaned his clothes and returned it to me.
    We got to Ojota around 2:pm. I alighted, he also jumped down and offered to help me with my luggage. I allowed him. I was just senseless from that point.
    He asked to use my phone and call his brother, saying his battery was down. I gave him my double sim Tecno phone, he now asked if I have another phone, I said no. he fumbled with the phone and said the network was bad and returned it to me.
    After that, he said I should lend him 10k. I told him I don't go around with such cash and that I only have 1500 in my bag . He now said I should bring it and we should use my ATM to withdraw the balance. I followed him like a sheep. He was the one holding the card and I told him my password. He withdrew all my savings and asked if I have another account. I didn't have and I told him so. He was still with my luggage. We now left me at the ATM point and he said I should wait for him that he is coming. That was how he left with my luggage and all my life savings. I was waiting for him at the ATM point till 6pm when my friend called and asked if I had arrived Lagos. That was when I regained my senses.
    Till today, I don't know how he jazzed me, whether through food, drinks, my handkerchief that he used or my luggage that he carried for me.

1. Hahahahhahahahaha

It is greeediness that landed you there. You probably thought you have gotten a new boyfriend since his wife had abandoned him according to his format. He did not use any jazz, he was just smart and diligent.

2. Lmao. I don't know why i find this funny

3. Wow!
      This is why I don't relate with any passenger in any public vehicle I enter.

4. Wow, maybe he jazzed you or he gained your trust with all the free food he offered you. Strange.

5. Lmao olojukokoro

6. This is a lesson not to get too comfy with a stranger.

7. Thank God he did not use you for ritual. lols.

8. Aaawwww. So sorry dear.
      I was honestly sober until I imagined you waiting at the ATM for him till 6pm.. I didn't know when laugher escaped😂😂😂😂😂
      And the funny thing is that you remember every detail.
      Pele dear.. He has taken your problems with him. Thank God you were not harmed.

9. This has been happening for long. We all should be careful

20. I remember when I was going back to my PPA in Zamfara from Lagos. I and my friend were deceived by the motor boys after waiting several hours at the park to get a luxury bus and it was pretty late in the night. After what seemed like eternity,a bus came by and we were elated not knowing what would befall us on the way. We paid our fare and entered the bus,that was when we knew that we were finished!
    The bus had no seating space and was jampacked with these dirty looking Hausa guys with their loads sitting on the floor. We could barely see anywhere to fit our legs in so we made to get off the bus and get our money back but a lot of people had entered too claiming that there was no other bus for the night unless we wanted to sleep in the park which was way dangerous. Hmmmm! That was were the problem of my life started... I died a thousand times on my feet before I got to Zamfara the next day!

21. My unforgettable road trip was when I was returning from my convocation in the University of Calabar. I boarded a car at Etim Edem park.However, just after we left 11-11,the brakes failed and the driver nearly hit a Vehicle Inspection Officer.He was able to pull into a mechanic workshop to fix the faulty brakes. After the mechanic was through with tinkering on the brakes, we commenced on the journey.
    But the driver had to pull over again,just after 8 Miles; on the excuse that he did not want to continue risking our lives. He refunded our fares,but we became stranded, because we were in the middle of nowhere on the Calabar-Ikom highway.
    All the vehicles leaving Calabar were filled up with passengers,just like many other vehicles coming into Calabar. We were then faced with the Hobson's choice of either boarding another vehicle back to Calabar or any vehicle travelling to Udukpani Junction, but it was not that easy.
    We had to stand under the scorching sun for minutes on end. However, one by one, many of the stranded passengers were able to find sitting spaces in the different cars that eventually transported them out of the area.
    I was left with a boy who identified himself as a student of CRUTECH. He eventually flagged down a man he identified as one of his lecturers,who luckily conveyed us to Udukpani Junction: as he was on his way to Akwa Ibom State.
    We faced another transportation problem there at Udukpani Junction, as it took nearly an hour for us to get a vehicle travelling to Ugep.
    But just some minutes into the journey, the on side tyre detached itself from the car and ran into the bush. I watched as the driver wrestled to bring the vehicle to a halt,as I the tyre ran into the bush. Two motorcylists nearly collided;as they tried to avoid the escaping tyre.It was a miracle that the driver was driving on reduced speed and was able to manouevre the car to a stop on the side of the road.
    Many of the passengers were turned into emergency prayer warriors;as they praised God saving them from a fatal road accident.
    The driver left in search of a bolts and a mechanic to fix the spare tyre he brought from his booth and that was the last time we saw him because many of us started boarding other vehicles after thirty minutes of waiting for him.
    I was getting restless because it was already past 5pm and I was still far away from home. However, we were able to get another car to convey many of us to Ugep.
    We got to Ugep by 8:30pm and it took a 100 percent increase in the transportation fare for an okada man to agree to convey me to Abaomege, where I expected to board a vehicle or another okada to Afikpo.
    But on getting to Abaomege, I discovered that the okada boys I approached were only interested in operating within Abaomege. No amount of begging would convince any of them to convey me to Afikpo because it was already some minutes to 10pm and they understandably didn't want to risk anything. The vehicles driving past reduced with each ticking of the clock and some of them actually increased speed on sighting my crestfallen figure beside the road.
    However, I was able to convince a driver of an Okeyson bus that I was not an armed robber before he could agree to convey me. I revealed that he was just returning from dropping off some passengers; as he came in from Lagos and needed to be in Afikpo: to be able to book for a return trip to Lagos.
    In a way,I felt he was safe with me because the Akpoha/Abaomege bridge was notorious for armed robbery operations. I had to trek home from the Okeyson park because it was already some minutes to 11pm when we arrived and I was now in familiar surroundings...
    Honestly,I have never undertaken a more daunting/risky trip and I always cringe whenever I remember that tyre running into the bush and such a close shave with death.

1. Great malabite! 😂😂😂 You no do thanksgiving say them no uss yoi do suya for Ugep? Thats another testimony to add to this yoir triumphant journey. Its 'Odukpani' by the way 😉

2. Chikito I know say u must comment under this... Paul Okah na God save u o! If not them chikito pple for use u do peppersoup

Anonymous Rasta

3. I can't believe I'm reading about ugep on this blog.

That's one of my friends and husband's home town. They never stop talking about that place.

I hope it's the 'city' they claim it is

22. The only thing coming to mind was when the red brt bus I entered nearly flipped over. It was scary plus I was in the side where it was meant to flip.

23. December 21st will make it 11 years since I survived the accident that almost turned me into a vegetable.
    Boarded a bus from Abuja getting to lokoja the bus lost a tyre and because he was on speed he lost control. Well the bus somersaulted I don't know how long but what I know is that the pains were out of this world. Hospital said spinal cord injury a shift in the 5th and 6th bone.The story long. My finance and his family heard paralysis and he came to ask for his engagement ring. All is well that ends well. I am married to my diamond now with kids.One day Stella I will send in my story.

1. Oh God! This is why I hate traveling...😩😩😩😩
      Thank God for your life.

24. I once travelled from Lagos to the east. When we stopped to eat in Asaba, I finished my food, entered the toilet but I was not comfortable using it so I entered the bush. That was how I saw a man and a married woman who sat beside me in the car doing it in the bush. The woman bent over and held on to a tree while the man was giving her from the back. This woman's daughter who was about 10yrs was still eating in the restaurant oh. After urinating, I walked close to them and coughed before turning back, I didn't wait to see their reaction .
    In the car, everyone pretended as if nothing happened. What is my own, I didn't know any of them. Lols.

1. That one is a spiritual problem.. according to Africans.

2. Hahahaha. Mama the Mama, you should hav posted this earlier. This your gist would have won

25. in 2014,my mum was going to one hospital in abuja and said I should go with her..my seat neighbor was a girl of my age..I noticed she covered her face like the Hausa women and wasn't looking around. while on our way she tapped me nd said I should help her buy gala,after giving her the gala I was curious to know why she wasn't herself even when everyone was laughing.. she told me that the man beside the driver is her uncle that he based in abuja nd was going back to abuja and that she too was heading to abuja but not at her uncle's place.That if her uncle should see her that her education is gone cos she left her school in anambra to visit someone in abuja..I didn't bother to ask her whom the "someone" was cos I knew it must definitely be a guy ..If na gal she no go dey panic nah..we got to edo and our bus spoilt everyone came down except this gal..she went to the back of the bus and hid..I was feeling for her shaa..she was so tensed.I told my mum and we coded for her. at last we got to abuja she waited for her uncle to alight before she came down. I'm sure she would never forget that horrible journey

26. @iPhie, they were wearing masks dear. Do u remember the 3 ORANGE men? My bad masklophobia

27. @iPhie, they were wearing masks dear. Do u remember the 3 ORANGE men? My bad masklophobia

28. Chikito, thanks for the correction. To imagine I travelled on that road for five years without bothering about the correct pronunciation is a shame,lol! Are you from Odukpani? Are a Malabress? Lol! But Ugep is not as bad as people paint it o,lol! Maybe in the past the people were cannibals, but there is nothing to fear now. Civilization has overtaken the town,even though cultism reigns unabates.
    Anonymous, Chikito makes good observation with her comments, so always welcome her,lol!
    Eka Joy, wow! You have a connection with Ugep? Aploka. Adiano? Lol! I lived in Ekori for years so I speak and understand Yakurr...

29. In my five years of shuttling between Afikpo and Calabar,I have encountered many unpleasant and memorable experiences, like the following:
    1. I once boarded a vehicle at Ugep,going to Calabar in April,2014. When we got to Iwuru, our driver pulled over as a crowd had gathered beside a car that left the Ugep park 30 minutes before us. In fact,it was the car I had wanted to board but could no longer make it; because the last passenger boarded it as I was paying off the okada man that brought me to the park. Upon inquiries from the crowd, I learnt that one of the passengers was involved in an accident. In fact,it was then that I was attracted to a lifeless body on the side of the road, covered with a wrapper. The story goes that a passenger alighted at Iwuru and another passenger wanted to use the opportunity to ease herself. Sensing a delay, a secondary school student travelling for his WAEC exams in Calabar decided to buy an airtime across the road;in order to contact his friends about the exams. However,in his haste, he did not observe a speeding truck as he ran into the trailer. Characteristic of them, the driver of the trailer did not bother to stop as he snuffed life out of the poor student... That was the end of the boy's life ambitions. Whether it was his ''village people'' luring him to death with the excuse of purchasing an airtime or his cheer carelessness,his corpse beside the car he boarded just few minutes ago was really a pathetic sight for squeamish passengers.

2. Another memorable travel experience I had was On 20th August, 2016. I decided to attend the wedding of a friend in Calabar because I had missed the traditional marriage. But I had sent money to a mutual friend to buy a wedding gift for the couple. However,when I called the groom to announce my intending absence,he sounded so angry on the phone that I decided to attend the wedding. Moreover,I did not want my absence to affect our friendship. However,I dressed simply on a sleeveless shirt,combat shorts and a ''slip-on'' foot wear and I left the house by 5am,hoping to be in Calabar in time for the wedding at 9am; even though it usually took me four hours to Calabar from Afikpo; due to the poor state of the road. I had packed some necessities and hoped to dress for the wedding once I got into Calabar...but my village people were on my case that morning,lol! The vehicle I boarded at Ugep ran into a gridlock at Betem. Due to the bad road,a truck had broken down on the road,making it impossible to pass, and there was a serious traffic congestion.After thirty minutes in the traffic,I left the car to stretch my legs,as officials were clearing the road. However,capitalizing on a little opening,the driver of the car I boarded decided to leave without me,and with my bag containing what I wanted to wear to the wedding. I was peeved as I spent some minutes trekking a long line of vehicles in search of the car. There was no luck and I had to board a bike to another town where I was able to board a bus travelling to Calabar. I went to different car parks in Akim, Etim Edem and Mobile without success. However, inquiries at the car park in Big Quo revealed that the driver,capitalizing on the traffic,had a field day and had to load for a return trip to Ugep. He did not even have the courtesy of leaving my bag behind at the park. His phone number was not going through and I left for the wedding reception at Cultural Centre: dressed like a tout.
    It was past 12pm,yet the couple were still in church. I resolved to go to the church just like that. I caught a moment with him as he was taking pictures in the church premises and we exchanged pleasantries. I left immediately in search of my bag because I was feeling out of place in the wedding. I tracked the man down at Ekori and spent the night in the house of a relative in the town before leaving for my hometown the following Sunday morning. It was a crazy experience.