Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: America Wonder -The Beginning Part 2

Sunday, December 17, 2017

America Wonder -The Beginning Part 2

When my uncle saw me eating four slices of bread and two eggs, he said I was avoiding excess luggage but came to eat excess food in his house. Like joke, my problems started.......This is continued from HERE

Uncle V is my mother's younger brother. He is ten years younger than my mother. He was an American citizen for 17years before he got married to Iheoma. Iheoma was a simple girl whose geographical and migrational growth was stunted,until she met V. Prior to meeting V, she had not travelled outside Nigeria.

I visited them in Newark when I was working in Nigeria as a single girl. I was in Atlanta when my uncle learnt I was in the US. He was not happy, so I cut short my enjoyment in Atlanta, to come visit them. Out of the foodstuffs I brought for my friend, I gave them a full bag. They were very happy and grateful. I also took them out.

I enjoyed their hospitality and they enjoyed my visit. On my departure day, they wished I could stay back. My niece cried but I successfully wiped her tears with a $100 bill. I told my uncle I couldn't stay back due to work. Hell hath no fury like a man whose salary was being delayed.

Earlier on in my visit, my uncle introduced me to his friend, Manuel. Manuel and my uncle were fifty that year. Manuel was very rich, unmarried and crafty. I told my uncle that at 28, there was nothing attractive to me in a 50year old man. " Old wines are tasty" are for XO, VS and VSOP. Nothing tasty about caressing grey haired chest. Nothing tasty in diaper duties at 51. My uncle's wife told me that my uncle was older than her with 17years. She said what mattered was financial security and the mature way an old man loved. Akuko!

On this second missionary journey, I erroneously expected the same funfare. I forgot the book of Hezekiah 2 vs 5 that says," Blessed are they that do not expect much for they shall never be disappointed". 

My inability to buy ogiri, abacha and okporoko didn't go down well with V and Iheoma. She lamented that I bought too much Egusi and crayfish. When I suggested that she shared them with her Nigerian neighbors, she refused.

To avoid eating excess food again, I minimised eating at home. Once I finish the house chores, I retire to my room. This same uncle would say, "because you came empty handed does not mean you shouldn't eat. Go and eat. You're in your uncle's house". Oh Chim!

When my husband called to greet them, they still complained about my coming empty-handed. He asked me if the things we bought were seized at the airport. I told him no. Our only mistake was not shutting down Mile 12 market.

Due to their disturbance, my sister called her husband's younger sister who lived in Newark. The girl was unhappy that she was not told of my visit. Within an hour, she came to meet me. With her papers and connection, I started a job two days after as a Nurse Eliza (CNA).CNA means Certified Nursing Aide.

She gave me a little coaching. On the first day, the Nurse was strict and wanted to make sure everything was going to be alright.

Nurse: "Princess, I don't remember seeing you in my class during the briefing".

Me: "Oh, you were awesome. I was amazed by your intelligence and the free flow of knowledge. You are a born teacher. I can't wait to put all I learnt in practice".

Nurse:(smiling) "thank you. I think I like you".

Me: "You think? Maami, I like you already".

We laughed and chatted for a while. When she told me she was originally Italian, I talked about Italian food, Cicily and Mario Puzo with her. She was happy I knew a little about Italy.

She put me through again. The patient called for me. She watched me attend to the patient and was impressed.

My patient was an 83 year old Jewish woman who had dementia. She was very organized. If she told you to get a pin, she would tell you exactly where and you would find it there. Due to her dementia, she forgot easily. She also didn't hear well. When I screamed to make her hear me, she would say, "what is your name again, don't yell at me". Lol. If I no yell, how you go hear me? Sweet old lady! 

She took me to old people's parties. Her 90yr old friend told me, "Princess, I met this girl (my patient) 70 years ago". Another one would beg me not to grow old. That old people are useless and needy. I quickly replied that I must grow old. Methuselah go fear my age sef. These old women were power dressers. My patient once asked me during our outing, "Princess, would anyone know I am not wearing a bra"?

Me : "only those you tell"!

Patient: " You sweet thing".

I enjoyed working with her. Her children used to call and ask what I wanted, before they visited.

When my uncle and wife heard I got a job within a week, their attitude changed positively. My uncle was happy. The wife told me to be careful with the patient, because of CCTV, so I don't get into trouble. Eziokwu? Onyeoma CY.

One night, I went to use the restroom when I overheard Iheoma complaining to my uncle. She was not happy that I had come to stay in America, her father's inheritance from Columbus.

If Christopher Columbus that discovered America was happy with me, who was Iheoma? I have not finished admiring beautiful people, not to talk of people wey I fine pass........

Part 3 will be out same time on Tuesday and you will not believe how this turned out!!!

45 comments:

1. You are one funny woman πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

1. Hahahahahaha...your gist is damn too sweet.
      DAT your uncle V and his wife iheoma na case study.

2. Kai CNA job is HARD!!! You are one cheerful woman 😁☺️ I for give you my Pharmacy Tech papers to work with hehehe.... wish you all the best in your ventures oo it’s not easy!!
      BTW how in the world did you decide to leave your hubby to come here?? Wow you’re strong! I mean the uncertainty of when you’ll be seeing him again, how is he coping there by himself? You strong sis, you strong πŸ’ͺ🏾

3. I love you poster. You sweet thing...I am Anticipating the continuation of this. Xoxo

4. Surviving here (usa)isn't easy girl.u work all day both if money finished so fast in this country. I think u could hv been better back home than here. It isn't easy here.lots of stress.usa is just good for vacation

5. USA stresses the hell out of you.go back to your hubby.abroad is not easy.u can be there so many yrs yet no papers

6. Nurse Eliza, Onyeoma Cy, Columbus hahhahahah. Bia this chick is Anambra

2. Keep it coming, interesting read

1. Nice read.
      Waiting for part 3 πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½πŸ‘πŸ½

3. Thank God u got a job so fast. No wonder wants liabilities abeg. Poster chip 😘

4. Tuesday far o!
    Nurse Eliza I hail o!
    Jolly good writer.

5. Oooooooooooo!!! Me I no dey like all this Suspense oooo....i really hope it has a good ending.

Quite an interesting read.

6. Had a good laugh reading this piece just like the former, will be anticipating for the part three jare.

7. Hmmm...interesting. I don't know if it's me, I think the US is a good place to relocate to. You 'll definitely get a job, no matter how bad. I feel at home more in the US than UK or every other places I have been to. Well, maybe I haven't travelled well enough..

1. True that sis. You will find a job faster and somewhat easier here than other countries from what I’ve heard. I have a question about giving your papers to others to work with. How does that work with income tax? Like how many jobs can one be allowed to have in a year? I know this sounds ignorant, sorry. But I’ve always wondered when you file your taxes, do they look into that?

2. I am based in Nigeria, I travel for holidays or work related stuffs only.Thus, I don't know how that works, but I know/heard a couple of people relocate to the US it was easier for them to settle in compared to Europe etc.

3. Nobody cares the number of jobs you have, as long as you file and pay your taxes. Sometimes people have part time or on-call jobs requiring them to work several jobs at a time.

8. Hmmm I am enjoying this story, so I can't wait for Tuesday. People... They will always be nice when they are gaining something from you.

9. Interesting read, Nne, you write very well.

10. The comical aspect of your write-up makes it interesting.
    I understand your uncle's behaviour of not welcoming you with open arms because feeding and housing someone that doesn't have a job in abroad is not easy, his wife's seems jealous.
    Interesting... Waiting for the next part on Tuesday.

11. I had a good laugh reading this, Nnem you're a good writer.

12. You write well. Interesting read,can't wait for the continuation.

13. I enjoyed reading this piece. Looking forward to reading the part 3 on Tuesday.

14. This was an interesting read. The suspense is killing. Can't wait for the concluding part. Come and see America wonder,come and see America wonder...

15. Interesting.
    I had no idea you came with crayfish and egusi.

16. Me love reading this beautiful piece oh

17. Poster, I are very funny. I am enjoying this series.

18. Never read something sweeter than this story o. ..you are good mehn!

19. lol. It is better visiting than living there

20. Lol
    This is interesting. But Tuesday is far joor 😁😁
    Me I want to relocate to Spain.

21. I can't wait for the part three.

22. Her father’s inheritance from Columbus.. You got me there🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

23. Poster you are good.God bless your hustle in the land of the free

24. Wow!! You're quite funny, but you dey make my day. Pls keep it flowing. Love you

25. I laughed so hard when I got to the' her father's inheritance from Columbus.

Poster, you are so funny and you write so well.

26. Awwww! This is really interesting, na wah oooh for people and housing relatives. It's not always rosy.

27. The manner with which you lace your article with sarcasm makes for an interesting read. Nice one.

28. I really enjoyed reading this piece. Friends and relatives that reside in the US can be really wicked to those who want to relocate............... "Her father's inheritance from columbus". Them plenty for this side.hahahahaha

29. If Columbus is happy with you who is she?lmao

30. Very interesting read.