Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Explains N1.4bn Fraud And forgery Case As Real Reason For INNOSON Boss Arrest

Thursday, December 21, 2017

EFCC Explains N1.4bn Fraud And forgery Case As Real Reason For INNOSON Boss Arrest

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has released the statement below announcing the release of Innocent Chukwuma, the chief executive officer of Innoson Motors.

The businessman was released on bail....

READ FULL STATEMENT BY THE EFCC BELOW

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission has released Nnewi, Anambra-State born Industrialist, Chief Innocent Chukwuma on bail.

The business man who runs a local auto assembly plant was arrested on Tuesday December 19, 2017 at his Enugu residence, following his refusal to respond to invitations by the Commission, after initially being granted administrative bail by the Commission, while his surety could also not be found.

Unfortunately, the industrialist resisted arrest and stirred controversy by bringing six truck-loads of thugs to block the entrance to his Plot W1, Industrial Layout, Abakaliki Road, Emeni, Enugu, home.

This was after he initially misled the Police Command by informing them that his home had been invaded by armed robbers and kidnappers despite the fact that operatives of the Commission duly identified themselves to policemen guarding his home.

His unruly thugs encircled and manhandled operatives of the Commission who had gone to effect the arrest. Consequently, a distress call was sent to the Commission’s Enugu Office for reinforcement.

In all of this, the Commission’s operatives acted with decorum and civility. No one was manhandled or assaulted by the EFCC team, and not a single shot was fired, despite the provocation.

Chief Chukwuma and his brother, Charles Chukwuma (who is still at large), are being investigated by the Insurance and Capital Market Fraud Section of the Commission’s office in Lagos over matters bordering on N1, 478, 366, 859.66 fraud and forgery.The industrialist, among other infractions, allegedly used forged documents to secure tax waivers.

30 comments:

1. I heard the igbos are closing their accounts with gtb

1. What this guy did to GTB is not different to what Yahoo boys do and is a shame that people were supporting him for being a forgery. He is a rogue and his ass should be locked up with no bail

2. All this rich people sef and they will be angry if Yahoo boys dupe them. Isn't their legal money enough for them?

3. Hmmmmm!!!😱😱😱😱

4. But they slapped his wife ,and the senate has summoned efcc to explain the part where they slapped a wife for asking why her husband was been arrested.

5. Fraudulent people everywhere.

6. GTB too smart to mess up..maybe this man might be guilty as charged.i dont trust nigerian elites.

1. Exactly. The man is a debtor and should pay up. This are the people that wrecked Nigeria banks and people should be worried about someone like this man that is a criminal acting like the victim.

7. GTB too smart to mess up as a corporate entity..maybe this man might be guilty as charged.i dont trust nigerian elites.

8. Matters arising... The true situation of the whole saga will definitely come to limelight soon.

9. my name is Esther21 December 2017 at 07:40

Isn't this the same case with GTB? Would they have treated Dangote this way?Efcc littering the pages of newspaper with same old stories. It will never be well with GTB and Efcc.

1. Dangote wouldn't fake a bill lading paper to outsmart the bank. If the story was true, then he should be locked up with no bail. He was trying to outsmart the bank and still doing it by making himself look like the victim whereas he is nothing but a fraudster

10. Na wa. 2017 with plenty wahalas everywhere.

I pray for every man not to have problems this Christmas Season Amen

11. Replies
    1. Arrested because he took out a loan and tried to outsmart the bank. This is why there is a lot of banks going down because of people like this rogue that people should be attacking for doing something bad. If this continues the way it is going, there wouldn't be any bank left for genuine entrepreneurs to do business with

12. Real reason, yet he won those cases twice in court?! Na wa . I read about d forgery case and it sounds funny. In summary gtb lent him money WITH INTEREST to buy goods overseas. They then laid claim to the goods, and asked him to pay 25% before they can release the documents for him to clear the goods from d port.
    He found alternative ways of clearing the goods without d GTBs document. He paid gtb back the money he borrowed from them with the AGREED INTEREST, however, gtb decided to over charge the agreed interest, which led to them making UNAUTHORIZED withdrawals from his account.
    He took the case to court and won, in at least 2 different courts. Gtb now has to pay overcharges WITH INTEREST, and they don't like it. They went and dug up the alternative means he used in clearing the goods and came up with forgery, and then they are insisting on the 25% for documents he never used.
    Efcc should learn to stay out of cases already in court, besides stop suffocating industries and people that move the economy. That's how they were closing down schools the other time. So if in Innoson closes down, he looses and Nigeria looses too.

1. You are talking from your nose. The only court in 9ja is the kangaroo court. Read your own comment and you will see how stupid you are. Leave Someone that borrowed money from the bank and went through alternative means to cleared the goods to avoid paying the bank its money? Do you know who suffered for that? The poor people that bank with the so called bank. If the bank get into financial difficulties, it is the little people that bank with the bank that always suffered the consequences. These people goes from one bank to another and they make themselves untouchable because the judiciary system has been corrupted and bribed by these fraudsters

2. U must b stupid, did u read d part he paid up with interest. And do you realize that gtb was complicit in d forgery if there was any. He released d goods, and sold d goods, y didn't gtb stop him then or hand over 'their' goods to another person. You are of d type who read without comprehending and believe everything you are told without listening properly.
      If he bought d courts in enugu, did he buy d courts in ibadan too?

3. Dumb anon 13:28, did he also bribe the federal high court, court of appeal and supreme court?

13. I'm not done yet. Do these silly efcc realize what this negative attention can cause to both the banking and auto industry? Later d oga at d top will say, corruption is what is staggering economic growth. Foolish actions and utterances like this are more damaging . People on both sides loose faith, foreign investors loose faith...faith/trust is a currency in business. The economy depreciates and later you don't know y the economy prospers better with d 'corrupt ' guys in power?!

14. I'm not done yet. Do these silly efcc realize what this negative attention can cause to both the banking and auto industry? Later d oga at d top will say, corruption is what is staggering economic growth. Foolish actions and utterances like this are more damaging . People on both sides loose faith, foreign investors loose faith...faith/trust is a currency in business. The economy depreciates and later you don't know y the economy prospers better with d 'corrupt ' guys in power?!

1. The economy fails because people like him borrows from the bank without trying to pay back. Banks borrows money to business to Maje money with the interest for the bank to stay afloat but when some people like him chose not to pay back, that right there is the problem and the bank need to get their money back in order to stay afloat and to also keep their employees too.

2. Such nonsense wouldn't have happened in US. If he does such nonsense in America, his ass wouldn't have be in prison since yesterday

3. What do you expected from the forgery wife? Someone that her husband did such an horrible thing? This man and his wife should be ashamed of his actions

15. I don't believe this scrap!!! Why bother release a statement now Efcc? Tax evasion my foot. Nigerian government killing private business since 1960 . This Buhari led administration is too vengeful. Chinese, Lebanese, Indians having their way with our economy and human labour yet no toothless Efcc dares them. So can they try this with Dangote, or the major oil theives in Hotoro kano? Its time we rise above tribal sentiments. When did Efcc bcom Firs and Customs?

16. Please don't breathe under my comment asking if I support corruption. The Americans legalize their own corruption, we as a people are unfortunately used to doing things in a certain way. The least we can do is to make our way work for us

17. Why will they slap an innocent woman for asking a simple question bikonu? Hmmmmm

18. If this information about his alleged engaged thugs with the EFCC officials is true, then he should face the conciquence...

where is BV Galore nd somthing angel Dopelz?

19. Anons why will gtb take his money,without any reason since he has paid them their loan with interest, their pain is he paid the loan in full without debt, useless bank gtb