Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Emergency room Series : Effects Of Skin Bleaching

Saturday, December 30, 2017

Emergency room Series : Effects Of Skin Bleaching

Compliments of the season everyone. 

I hope we are enjoying the holiday. Last post was quite debative and I'm glad people were able to voice out their opinion on the matter.

A lady in her mid-thirties was rushed in to the ER by her sister and a neighbor. She was bleeding from her forehead, nose and legs but majorly from her upper neck. The cuts on her forehead and legs were deep and long. 

Her sister said she had a heated argument with her husband who hit her all over the body with a large kitchen fork (the type used for deep frying and grills) . He was said to have been drunk and hit her head several times on the wall and threatened the sister with a knife. The sister could only beg him as she wouldn't dare come closer. It was when the fork handle broke and the husband was looking for something else to hit her with that she was able to run out to her sister and call for the neighbor's help. 

At the ER, she was crying a lot. Her blood pressure was low and the heart rate was high. Her face was a mess, bruises everywhere. She was losing blood.

Blood samples were taken to check her blood level and other tests. Her blood level was okay. She also had a skull X-ray done(luckily, no fracture) . She had iv fluids to rehydrate her. She was also bleeding under her skin. She had Ecchymoses and Petechiae. There were lots of purple patches too. We could see that she had used toning creams a lot as she had dark knuckles and toes. She also had signs of sunburn.

We gave her drugs to numb the pain and We got materials to stitch the deep wounds and clean her up, that was when things got complicated.

Her skin was extremely thin

We found it difficult to stitch the wounds. The skin was like tissue paper. It expanded and tore out the more we tried to sew it. It was worse at the forehead because the forehead skin is usually thinner. The doctor asked her if she bleaches her skin and for how long, she said no, that has only been "toning" her skin for 8 years. We all laughed. What's the difference between bleaching and toning? the doctor asked. She obviously didn't know that while she was using the creams, it was scrapping off her skin gradually.

We managed to stitch the cuts on the legs and neck. The cut on the forehead was only cleaned and covered with gauze dressing because the skin was way too thin and fragile. Since we couldn't stitch up on time, she lost more blood. I'm very sure the wound will take a longer time to heal and might even break down and get infected because the skin is damaged.

She was advised to stop whatever cream she was using. I hope she agrees. One reason for skin bleaching is to create an identity that is perceived as more socially acceptable and it shouldn't be so.

Physically, you have removed the protective gear of your skin when you bleach. The moment you remove the protective gear of your skin it affects the underlay. You have removed the epidermis. What is called the dermis is now affected. You expose the underlying tissues of the skin to the sun and such people are liable to grow skin cancer and there are such which turns your skin to a leopard skin, like you have vitiligo.

A person who bleaches is more prone to tumor and diseases of the skin than someone who has not bleached. The direct ray of sunlight on the skin will strike the underlay and that will cause a reaction. What we call a Metaplasia and that is the beginning of the growth of cancer.

When you peel off your skin, you impede healing in the area of the skin. So if you have a cut, your cut is not likely to heal as fast as it would have done if it was normal. And if you have a caesarian section which is a deeper cut, you are likely to have a breakdown of that wound. It has happened to so many women who bleached and had to undergo surgical deliveries of their babies. It's a frustrating journey for them.

Although Skin bleaching is a cosmetic treatment to reduce the prominence of skin discolourations and even out skin colour, most people, especially in this part of the world apply skin lightener to their entire body to change their complexion, but this can be very risky. The active ingredient in some skin lighteners is mercury and so bleaching can lead to mercury poisoning which is a silent killer.

There are lots of bleaching products being sold online and in stores. it seems to be a fast growing business. All manner of chemicals are being mixed together to get these products. I know of some bleaching products that use hair relaxer in their products. The buyers wouldn't know. Imagine the slow and lethal damage being done to the skin. The creams may give you the desired whitening effect now, but in a few years time, it will be a wrinkled, scaly, patchy and discolored skin since the skin cells have been killed. 

The Skin is a very important organ, you should protect it. I know that 'Yellow is the New Black' but then, we should learn to love ourselves for who we are. If being your natural self freaks you out then please go for high quality products with minimal side effects and not 'yamayama' creams. 

safe guard your health....

37 comments:

1. Thank you for this educative and informative piece.

2. Occupational hazard: iru Fanta,ukwu Coke. Wonder why some ladies deliberately damage their skin in the name of beauty. It is well o...

3. thank you very much MA, this our people won't hear tho societal norms and pressure have forced some to succumb.
    I hate cream or whatsoever .

4. Yeah, say No to skin bleaching

*runs to apply her DIY licorice, papaya and B3 lotion*😂😂😎😎

1. Sounds yummy, papaya and licorice is natural, right? Does it brighten the skin? Abeg, hook a sister up.

2. Is Lubriderm a bleaching cream?

5. Will the bleaching experts hear word ni?

6. If only Team bleachers would listen😤

LEP😛

7. Forget skin bleaching, say No to domestic violence 👎.

1. Skin bleaching is as dangerous as DV. No we will not forget skin bleaching because some wicked women are rubbing death cream on their children's body.

By the way, the topic is skin bleaching not DV. The woman with her bleached body most likely has a bleached brain too, so she is definitely going back to the man because she knew him as a monster and married him. So calling the cops on him is futile

8. People like using their hands to look for wahala.
    I love my dark skin jare.
    #darkskinned and proud.

9. And your hospital management did not deem it fit to call the police on the man that beat your patient up huh?

1. The bleached woman is satisfied with the monster of a man so calling the police is useless because she will still be the one to bail hin out and warm his bed. When her bleached brain is ready, she will call the police herself and move out of the marriage. Until then, the hospital mgt can do nada

2. Are you fine? Lol. In this part of the world? Wake up please! They have done the best thing. What are family members for?

3. Anọn 13:57 it's unethical for the hospital management to report. The woman has to report it herself

4. Only in Nigeria

10. Thanks for this but pls,my bv's, when we say bleaching, I wish to understand better. Is there a particular kind of soap and cream one uses? Or what of those that use Caro white or body treat, is it part of bleaching? Then I read the post on bleaching babies by mama Tee, is it possible to bleach a dark skinned baby? If yes, what of the scalp, are they going to bleach that too? If as a light skinned, I observe that if u don't maintain ur skin whenever u enter d sun, d person starts to tan, so in dis case, is it advisable to use carowhite? Cos I sometimes use caro white, am I bleaching too, though not everyday cos d smallest cup of carowhite, I can use it for like 6 months. Pls, help me out here oooo, thanks.

1. But what I find funny is dat when am pregnant, I don't need body cream again for d whole of 9months cos I'll b very fresh and light. If u want to know if as taken in, just check especially my legs,i will b very yellow.

2. O.Y.O caro white contains hydroquinone. It's dangerous to health.
      I can't get over the comments on that Mama tee post yesterday. Women proudly saying it's ok to bleach including bleaching children's skin too.

3. O. Y. O if you love your skin and your health, stay away from any "made in Africa" cream ie Congo, Ivory Coast. They may be cheap but they can cost you your life. Spend a little more on good quality products that rebuild the skin and exfoliate it. Use your sunscreen religiously to avoid UVB and re - darkening.

11. Enough with skin bleaching.we have other issues bothering us

1. @Vagina but if it's dick size or about cheating men, it's not enough.

Skin bleaching is an epidemic that is ravaging the African continent. People are dying from it but their familes are not raising awareness to it because they feel it's a shameful way to die. Change your way Vagina if you are a bleacher.

12. I remember my mum's colleague who was a pro in skin bleaching died as a result of this. She had appendice operation, sewing it up became a problem, the thing kept opening up and got infected and she eventually died.
    No matter what we say, people will still bleach, leave them to face the consequences of their actions

1. True no matter what, people will still bleach but then we still have to talk there are still some of them who are naive. Most of these bleachers also need therapy.

I can remember when I was younger and naive, I associated light skin with beauty thus I started lightening my skin. I went to visit my boyfriend ( now hubby) and then I saw his sister... mehn she was a black goddess. She looked so pretty and confident. I admired her. That was the day I retraced my steps. Thank God that it was not too late ( I had just started with the fair and white serum). I always thank God for that life saving experience

13. Will they hear? You will see some one who is already fair, still bleaching and they will claim that they are maintaining their skin.

If you are born dark skinned, embrace it. If you can't love it and sad about it , then please marry a white man so that you do not rub dangerous chemical on your children' s body there by damaging their health and self esteem.

Please go and meet white man to impregnate you. Dem plenty. Just go to their country and toast one of them.

As for me, I am loving my skin. My honey lotion+coconut oil is making my skin shine shine.

1. The silliest ones are those that say they wish they were not fair but continue bleaching to maintain the fairness they don’t like. Green and purple viens every where.

14. My fellow professional colleague pls shout it maybe they will listen. I read comments about skin bleaching yesterday on mamaT series and I cringed for what our world has turned to. Nowadays, people no longer bleach themselves but also involved innocent children. Stop bleaching babies segbo, allow them to grow and decide for themselves..
    I will keep saying it,its only people with inferiority complex that bleached their skin. End of discussion.

15. U dunno bleaching gat grade?
    Pple who bleach also skin build, unless u dunno, use sunscreen n moisturise daily, in d night, apply ur DIY condition, u won't ever get sunburnt or thin skin.

1. Bleachers of the universe can you hear...

2. You are feeling like you are cheating nature abi? Ngwanu clap for your self 👏🏽👏🏽

3. BB you are always yourself. I like you for that.

4. And what people don't know is even if you are dark, you need to care for your skin. Wear sunscreen and moisturise it. Also eating balanced diet is important and drinking water.

16. Awon bleachers, hope una dey hear..to" befall warn is to befall harm"...abi how dem dey take talk am!!

1. This should get into Saturday laughs!

FLY GIRL