Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: HijabGATE- Sultan Of Sokoto Says Hajib Wearing Is For Any Woman Who Wants To Preserve Her Chastity In Public

Sunday, December 17, 2017

HijabGATE- Sultan Of Sokoto Says Hajib Wearing Is For Any Woman Who Wants To Preserve Her Chastity In Public

Sultan of Sokoto and President – Generation of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), Dr. Mohammad Sa’ad Abubakar has decried the raging controversy over Hijab. He said Hijab simply means decent dressing for Muslim women and part and parcel of Islam.

Abubakar spoke in Lagos on Saturday during the fifth National Convention of Muslim Public Affairs Centre (MPAC) with the theme, “Public Trust and Accountability”.

The Sultan who is the Chairman of the two – day event said he could not decipher why the issue of Hijab would be so controversial to the extent that female Muslims who adorn Hijab would be ‘molested’.

He spoke against the backdrop of the raging controversy over the denial of a University of Ilorin law student, Miss Amasa Firdaus from being called to bar last week for refusing to remove her Hijab worn under her wig.

Represented by a member of NSCIA and Wazirin of Katsina, Prof. Sanni Abubakar Lugga, the Sultan said Hijab is not only a mode of dressing in Islam only but it is also an accepted mode of dressing in Christianity and Judaism.

He stressed that Muslims are peace- loving and they should be allowed to practise their religion as stipulated by Allah and as contained in the traditions of Prophet Mohammad.

He said, “His eminence wonders while Hijab has now become a controversial issue. Hijab simply means decent dressing, decent dressing by the females. So why should decent dressing be a problem? The Hijab is just an Arabic word. In English it means decent dressing.

“His Eminence has asked Nigerians to reflect and see that this is not only an Islamic mode of dressing but a Christian mode of dressing. It is also a Judaism mode of dressing and it is a dressing for every decent woman. It is a dressing for any woman who wants to preserve her chastity in public.

Secondly, in Nigerian constitution it is absolutely clear. Why should Nigerian Muslims be molested and even denied their own right? The Appeal Court ruling in Ilorin is there, the Appeal Court in Lagos and also the High Court all delivered judgement in favour of Hijab.

“Justice Alooma, the former CJN, Justice Bukalchuwa and other Senior Justices in Nigeria wear their Hijab and then the wig on top of it. The Nigeria Judicial Council (NJC), the Highest body in the judiciary has not said, ‘no, they should stop’ which means the Nigerian constitution allows the Hijab, the Nigerian Courts through these three judgements have allowed the Hijab and the NJC through these senior judges has allowed the Hijab.

“Why will a legal school refuse our sister’s induction into the judiciary simply because she is wearing Hijab? Is the law school saying they are above the NJC, they are above the Nigerian constitution, they are above these three senior courts?
from Daily Trust

28 comments:

1. Well, i hope her future is not at stake here. A Lord chosen member has said she is wearing that their green cloth on hers too.I

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. Everything about nigeria is religious!!! What happened to separation of church and state. Damn this country is going to the dogs because of religion and tribes!! I tired joor!!!

3. No be small thing. Soon all Naija girls/women will be forced to wear hijab irrespective of religious affiliation or preference. Naso it take dey start as per Othman DanFodio's pikin. If u ask me, nah who I go ask?

2. *Yawns*

3. Hmmm mba o a lot of dirty things happens under that hijab, those woman are worse than dogs. Nonsense

4. The Sultan has spoken! Buhahahaha. Na we get this Naija. Nothing any bumshorts wearing naked dressing woman can do about it really. If you cannot accept decent dressing which is an accepted mode of dressing in Islam, Christianity and Judaism, then you should port to Niger Republic.

Go read comments on the first post and you'll see why I am reacting this way

1. True d comments on d first post attacked islam. And i didnt like that atall. I believe in 'live and let live'
      But the way u've been reacting shows you fall in d same category with those people who hate other religions they do not practice.
      'The sultan has spoken' Na we get this naija' which Naija? Nigeria belongs to everybody. The sultan or muslims cannot decide for Nigeria. It belongs to all of us! Christians, muslims, traditionalists, every religion. The law is d middle ground!

2. Your attitude and comments over this issue over these past few days have been nothing short of disgusting. Taaaa be deceiving your silly self there. Radarada.

3. There is absolutely no reason why you are reacting this way except that you will never allow your extremism and religious blindfold open your mind to learning. And hijab is an accepted form of dressing in Christianity since when and how?
      No disrespect but this speech from the Sultan is disappointing, so disappointing!!!
      I hope Allah calls her to bar now

4. ‘nah we get this Naija’
      Just read what you typed.
      Keep contradicting yourself inu?
      I thought you were open minded and taught not to hate other religions? But na your religion own this Naija?
      Thank God not all Muslims are like you.

5. Back then in kaduna, my mum will not allow those long 17 yards hijab into our shop. Why? Majority steal with it. That thing is a mini store ooo. Their men got embarrassed sef.

6. Replies
    1. Lemme hear word jor, you Muslims re the world's biggest problem😬😬😬
      Isis-Muslims
      Boko haram-Muslims
      Libyans selling Africans-MuslimsπŸ˜•

Who the fuck is the sultan, is he a god? Mtcheew.

2. Kiddo help me ask him/her o. When did the sultan become a legal practitioner. Very intolerant religion, always wanting to impose their belief on others.

3. Who cares what the sultan says, sheybe she's still sitting at home and still has to wait a year. He can say whatever he likes na him get his mouth

4. Religion is the biggest problem we have in this world. Sometimes I feel like religion should be stopped, let everyone worship whatever they believe behind close doors.
      The hate that religion brings makes me wonder how the world will be without it. People hating and being mean to each others because of religion. Religion should be about love not hate.

7. Nobody force her to read law.
    I don't know the meaning of this noise.

8. Stella its Hijab not Hajib.

9. Lol, Sultan said she was molested😁

1. πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‚πŸ˜ŠπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

10. I never wanted to say anything buh seeing this post has prompted me to say something. As a Law student, you already know the protocol or criteria for you to be called to Bar. Taking off your veil for at least 3 hrs wouldn’t make you less religious, afterall the Wig is also covering your hair right? This isn’t about being a Christian or Muslim. This is the reason why Nigeria is in the state it is right now because we are too sentimental about everything rather than doing the right thing. Do in Rome as the Romans do. If you know you cannot do the right thing and take off your veil for any reason whatsoever then she has no business being a lawyer. Rules are rules irrespective of religion. I rest my case.

NB. If you want to argue under my comment go argue with your ancestors.

11. Ehen since sultan have supported it, it has been turned to a religious issue. God help us.

12. Hijab that they use in receiving waist breaking doggy.

1. This comment can only come from one and only blackberry🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣🀣

This people sef🀐

13. Tell me about it @bb, I know guys that served in the north, I mean core north and the tales they came home with, hmmm.
    That piece of clothing is not a measure for chastity or decency, so next time the sultan wants to condemn something, he should start with the various jhadist group killing innocent people in the name of their god