Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Anambra Health Commissioner Warns Against Drinking Of Garri Amidst Lassa Fever Prevalence

Wednesday, January 24, 2018

Anambra Health Commissioner Warns Against Drinking Of Garri Amidst Lassa Fever Prevalence

Following the reported cases of Lassa fever in some parts of the country, the Anambra State commissioner for Health, Dr. Joe Akabuike has prohibited the drinking of garri in the state as a measure to prevent the contraction of Lassa fever.

Speaking in an interview in Awka, on Tuesday, Akabuike urged residents of the state to be mindful of the kind of garri they consume in view of the prevalence of Lassa fever being recorded across the country and specifically warned against the purchase of garri from certain parts of the country where the produce was usually exposed to all forms of contamination.

He, however, assured the people of the state that there was no need to panic over the outbreak of the dreaded disease in some states of the federation, explaining that the state Ministry of Health was battle ready to ensure the epidemic did not permeate into Anambra State.
NAN

*Will those that have only garri as meal comply?This will be hard,there is hunger in the land!

8 comments:

1. D oldest Sdk member24 January 2018 at 06:16

Na wah ooo!

2. Some Nigerians can't do without eating EBA in a day,they will fall sick .

3. Enter your comment... Just of recent,My love for drinking garri with groundnut has increased.

4. Can we stop drinking garri......? No
    God help us in nija

5. Na wa. Me i need Ijebu garri oooo. The thing they hungry me this morning

6. I bought my Garri before the Lassa fever recent outbreak, so I guess I am still safe. Lol

7. There's reportedly a case here in Abuja but its been treated hush hush so there'll be no panic.

8. People can still drink garri and be safe. All you need do is allow your garri pass through heat by refrying when you want to drink it.