Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Festus Keyamo Says He Would Be A Fool To Say APC Is The Best Thing To Happen To Nigeria

Friday, January 05, 2018

Festus Keyamo Says He Would Be A Fool To Say APC Is The Best Thing To Happen To Nigeria

As the 2019 general election draws closer, Festus Keyamo (SAN) called on Nigerians to form a power bloc well suited and ready to take over power from the All Progressives Congress (APC), because the party is not the best option the country has to offer.

The popular human rights lawyer in an interview with SaharaReporters/SaharaTV posited that APC was only used as an instrument to overthrow the ruling People's Democratic Party (PDP). He urged Nigerians to look ahead to another platform that would represent and fight for the interest of the people.

He said, “It is not that we were blind enough to think that everybody in APC were saints or angel coming from heaven, they were core politicians who had soiled their hands in the ruling party and defected just that we needed a platform to push out the former ruling party, PDP.”

“Am I here to think that the APC is the best thing to happen to Nigeria? I will be a fool to say so. Am I here to say that there are no thieves within the APC? I will be a fool to say so. Will I be here to defend APC as the purest political party and the cure to all we have been looking for? No. We need to look forward, we can’t say that we want to go back to where we are coming from, to the era of impunity of open robbery and stealing by the PDP,” he added.

He further asserted that the President Muhammadu Buhari, who is serving as the leader of the party is not the most credible person in the country but Nigerians would need to find someone who is more credible and able to replace him.

Mr. Keyamo keenly advised Nigerians to be calm with the Buhari-led administration pointing that there is yet no platform and party positioned to take over power from APC. He affirmed that PDP is the party well positioned to move into power if APC is ousted and it would be catastrophic for the country if PDP returns to power.

“Until we get that third force and platform ready that people not satisfied with the ruling of APC can migrate to and begin to fight for the true interest of the people until we get that platform, we are going to play back right into the hands of the PDP.”

“The radicals are not ready for political power, they have not forced themselves into political blocs, if we now participate in a struggle to unseat the status quo, what we will be doing is to campaign for the PDP. Anybody campaigning for change now without being ready to take over power is campaigning for the PDP.” Mr. Keyamo advised.

Moreover, Mr. Keyamo lambasted Nigerians for not supporting neutral faces like Pat Utomi and Tunde Bakare as candidates who sought for political positions but still throw their weights behind known and corrupt people despite their poor governance and the misruling of the country.

“Nigerians do not know what they want, we are calling for change and we are the same people who will mock any new people coming out to contest. At the same time, we abuse and insult the politicians and they are the same ones we expect to run for the presidency as we don’t want to see new faces on the scene. Even as prominent as Tunde Bakare is, they are still mocking him when he announced his presidential ambition because they feel he is not coming from one of the power blocs.” The human rights lawyer posited.

He urged Nigerians, labour movements and civil society organisations across the country to come together and form a party that will be ready to seize power from the elites and corrupt politicians.

21 comments:

1. So finally I can comment.
    What is wrong wit this phone sef.

2. Hahahahahaha...
    Festus Keyamo didn't get a national cake from APC now he has changed mouth!...
    Lwkmd!,..

1. He got appointed in the recent board appointments na. I saw his name there as a board member for NDIC.

2. Mumu SAN called Festus

Grace

1. How did he become a SAN? Mr man look ur self are you good? PDP APC is not the issue but individuals. GEJ is PDP but his better than APC PMB. Lucky igbenedion is PDP and oshomole is APC was better. You people should stop confusing dumb Nigerians with party.

4. Thank God they did not give him national cake.

Una never see chonchin. Una just dey start. You all thought you will disgraced Jona but now you guys are crying.

Sai baba carry go nothing do you

1. Yoru Yori, i thought you had a bit of sense but i'm not too disappointed anyway.
      So Jonathan and PDP did well while in power? I shake my head for you 🤔 😒 🙄 😎 🤷.
      Wake up from your slumber and receive sense.

5. At least he got a SAN title which the PDP denied him for years from the APC government.
    Kk ooooooo 🤔🙄😎.

1. Olodo let me rephrase it for you "at least he got a SAN title from the APC government, which the PDP denied him of, for several years.
      Take care ooooooo 😎😎😎

2. Anonymous 11:48 the English graduate plus PhD Holder, what else do you qualify for? You speak proper Queens English and not the fake one you people speak in Nigeria oooo.
      Correcter of the year 2018, i will reserve that title for you : Oni raanu jati jati.
      Ko shi daanu 😏😏😏😏🙄😏, rede rede.

6. I don't expect this from this man but all the same, u are on point

Mc pinky

7. He made some series of points but the problem is that any new party formed will see the influx of the same old-corrupt politicians in APC and PDP. They will start migrating into the new party and end up destroying the vision of the party.

8. Na kuku sit down look i de

9. Apc pepper dem gaan...ife onye cho kofu.

1. Are you from delta Igbo? Cause you sound like one.

10. Na wah! It is well with Nigeria

11. This man made a whole lot of sense. But as usual, he’ll be criticized for saying it as it is. I shook my head when i read comments of some saying Festus is pained cus he wasnt given any position. We Nigerians don’t truly know what we want. We cry for changes and when we see a fresh, unpopular and young face with good vision and prospects Vying for a position in the political arena, we scorn and mock him. We’ll rather vote for the recycled corrupt old scums who have wrecked this country.
    Like he said, unless there is a neutral party with a vision to liberate the masses from the oppression of the elites, we’ll keep going back and forth btw APC and PDP members. Same group of thieves who have been robbing us.

Nigerians open your eyes!! They have started campaigning again. Hmmm!

1. Anyone that supported Buhari and now crying wolf we laugh at the person and insult the person more,where were they when we told them Buhari and apc got nothing to offer, Nigeria was better during the pdp regime, we all know thay except if u dont sit and observe.so Festus is an efulefu.

2. What is this one saying? @anon 13:53, aren’t the people in APC same people who defected from PDP? I would ve said your mode of understanding is very slow but i’ll Just assume you didn’t read Festus’ post before rushing to comment, else you would ve seen the part where he said both PDP and APC are one and the same members. So its not a question of who who worse.

If you say you don’t want APC because of Buhari then you are indirectly voting for PDP and Atiku. And vice versa..
      We need a neutral party to neutralize this two party system. we need more options to choose from.