Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Naval Chief, Samuel Afolayan's Farmland Razed By Fulani Herdsmen

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Former Naval Chief, Samuel Afolayan's Farmland Razed By Fulani Herdsmen

Samuel Afolayan, a former chief of naval staff, says the destruction and burning of his farmland by herdsmen is an annual routine.

Speaking with journalists on Wednesday in Kwara state, Afolayan said herdsmen burnt 20 hectares of orange and cassava plantation.

He said the incident has been reoccurring for at least 10 years.

The former chief of naval staff said his loss is about N200 million.

“The destruction and burning of my farmland has become an annual routine. This will be the first time of letting people know what has been happening in the last 10 years,” he said.

“It is the cow-rearers that have been damaging my things and right now there about three cases in court. Every year, my farm is burnt and we believed that it is not deliberate when it first started. They will go and arrest them, they will go to the local chiefs and friends and beg them.

“When I looked at the people that were engaged in this act, I found that they are people of low means. I will release them. But as times went on, I discovered that these boys are being sponsored by people of means and outside Kwara state. I have of recent somebody who is put in detention who is from Zamfara state.

“The one that is in court is from Niger state. So most of the damages I continued to have are from the north. They carry their cows, mindless of the size of what you have or get, they destroyed it with impunity."

TheCable

16 comments:

1. So this is how we would be watching and looking till th5us mad men destroy or colonize our country? Lord have Mercy!

1. So sad that some hypocrites still support that desert demon called Buhari.

2. Nigeria is gradually falling apart....it is so sad. I wish i can relocate with my sisters and parents

1. This makes me remember a prediction I watched in 2010 or so that said by 2020 there would be no Nigeria, that the country would have divided, back then I laughed so hard but right now everything seems that way because if these people keep pushing others it will get to the point where others would fight back.
      God we don't want war, I think relocation is key right now

3. They get bolder each day because their president would say nothing against them.

4. Their act is deliberate and I think sponsored. They destroyed every beans farm in some part of Abuja where I come from. They ate everything leaving nothing for the farmers to harvest. How long will this wickedness continue? !!
    Money is not in circulation, we've resorted to farming just to survive and you send cows to destroy our only means of livelihood and survival?

E..y

5. And you kept quite all these while. Are you allergic to eating cows. Please next time. Keep vigilantes on your farm. Any cow that destroy your farm should be used for afternoon pepper soup.

6. This is just too much for us to bear, we can't continue this way abeg

Mc pinky

7. They re being sponsored we need notto specutale over this or continue to make unnecessary assumption. How much is the cost one assault weapon - AK47? In a real sense of the matter, Can a cattle rearer afford one million to buy such as assault weapon?

1. The same way Yusuf Buhari could you "afford" n154 million powerbike is the same way fulani herdsmen afford 2 million naira for 1 ak-47 assault weapon. Buhari has sent his terrorist organisation to Kwara state. Why?

8. First for those of you that thinks this is a Buhari problem, READ! The man says it has been happening for TEN YEARS!!! This implies it was happening to him EVERY SINGLE YEAR OF JONATHAN'S ADMIN.

Let that sink in, EVERY SINGLE YEAR of Jonathan's admin.

1. For you that can read, did you just learn how to read in 2018? You could not READ in 2007 when Buhari lost presidential election to Yar Adua and vowed publicly to make Nigeria ungovernable ko? Go and trace the origins of Boko Haram and these gun toting fulani herdsmen, the scales will lift from your half-round eyes so you can see the real Buhari. Evil murderous dictator that he is.