Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghana Chiefs Ban Menstruating Girls From Crossing Ghana River

Friday, January 12, 2018

Ghana Chiefs Ban Menstruating Girls From Crossing Ghana River

Ghanaian school-girls have been banned from crossing a river while they are menstruating - and on Tuesdays.

The ban, apparently given by a local river god, has outraged children's activists, especially as girls must cross the river to reach school. It means girls in the Upper Denkyira East district, in the Central Region, could miss out on their education.

Sub-Saharan Africa is already struggling to keep girls in school during their periods. The UN's scientific and education organisation, Unesco, estimates one in 10 girls in the region does not attend school because they are menstruating.

Unicef's menstrual hygiene ambassador Shamima Muslim Alhassan told BBC Pidgin that the directive, which applies to part of the River Ofin, violated girls' right to education. It seems the gods are really powerful aren't they?" she said.

Central Regional Minister Kwamena Duncan has given indications he will coordinate with the Ashanti regional minister to find a solution, BBC Pidgin reports.

Many cultures have myths and taboos around menstruation. In Madagascar, some females are told not to wash during their periods and in Nepal some women are forced to sleep in huts away from the rest of the family.

From BBC News

18 comments:

1. Like seriously....do angels come down into it?

2. I wonder why menses will become a pain to people. See them banning what God has given women freely.

It is just everywhere. In my former church, when you are on it, you dont attend church activities but they have stopped that now.

They know how to bring wicked laws but no solutions to the problems. So the girls should stay at home and miss classes because of wicked laws by stupid people.

3. This is one of the reasons Africa is still backwards.
    SMH!!!

4. This one go cause wahala ooooo. Cuz my pikin dey do "federal wahala" so she no need go school be that ba.ba damuwa.

I go kukuma put am for shcool-away-from-home

Mc pinky

5. When I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each time a comment
    is added I recieve 4 emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Appreciate it!

1. Unclick it when next you want to drop a comment

2. Sorry for the inconveniences...Just look at your comment box on this same post. You will see "notify me of new comments"

Click on it to disable it from entering your email. Hope my explanation is clear enough for you to understand.

6. African with their nonsense tradition, when I was in ss3,the village we were taking our wace have a river we have to cross to enter the village we were taking our wace in,wen we get to the river my friends say DAT any body in her menses can not cross the river if you do u will not be able to give birth, everyone of them cross to the village expect me I looked back to the distance I have to go back to in order to be able to enter the village through another route, I just carry my two legs enter the river cross to the village, everyone of them was shouting and telling me how I can never give birth. I just told is their problem not mine, some of dem reported me to my mum wen we get back I just told my mum DAT nothing will happen to me expect God says so, today am a mum of four boys. any time I see stories like these I just laugh at our ignorance and mentality

7. TheƱ they should provide helicopters to be carrying the girls over on their period days. Which kain yeye ban be that?

8. Stupid mentality, what about if Exams is On so they will miss Exams becoz of period, hmmm The gods must be crazy...

9. So how will they know those that are menstrating?Through infrared goggles nii???mtcheeeeeews,nonsens.
    I hate the word "MENSES" most especially the way some people pronounces it,like "meses" aaaaaarrrrrg

10. Useless law in this modern time.

God Bless Everyone.

11. Africans continue cageing themselves

12. Will all these chiefs leave their epic nonsense. They need Christ

13. Africans!......And the statement "COOLEST MONKEY IN THE JUNGLE"got them yelling.When are we renewing this our black mind?

14. Have you ever considered about adding a little bit more than just
    your articles? I mean, what you say is valuable and
    everything. But think about if you added some great visuals
    or video clips to give your posts more, "pop"! Your content is
    excellent but with pics and clips, this blog could undeniably
    be one of the most beneficial in its niche. Excellent blog!