Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Iya Ibeji Series - School Fees Brouhaha

Saturday, January 13, 2018

Iya Ibeji Series - School Fees Brouhaha

Happy new year to you all........

Sorry I was absent last week, you didn't noticed? Ouch That hurts lol.

As a child my dad always paid our school fees on time. I was never driven out of school and I used to hate it because school was so boring afterwards.
Sometimes I would hide my receipt but me and my brothers were known for prompt payment so with or without receipt they won't send us home.

I got older and started selling clothes and stuff and started hearing comments like "ha for this school fees period" "I will pay you after I finish paying for my children's school fees" etc.
Na then I respect my papa, school fees was never an issue with him, we went to good schools and he had to deprived himself of so many things (building projects, a new car) to pay our school fees, daddy I raise hands for you.

When I had children I decided not to sing the school fees song, I decided to do as my hand reach. Na then I come know say quality and affordable no dey for Nigeria's dictionary.
I saw one school I liked, British curriculum and all but money yab man. Hubby also liked the school and was greatly considering it, but hubby is in the category of when he doesn't have he doesn't have.

I borrowed myself sense and settled for what I can pay without stress. Though there were times that my conscious would prick me like I don't push myself enough for my children, like my parents did. I console myself with the fact that I get to pay when Oga say he no get (which he says like every term) but ladies and gentlemen make no mistakes about this I always get my money back. I would liaise with the school authority and when hubby eventually pays the school returns my money. 

I do this because I want my kids to have the same mind set I had, that school fees isn't an issue just face your studies.

Rounding up, please I want you to know that school fees is negotiable, just found out this week. My friend had to change her children's school because of the high school fees. They pay 130k each, so when they didn't resume on Monday the school called and she told them she couldn't afford their fees and try asked her how much she can pay? she said 60k, they told her to pay 80k after all the back and forth they agreed on 70k. 

My friend told me that her phone fell from her hand. She had to go to the school make he no be like say na Yahoo boys dey use her play, same thing.
She was at my place yesterday doing calculation.

"Iya beji 130-70. Times am by 2, then times am by the number of years they have been paying 130k. I for done buy land dey build house. The worse part is they said I shouldn't tell anyone so it means they have classmates that have been paying less all these years."

So people if you have not paid school fees try and negotiate and see how it goes.
Also I will to know if you have done the following below:

1) The sacrifices you / your parents made to pay school fees.
2) Have you ever negotiated school fees? If yes please tell us the out come?
3) Have you ever paid school fees and planned with the school authority to act like you didn't pay so you can collect your from your spouse?

*wow,really?great info for those yet to pay....I dont think this applies in all schools or to University as wellooooh

41 comments:

1. and I'm here struggling to get 40k for my siblings school fee. Thinking of changing their school to a less paying one

1. An innocent advise for the writer of this series to check tenses, spellings and word usage. It's really a put off to read I'll constructed posts

2. I never knew school fees was negotiable until I got really into the system

3. Anon 17.16 you too just made a mistake,"I'll constructed post"

2. lol... the negotiation part got me

3. lol... the negotiation part got me

4. Hmmmmm, I haven't paid, let me come and hear.

5. Why ur 'conscious' pricked u? Ur days are different from nowadays. Things have changed

6. My mum used to do number 3 wella.but my very unappreciative dad forgot her when he had money.such is life.

7. For three years now i have been paying half of the school fees for my two kids. i am also collecting 10 percent from all the pupils that i brought to the school. All na marketing

8. You can negotiate fees in some primary/secondary schools but university;just private university I think. I am not sure.

Federal/state universities will advise you to apply for Leave of absence on financial ground if you find you cannot meet up with paying your fee

9. My pussy is my shop rite , i can use it to train my children

1. Spot on

They will soon use you for rituals

10. I have negotiated school fees. From 240k - 180k in my kids present school. In their last school I did same too.

11. Planning to tell the school to help me collect my money back from hubby, but I'm ashamed, looks like I'm washing my dirty linen in public. Hubby hasn't paid school fees for almost 6 terms now, I'v been telling him that I begged the proprietors but we'r not owing 10kobo. I'v been paying the fees as at when due even though it's killing me and I don't have money for anything else after paying.
    I know he will pay when he gets money but my problem now is involving the school and I know he will not handover the money to me directly. He will want to thank the proprietors for being patient. The money is a large sum close to 600k, I wonder how he believes any school will allow you owe them for such a long period.
    Each time I think about it, my heart beats fast but Iya Ibeju just gave me lever, I will go and talk to the school and tell them to help me collect my money biko. The money will still be used for something in the house.

1. Anon 13:42, talk to the management and let them help you collect your money back when he come to pay. It's not a new thing to them. Many mothers do it.
      Hope you have stopped having more kids for now.

2. My dear I use to be ashamed too, but when it pass be careful I had to do it.
      Our DH these days get as them be, na to use brain work for them

12. Negotiation of school fees only happens in private schools and not government owned schools.

13. My kids school, the only thing u can negotiate are all those extra money. The rest u must pay. May God help us this term.

1. Go and do family planning or you tell your husband to start wearing condoms. God will not come down from heaven to help you. This advice applies to You and other married beggars here

2. This is my children's school o, as a matter of fact you must pay fees within the first week or resumption or they stay at home, i pay over 250k for two children below the age of 4, it's unfair, plus I am supposed to have a discount Cus I have two kids, then one thing that annoys me the most is compulsory friuts, I have told them I don't want it cus I don't trust fruits eaten in public, but they say I must pay even if my kids will not eat it, thanks to this information, I am going to confront them about it on Monday

3. Push up, what are kids under the age of four doing in school. Except you are working for some one, If not O.Y.O is your case. Carry the cross like that.

14. Negotiation of sch.fee is done in almost all the private sch, but if you dont know you will not know, you will vow that your kids sch dont do it, cos they will always tell you to keep it a secret

1. I don't think it is done in all school, in my children's school I begged them to let me pay bus fee to two of my kids and one free but they refused. Not even tuition o, but bus fare.

15. Negotiation of school fees? This is interesting!

16. I'm not so sure one can negotiate fees in the University. Who will you even meet for that kind of negotiation? I'm talking about federal universities though... But I think Private universities allow instalmental payments. At least I know one that allows it.

17. Wow, this is so enlightening
    So learning
    Thanks iya ibeji

18. I Paid my daughter fee which was 5k,i told the proprietress,so that she can keep reminding us.
    My hubby finally paid,and the woman said we must share it oooo.hah,ontop my money.

19. Never knew school fees were negotiable

20. Iya beji always making sense.

21. My kids school give discount on tuiton fees only, when you have more than one kid in the school. They call it sibling discount.i presently get 10%. Then i also got 45% on the sch bus fare cos my house is close to the school. There is also 5% on tuiton when you pay before resumption.

22. My Dad use to pay when school is on vacation. Infact, immediately after vacation, we go the bank the next Monday with our tellers to pay school fees. But DH is not like that, until they send the children back, he wouldn't pay not because he doesn't have but he is weird. On 2 occasions I have had to pay over half so they don't send them back.Till today, DH didn't refund me and I was almost begging to survive. But now, I don chop liver. Once they send them home, we all will dress up and visit oga's office, once his workers, friends start saying hello to the children and asking why they aren't in school, we will say, it's cos we haven't paid. By the next day, he will pay. It has always worked. If he decides not to go to the office that day,that is when I will decide to prune the flowers and do small gardening. I will make sure neighbors see us. Our house is the first, just beside the estate gate. To avoid people making jest of him, he will pay and ask me to go n drop them in school. As a humble wife... I will.

23. Nice one iya ibeji. yes I sometimes use my money to pay and pretend I didn't pay cos I hate it when they send my kids out.so when dh finally pay I collect my money and ask d cashier to give me a new receipt with d date he gave me d money.
    I'm close to the cashier so she normally inform me b4 hand DAT they will send kids back so I'll go and plead for time if I don't have money to pay.Truly I hate dh behavior concerning sch fees.he doesn't go extra miles to pay,he pays at his leisure.If I have my way I'll do same as ur dad iya ibeji.
    last term I even added my own extra to the actual sch fees..who good wife EPP.

24. Nice one iya ibeji. yes I sometimes use my money to pay and pretend I didn't pay cos I hate it when they send my kids out.so when dh finally pay I collect my money and ask d cashier to give me a new receipt with d date he gave me d money.
    I'm close to the cashier so she normally inform me b4 hand DAT they will send kids back so I'll go and plead for time if I don't have money to pay.Truly I hate dh behavior concerning sch fees.he doesn't go extra miles to pay,he pays at his leisure.If I have my way I'll do same as ur dad iya ibeji.
    last term I even added my own extra to the actual sch fees..who good wife EPP.

25. Hmmm. It's not the school that matters. I feel very frustrated with my life because of this school issue. My parents are not educated so education was a big deal for them. Thank God they had money, they sent us to the very best. I left primary school in 1998 and my fees then was 85k per term so you can imagine. My secondary school started at 350 per session and as at the time I graduated it was 540k. Then I proceeded to a private university. My secondary school was actually more expensive than university. Then my parents said we must go abroad for masters and we did. I look at my life and I wish I just went to public school and my entire education was like two years fees of my secondary school. I've been in Nigeria with my UK masters with a 60k job. I really pity my parents because to whom much is given much is expected. They gave up so much, simply because they are not educated they went above and beyond and for what? I've not been able to give them anything. I leave hand to mouth with my 60k salary. I remember then when we are going to school, my father always said please study hard, you are our retirement plan. You can see we have nothing, no savings no nothing. I'm so frustrated. I want to be able to give my children an even better education that I had because if uneducated people can send me abroad for masters what's my excuse?

1. NEVER use ur children as retirement plan!!! This is mistake parents are making. Give them the best within ur capacity while making ur plan.

2. Try and apply to Australia or Canada for PR. I always tell people to leave over hyped and expensive UK for countries that afford you a future.

26. Wow!!! ,What an interesting read. Very eye opening..