Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Arraigns Former Gov Dariye's Son Over 1.5Bn Money Laundering

Wednesday, February 28, 2018

EFCC Arraigns Former Gov Dariye's Son Over 1.5Bn Money Laundering

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission ( EFCC), on Tuesday, February 27, 2018, arraigned Nanle Miracle Dariye, son of former Plateau State Governor, Joshua Dariye, on a 6-count charge of money laundering to the tune of N1.5billion before Justice Ijeoma Ojukwu of the Federal High Court, Abuja.

The defendant sometime in 2013 failed to report a cash transaction to the tune of N1.5billion which he received through the hotel’s account in one of the old generation banks. The amount is above the threshold of the N10million permissible by law. Additionally, the hotel was also not registered as Designated Non-Financial Institution, DNFI.

The defendant pleaded not guilty to the charge when they were read to him. In view of his plea, counsel to the EFCC, George Adebola, asked the court to fix a date for trial and for the defendant to be remanded in prison custody.

Justice Ojukwu admitted the defendant to bail in the sum of N5million with two sureties in like sum. The sureties must be resident of Abuja and must provide tax evidence for 2015, 2016 and 2017. The judge, thereafter, adjourned to April 10 -12, 2018 for a commencement of trial. The defendant is to be remanded in EFCC custody pending the fulfillment of the bail conditions.

From Sahara reporters

5 comments:

1. Haha na wa. See his face with all the monies, he still look worwor.

N5 million for N1.5 billion. I need to thief money too so that i can be bailed with N50 thousand. hahahahaha.

When will Nija get it right

2. Waaaaa. Money no dey show for face. Shior! he looks this ugly with 1.5bn . Oooooo good Lord. Person weh fine, fine jare. Even without a kobo. I is very fine n i know it. See how I is fresh n fine. But I no get 1.5bn. I know one day i go get. But for now. Lemme keep enjoying my beauty. To be sincere, Nigeria money good to carry, the bail money is far smaller than the stolen money. Chai

3. The kind o monies Jonathan allowed to b stolen

4. is this not one of the ararume's husband - chioma ararume. look at the thief you married. Not only is he running around fucking all the oloshos in aramis, he's also a looter like your sister nneka (that looted billions of dollars for Olisa Metuh) Maky Benson look at your sister and your family members, yet you would be forming holier than thou! God punish you there

1. SO THIS IS MAKY BENSONS SISTER? HAHAHAHAH VERY GOOD. STUPID BOASTFUL GIRL