Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Residents Jailed For Illegal Dumping of Refuse

Friday, February 02, 2018

Lagos Residents Jailed For Illegal Dumping of Refuse

The Samuel Ilorin Magistrate’s Court, Ogba, has sentenced no fewer than 33 Lagos residents to different terms of imprisonment and community service for violating the state Environmental Sanitation Laws 2017.

The offenders were said to have been apprehended by operatives of the Lagos State Environmental Sanitation Corps (LAGESC) on Tuesday, January 30, 2018.
They were reportedly apprehended at Ikeja, Iyana-Ipaja, Mushin and Iyana-Isolo areas, among others, for illegal street trading, indiscriminate dumping of refuse and illegal crossing of the highways.

The Magistrate, Ogundare Olayiwola, was said to have sentenced each of the accused on one count of indiscriminate dumping of refuse to five months’ imprisonment, with an option of N20,000 fine. Those on one count of illegal crossing of highways were sentenced to five hours’ community service, with an option of N10,000 fine.

The Executive Secretary, LAGESC, Mrs. Idowu Mohammed, according to the statement, said the agency would not relent in arresting environmental defaulters in line with the state government policy of sanitising the environment. She, however, appealed to Lagosians to always obey the laws of the state in their own interest.

From punch

7 comments:

1. I love this and wish other states follow suit

2. That illegal crossing, if it is me, i will do the 5 hours community service. Why will i pay them N10,000. Odiro possible.

Lagos State is really dirty. Shame on the governor for not doing enough to stop this. No lawma around to carry the refuse dump. Everywhere is just smelling

3. Ok. So many things needs to be put in order in this Lasgidi and this refuse dumping stuff is one of it as rain is coming soon.

4. Ambode should do the needful, and stop harassing people. Go to Idumota market, you will cry, refuse is dumped everywhere along the road, unlike Fashola's regime, is he taken us backwards or what? All he is doing is to be doing fence round under bridge, I trust the agbero boys na, they've started removing it to sell to welders.

5. As lawma refuse to come pack dirt's how do we survive!the cart guys have dissappeared too because they started arresting them,of course people go find somewhere go at night to throw dirt away,una just dey start!!