Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LEKKI TOLL - OCCUPY PROTEST FLOPS

Friday, February 09, 2018

LEKKI TOLL - OCCUPY PROTEST FLOPS

Oh Dear.... everyone complaining but only a handful of people turned out for the rally!!!.

An attempt to stage a protest on Friday February 9, 2018 at the Lekki-Epe Expressway toll gate of Lekki Concession Company (LCC) against the Lekki toll review failed, as the anti-Lekki toll review protest led by convener, Mr. Dotun Hassan, could not muster enough public support with only a handful of people showing up. The convener, who had been mobilising residents of Lekki throughout the week to join the protest, arrived at the Lekki Phase 1 gate at about 9.00 a.m. as against the 7.00 a.m. convergence time he advertised to meet four other protesters and a couple of journalists invited to cover their protest.

Addressing the journalists, Dotun Hassan told reporters that it is important and constitutional to make their voice heard, while demanding for total cancellation of tolling at the Admiralty Circle Plaza and the Lekki-Ikoyi link bridge. After the address, the small group of protesters and media moved from the Lekki Phase 1 gate through Admiralty Road within Lekki Phase 1 and dispersed at about 10.30 a.m. after a short protest. Officers of the Lagos State Police Command deployed to maintain law and order ahead of the Lekki toll protest displayed professionalism and control of the situation while keeping the peace and conveying a sense of security to law-abiding citizens going about their normal business. 

It would be recalled that the Lekki Concession Company had announced the review in tolls at the Admiralty Circle Plaza at the Lekki Expressway and the Lekki-Ikoyi Link Bridge Plaza with effect from Thursday, February 1, 2018 after extensive consultation with stakeholders in the Lekki-Epe/Eti-Osa Local Government Area. The management of LCC had taken into consideration the advice of Traditional Rulers, Community Development Associations (CDA), Youth Organisations, National Union of Road Transport Workers, Residents Associations and sundry groups in arriving at the toll review necessitated by current economic and business realities that are adversely increasing the cost of operations.

16 comments:

1. Na their way na. They will be making mouth on social media when action reach you won’t see anybody. I knew it was gonna turn out ds way. They should just accept it and move on!

1. You live in Okokmaiko and work in Ogolonto that's why you'll say such.

2. And people wonder why Nigeria is screwed up? This right there is one of those reasons. No one is ready to fight for his/her right. #fakeasshypocrite people

3. Anon 17:14
      You are part of the problem. All mouth, complaining all the time but oya come out for protest, nobody.

That's is how Buhari will win 2019 election again. Don't go and get your PVC and vote on that day
      ..... Be thinking that social media cyber warriors and abuses and aimed at Buhari is enuf to remove him

Siddon there, we are all in this 2geda for another 4yrs if continue this attitude of complaining and not showing enough action.

My 2kobo.

Hadey halaba

2. The residents paying the toll are ok with it obviously. He is fighting a just cause for people that don't care.

3. He should 've done it on a weekend. When people 've jobs to do.

1. Thank you Oh!
      Saturday morning is the best time for such. Or Sunday evenings. When I saw the poster yesterday, I knew it will flop. Many people didn't know about it
      Abeg when next they want to organize a protest they should start a strong campaign earlier and pick a more convenient day/time. Who wan loose work for recession?

4. This is why Nigeria is the way it is. Keyboard warriors will keep shouting with their fingers but when it's time to act, only what's up there will be the outcome.

Let's take it that majority are at works and can't leave for the protest.

5. We actually deserve the leaders we have.

6. I am not surprise. Nigerians can only talk. No action.

7. Same go b for 2019 Election. Said baba go still rule

8. You fix protest for Friday... A work day. Are you normal?

1. Valid question....Very valid

9. Nigerians, I hail them! Soooooooooo mouthed! To act the talk Na problem. By the way, I'm also a Nigerian...lol

10. This is why Buhari will win come 2019. Inec doesn't count social media votes or prayer points. The north is ready. They have their pvc and will actually vote to keep pmb in office