Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Trade Union Congress Calls For The Resignation of Govs Who Can't Pay Salaries

Sunday, February 25, 2018

Nigerian Trade Union Congress Calls For The Resignation of Govs Who Can't Pay Salaries

The Trade Union Congress of Nigeria (TUC) on Saturday advised state governors who cannot address workers’ problems to resign. 

Bobboi Kaigama, TUC president, said workers can no longer vouch for state governments that non-payment of salaries was as a result of lack of funds.
He said the non-payment could be due to corruption. Kaigama made the TUC’s standpoint known while addressing journalists after the union’s national executive council (NEC) meeting.

He said it was only the Lagos state government that had been regularly paying workers’ salaries and allowances.
All the other states have one issue or the other in terms of salaries or benefits of their workers. You will discover that it is 13 months’ arrears of gratuities or pensions that have not been paid. The trust we have in state government has eroded.

The union leader said President Muhammadu Buhari had approved bailout funds and budget support funding to enable states to settle workers’ salaries, to no avail. Kaigama said accountability in Nigeria was weak, and called for the strengthening of anti-graft agencies.

From the Cable

12 comments:

1. Hnmmmm this country hennnn!

Glo network na wa o. So epileptic!!!

2. Governor wike aka wicked, pay rivers people their salary. The last time wike paid civil servants was in december. But i heard he donated #500 million to a private university and #200 million to the folks attacked by herdsmen in benue. This is the worse governor rivers state has had in years.
    His envy for Ameachi has made his administration a failure. He focuses all his energy on irrelevant matters

1. Liar. Wike is not owing salary
      Workers even got paid before the end of the month. You must be an apc goat. Meanwhile tell the world how Wike had to pay 8 months salary backlog left behind by Ameachi. Civil servants are not owed in Rivers state.

2. You are complaining of wike, what about Roachas the roaches? God help government workers

3. Roaches Okorocha pay workers

4. Roaches Okorocha pay workers

5. Anon 9:51, i cannot believe you are one of those people actually come to the blog to support a wicked governor. This is not a politcal propaganda but the truth. I am not going to gain anything from tarnishing wike's name. If you have a family of 6 and you have not been paod for 2 months then you will understand. The last time local government workers got paod was in january and that was DECEMBER salary. Febuary will be over in 2days yet no pay for january and Febuary.
      Ever since wike took over salaries have never been paid on time.
      May God deliver us from political ass lickers like you.

3. Anambra government isn't owing.

4. Somebody put okowa's pics up there Biko. Useless rotten teeth governor. Owing delta state civil servants 15months. Imagine working a whole year without getting paid.

5. Why is Al Makura's picture not there?

6. Wike pay pensioners..
    N he is governor n man of d yr somewhere