Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Signs Executive Order To Prevent Foreigners From Getting Jobs Nigerians Can Do

Tuesday, February 06, 2018

President Buhari Signs Executive Order To Prevent Foreigners From Getting Jobs Nigerians Can Do

President Buhari on Monday in Abuja signed Executive Order 5 to improve local content in public procurement with science, engineering and technology components.

The Executive Order is expected to promote the application of science, technology and innovation towards achieving the nation’s development goals across all sectors of the economy.

The president, pursuant to the authority vested in him by the constitution, ordered that all ‘‘procuring authorities shall give preference to Nigerian companies and firms in the award of contracts, in line with the Public Procurement Act 2007.’’

The Executive Order also prohibits the Ministry of Interior from giving visas to foreign workers whose skills are readily available in Nigeria.

It, however, notes that where expertise is lacking, procuring entities will give preference to foreign companies and firms with a demonstrable and verifiable plan for indigenous development, prior to the award of such contracts.

In the proclamation entitled ‘‘Presidential executive order 5 for planning and execution of projects, promotion of Nigerian content in contracts and science, engineering and technology,’’ the president also directed Ministries, Departments and Agencies to engage indigenous professionals in the planning, design and execution of national security projects.

It adds that ‘‘consideration shall only be given to a foreign professional, where it is certified by the appropriate authority that such expertise is not available in Nigeria.

from premiumtimes

14 comments:

1. OK. What about ensuring that Nigerians that work with these foreigners are being treated right and not like lab rats?

1. All I can say is Buhari is evil. What he plans to gain from inciting tribal/religious conflict, and inflicting so much pain and anger on his fellows citizens is still a mystery to me. Shame on him and his generation. May we never experience anything like him again .

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. What does he know that he is signing? Oga better leave 2019 and tend to your namas.

Do a law against all these Lebanese, Indians, chinko etc making our people slaves

4. Long overdue. Hope it will be implemented.

5. Long time coming. It amazes that it took this long to have a law like this. I live and work in the US and even Americans have laws restricting employment of foreigners. My employers when I first started working in the US, had to prove that no American can do the job before the dept of labor could approve my work permit.

6. For his mind now he's done something.mtcheeewwwww

7. Implementation is key. The existing immigration laws are not far from this but the issue is that once money exchange hands h...

8. yinmu! with money nothing works.