Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Visa Application Tips Every Nigerian Should Know

Thursday, February 08, 2018

Visa Application Tips Every Nigerian Should Know

Visa applications don’t have to be the tedious process that they can sometimes be, as long as you have the right information on the things to do to aid a smooth visa application process.

Ensure Your Documents are Well Organized

Make sure documents are properly arranged and in order, both the original documents and the photocopies. This is so it can be easier for you to retrieve relevant documents on request during submission, which can help to greatly reduce your anxiety during the process and improve your composure.

Try to Apply Early

Much like ensuring your documents are well organized, applying early helps eliminate the anxiety and stress that comes with late applications. During your visa application process, an important thing you will be assessed on, especially during the interview, is your level of composure, and eliminating minor things that can interfere with or compromise your ability to remain calm and composed should be top of mind. It is thus best to put in your visa application early, so no matter how long the visa processing takes or the delays that come up, there will be no need for you to panic or be agitated.

Visa Agents Cannot Guarantee You a Visa

You would think that most people would know this by now but many of us still fall prey to scammers that erroneously make us believe that they can guarantee us a visa provided we do this and that, or pay so and so amount. Basically, for a successful visa application, you need to be able to show proof of your genuine intent and your financial capacity to sustain yourself for the duration. There is no agent that can do this for you or guarantee you this regardless of how much you pay them, the best they can do is help fill the necessary forms properly and see that you have all the documentation required. At the end of the day, the consul will typically decide on your application based on your documents and your responses to the interview (where it is required, like in the US).

Try To Show Proof of Strong Socio-Economic Ties

Try to prove that you have strong socio-economic reasons like a good job, investments, sufficient funds etc., to return to your home country at the end of the specified period for the visa. In fact, being able to prove this is so important that according to the US Embassy, the 214(b) of the U.S. Immigration and Nationality Act (INA) states that “Every alien shall be presumed to be an immigrant until he establishes to the satisfaction of the officer, at the time of the application for a visa . . . that he is entitled to nonimmigrant status . . .” So visa officers really only just want to make sure that after your trip is over, you will return back to your country, and the best way you can do that is to prove that you have strong socio-economic ties in your home country that can encourage you to return. Some evidence of strong socio-economic ties that are considered are business ownership, employment, social and family relationships etc.

Avoid Mistakes in Your Visa Application

Avoid slangs, big grammar or ambiguous phrases that can lead to avoidable mistakes on your visa application. During the application and even during the interview (where it applies), you should try to keep your responses ‘short, simple and straight to the point’. It is much easier to avoid mistakes this way. Also, during interviews (in cases it applies), be sure that your answers are in line with what is written on the forms submitted.

Damilola Ojo

*Sometimes you have it all and they take one look at you and tell you that you dont look like you will return...Mscheeeew

42 comments:

1. Guy leave that thing. Patronize aeroport agent and thank me later.

1. Its still all depends on d visa officer o, i wonder if invisible force play role in dis visa stuff. I was turned back at Heathrow few yrs back....

2. Anon 17:26 are you for real? And what happened to your Visa Fee?

3. Heathrow????? Nna lemme console myself o! Ndi US bu BASTARDS....

4. Lmao @ don't look like you will return.
      Stella this is applicable to we Nigerians.
      Return fire!

2. I always organize my documents before going there. The first time I was so disorganized, scattering everything around trying to get to a document they are asking for until the lady had to tell me to go separate everything.

Arrange this way 'your originals' your photocopy, then the invitee's originals and the invitee's photocopies with a clear demarcation between each.

Then be as truthful as u can.

Most importantly, if u are not too busy, never use an agent, there's no information you'd get from an agent that u won't get from Google. You will just spend extra cash with no extra assurance.

1. See eka joy that managed to go to obodo oyibo via Libya don dey give visa advice too? Wonders shall never end

1. Hi dear,please explain more on Germany embassy

4. That 'strong socio-economic ties' works like magic. Very important.

1. Like what is that

2. Like Financial proof. Land documents. Family ties (If married).

Stella this thing is psychological. If someone approaches me with an unkept beards, bony look (by bony o hope you understand what I mean), scattered clothes, dirty teeth and smelly breath and request he stays in my house for a night. I won't allow him/her.

Leaving your country to another, I think you should appear "OK". A quick glance at you​ should tell the VO if you intend to commit immigration fraud or not.

Also, the person inviting you matters. Ask how he or she got his green card. Some adjust status through sham marriage, some over stay and become illegal, some go through immigration lawyers meanwhile they got there on a B1/B2 Visa, some have committed numerous crimes but they won't tell you! After all no be only invitation letter?

I think it is better if one read, research and ask questions. Application fee no be small money o. I even pity those who were deported at POE.

3. Yes you are 100% right. I could remember my first time at the UK embassy thank God for the strong socio-economic ties from my sis in-law. That alone gave me an edge and that was my first.

5. OMG, thanks for sharing. The last column reminded me the first time I applied for Canadian Visit Visa.

1. Pls how did u secured it i want to apply am a graduate

6. favor is needed in visa application.

7. My brother re-applied for American visa few months after his first application was rejected.

At the interview he was told congratulations that he has been granted visa.
    And his passport was collected to be stamped and sent through a delivery service company.
    We all received the good news with great joy and celebration.

But we were all shocked when it was sent back with a rejection letter.

Pls has anyone heard of such a thing before?
    What could have gone wrong?

1. Exactly why I didn’t tell no one till I got back my Passport with a stamped visa on it o...too many stories like this is so true.

8. I'm trying to apply for a UK tourist visa, please throw more light on this,,,, must I get an invitation letter?

1. No, ensure you have prebook for accommodation and have your return ticket. It’s that simple

9. Also which is easier to get, shenghen visa or uk visa?

1. Where are you going to? You sound like you are looking to travel and not return

10. I think its favour like Shakiti said. Eg. UK first bounced me reasons being that due to "balance of probability of not having any major responsibilities of returning back"? Meanwhile was meant to go for a training and return in three weeks time. No be my fault sey I dont have any dependent person as they put it abi wetin. Some are lucky on their first, while others get lucky after. But I love my country and will always return at any stipulated time. I be good pikin. Lol

1. You're not alone, UK rejected me twice for this same thing...I wanted to go for a program just 2days and my bank account was more than ok, and other documents as well.

11. My dear even at that....

12. I am trying to apply for American visa, someone tell me more about it.

1. Don’t look ratchet to the embassy always look professional that is one advise you can not buy with mullah

2. Get invitation letter or Hotel booked
      Fund your Account
      Fill your forms
      Pay N64k at any GTB
      Schedule an appointment
      Compose your self
      Good luck

3. 64k for what chooo times that by 100 people per day their is really money in this country

4. Thanks Ada and Anon.

5. @Adadioramma "fund your account" to the tune of how much??

6. Your form has to be filled out correctly, and usually they’d ask you questions based on what’s on your form if it’s different that’s outright denial plus tell your village people to stay in the house on your interview date and the most important is “Anu”

13. These visa especially America is luck ,I have seen some people with no tie or good work they scaled through and found themselves here

14. Please how do one apply for student visa. I'm asking for a brother

15. My sister sure was lucky her finance was not too ok but she got America visa first try the one following her is still applying last year will make her 4th time of application and she has good job in ph I just don’t know what this visa people want sef

1. I went there 4times and was denied 4times too, bastardized people

16. Not about dressing professionally ( I wore a short and top) I’m female by d way. Don’t give contradicting information. People mostly forget the reason for booking ahead is for a background check on you even as much as we don’t have tangible records in Nigeria. Your social media accounts are there for scrutiny. If your smart tv can be used to spy on you. You can imagine what the information you have out there can do. As don’t forget they are trained psychologist. Can detect when you are lying. Then again it could be based on the mood of the VO. You may have all but still denied for no reason.

17. Dress well, tell the truth, be organised for the interview.