Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ikeja Court Bans Media Coverage Of Top Nigerians’ Marriage Dissolution

Friday, March 09, 2018

Ikeja Court Bans Media Coverage Of Top Nigerians’ Marriage Dissolution

An Ikeja Customary Court in Lagos on Thursday banned the media from covering its proceedings. It insisted that the order was from the Judicial Service Commission.

A court registrar, simply identified as Yomi, told journalists that he would forcefully order them out of the courtroom. We do not allow journalists into the court room to report proceedings due to the type of high profile cases and the calibre of people that come into this particular court”, he said.

The order not to allow journalists cover proceedings in this court is from above,” he said. He insisted that if any journalist comes into this court to report proceedings, he will walk the person out.

He said: “I have walked journalists out of the court before with the backing of the President of the court. Ikeja Customary Court is the number one court in Lagos State because of the Calibre of people and cases that are filed there. You can never hear any news on marriage dissolution emanating from this particular court.
From Daily Post

7 comments:

1. Two system of laws for two sets of people in the same shameful country.
    If it is Igando customary court they will be chanting it!

2. Hmmmmm some journalist like bad news. They won't cover weddings but instead resolution

1. There's what is called a beat in journalism. If you're assigned to cover divorce beat or court beat, you can't leave that to cover traffic beat, wedding beat or any other beat. On the other hand, there are those who need those sensational news items to project their media house

3. All animals are equal but some are more equal than others abi?

4. "We are all equal before the law" no longer applies here.
    hmm... Nigeria! Nigeria!! Nigeria!!!
    How many times did I call you?

#Atagara

5. They should all head to Igando...

6. Why is our country like this?? Journalists should be allowed to cover whatever they want to cover. Why is this group being protected?? Na wa!!