Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Toni Iwobi Becomes Italy's First Black Senator

Tuesday, March 06, 2018

Nigeria's Toni Iwobi Becomes Italy's First Black Senator

Italy has elected the first black senator in its history, it was announced on Tuesday, and he belongs to the anti-immigration League.

Toni Iwobi, of Spirano in Lombardy, announced "with great emotion" on his social media pages that he had been elected to the senate in Italy's general election. 

Iwobi, 62, was born in Nigeria and came to Italy on a student visa some 40 years ago, before marrying an Italian woman and starting his own IT company . 

Before running for senator he represented the League as a municipal councillor in Spirano back in the 1990s, and more recently headed Salvini's national committee on immigration.

While his positions may seem surprising given his own experience, Iwobi says that he does not oppose immigrants who – like himself – come to Italy legally and seek to integrate; instead, he says, his problem is with what he calls "the clandestine invasion": people who seek to stay in Italy illegally.
From Local Italy

33 comments:

1. What is great about the news, did you read through story at all?
      An olosho was lucky to get a student visa to Italy, finished his studies as an immigrant in student visa and saw the opportunities and difference compared to his Yeye country Nigeria.
      He then decided to marry an Italian woman so he would be able to renew his almost expired Visa so he could become an Italian citizen. Fast forward to 2018 where you can't even renew your student visa anymore in the UK and this ungrateful element is saying he doesn't like illegal immigrants 😏😏.
      Oga set na EU dem born you, abi no be through student visa you take enter Italy and you refused to return to Nigeria.
      Nonsense man 👨 😏😎😏😏🙈.
      Mtcheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeew

2. It's ur house that is "yeye". It's God that will disgrace those of u who throng the Internet to pronounce curses on a nation, instead of declaring what we want to see...in the name of "making your point".

3. Thank you anon for this analysis. Great news indeed! Mtchewww

4. God bless anonymous. These Are the ones you fear most. If the for was closed in your face, you for get Senate seat. The types of immigrants who voted Trump. They don't want others to enjoy what They are benefiting.

5. Anonymous 5:53, i no get your time because its obvious you want to die in your lovely country Nigeria where suffer suffer they sweet you.
      It's obvious you are an idiot and an illiterate, did I reign curse on your beloved country Nigeria? Mummy or do i say Mrs Nigeria?
      If you are upset with life or going through depression why not give advice or continue 24hour prayers for all the looters you call leaders, abi na me they do you?
      Its obvious you did not read my comment or did not digest properly. If you have any relative abroad you will understand my write-up.
      Yeye dey smell for your body Anonymous 5:53.
      Mgbeke 😏😏😏😏😂😂😂😂😂🙈😋😝

6. Don't mind the idiots who voted Trump in, are they not suffering it as well. Some of them where fortunate to get to the US and because they don't want people in Nigeria to be able to join them.
      Atleast Trump is already giving them all insights of where they belong too.

7. According to anonymous, this mans appointment is dead from arrival.
      But one thing im happy about is Italy is begi.....ing , haven't started to open up. They better fasten their seats belt..

2. Oga when ya studies finished why dint u go bk to Nija why marry an Italian no be to get paper?se ya mouth like u dnt like illegal immigrants as if u ve nt been there even if is for few days 🏃🏾‍♀️

1. He is definitely going to have lots of black enemies.

2. Laurine, God bless you. Person wey be immigrant and was lucky enough to marry an Italian to get papers sef dey yarn nonsense.
      Why didn't he go back to Nigeria after his student visa expired?
      Idiotic somebody 😏😏😏

3. Enemies that are illegals that one n.a. enemies😂you naija home base need to cross over and see how illegals live. They only deceive you on Facebook.

4. Anonymous 13:40, are you one of the illegals and which country do you reside in?
      Aproko 😏😏😏😎🔥🔥🐍🤗🤔

3. How he himself is an immigrant, but belongs to the anti-immigration League? Am I missing something here? Mtschhw.

4. Laurine, God bless you. Person wey be immigrant and was lucky enough to marry an Italian to get papers sef dey yarn nonsense.
    Why didn't he go back to Nigeria after his student visa expired?
    Idiotic somebody 😏😏😏

5. Naija should adopt allowing people from other nationality hold public offices, maybe just maybe our economy will be better and corruption curbed.

1. On what basis? The mumu bottom foreigners have in our land is not enough?

2. Forget it, Naija will change them sharp sharp. Have you been to the Italian embassy in Nigeria, haven't been there but if an italian no iron his uniform, then forget

6. I am glad this isn't Trump. People would have tagged him racist again.
    The man is a legal immigrant. He may have entered using student visa and later marring an Italian but it doesn't make him illegal immigrant. He strategised. Let others do same. We should learn to say the truth always.

#HerMajesty

1. God bless you. Reason why this country shithole won't get better. Ever body is a liar and has hate.

2. Thank you oh. The only thing people picked up from the article is anti-immigration. He said he has problems with people who enter clandestinely. As if it’s not on this blog we read about people crossing from Libya to Italy and all the terrible things happening. Everyone against this man should come see how this people live in Italy, you go cry for them.

7. See Nigerians and their yeye mouth. There's nothing wrong in being against illegal immigrants. But of course, it's the people always looking for shortcuts that will be complaining

Congrats senator

1. Eka Joy, did you read your comment before po it.
      Olodo somebody, hear yourself 😏😏🙈

8. Foolish hypocrite! Immigrant so what makes you different?

9. See his ogologo head. Oga you belong to anti-immigration league. I wont tell you congrats.

That is how you guys behave, once you climb up to the ladder, you throw away the ladder because it is not needed. See ya mouth

1. No mind the stupid man, thank God it was revealed that he got into Italy through student visa. Why didn't the idiot come back to Nigeria after his student visa expired? He saw opportunities that does not exist in Nigeria and was smart enough to make quick decisions by marrying an Italian to become a legal immigrant.
      He is now yearning nonsense
      Shameless on you Sir 😏😏🙈

2. You are also stupid I guess

10. Oh boy see courses to our daddy 😚

1. People that will shit on their pants if face to face with him . Phone give them mouth.