Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Skirts As Part Of NYSC Uniform?..Senate Says NO!!!

Thursday, March 08, 2018

Skirts As Part Of NYSC Uniform?..Senate Says NO!!!

A bill to amend the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) Act failed to scale second reading at the Senate on Wednesday. The bill was rejected following concerns that such amendment requires altering the constitution which requires a longer process.

Soliciting support of his colleagues, Emmanuel Bwacha (Taraba-PDP) said the amendment was meant to give corps members the liberty of digressing from the rigid adherence to the NYSC uniform specification.

The uniform adopted for corps members have become a basis for controversy between the directorate and the public. In fact, some corps members drop out of service because of conflict they’ve witnessed. The major bone of contention is that some of the drills and uniform contravene the religious belief of corps members and invariably denying them right of religion, thought and conscience.

In his contribution to the debate on the amendment, Barau Jibrin (Kano-APC) argued for the amendment to stand in conformity with various religions in the country. People of this country are either Christians, Muslims or traditionalists and we have our values. It appears the mode of dressing of NYSC contravenes this very important aspect of our religion. The amendment is simple. We should make it in tandem with our values, culture and religion.”

Biodun Olujimi (Ekiti-PDP) was of a different opinion. She said the amendment could be effected without altering the constitution. This uniform has been worn since 1973, I don’t know why it became auspicious for us to now look for an act of the National Assembly to alter that. If there are little things to be done to make it better, I believe mere pronouncement by the NYSC should be capable of addressing that rather than an Act of the National Assembly.”

The Senate thereafter rejected the bill after a second voice vote.
From punch

*Good that it was rejected...Jobless lot!

16 comments:

1. Agree with the rejection too. Don't these bunch of jobless people called Senators have nothing better to do again? Screwed up country

2. Jobless lot indeed! Mschew!

3. Of all bills to be amended,it's skirt wearing that is senator's Emmanuel problem.....
    Infact he deserves some strokes of came....
    Awonalainisheshey.....

4. Who's the idiot that introduced d bill?
    If u don't wanna serve stay at home n wear ur buluku pls, afterall I've seen core northern babes rock khaki pants during nysc.

5. Na them....are they the only ones with religion? This people are beginning to piss me off, Gawd!!! If its too much for them they should withdraw from engaging in the compulsory service. Wetin sef

6. Stella we know they are jobless but sometimes they want to show us they came to work by proposing useless bills like this that doesn't mean jack to our wellbeing. Ndi uchu

7. Yeye senator. That's y I like my senator Sani u can't see him proposing such nonsense bill.

8. While other countries are debating the way forward for their citizens,my dear country's senators came together to argue about skirts. Nice one.