Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: US Announces $533m Assistance For Nigeria And Others....

Wednesday, March 07, 2018

US Announces $533m Assistance For Nigeria And Others....

The U.S. has announced about 533 million dollars in humanitarian assistance for Nigeria, Ethiopia, Somalia, and South Sudan, as well as countries in the Lake Chad region. 

Of the newly announced funds, more than $128 million is for affected populations from Nigeria and countries in the Lake Chad region. About $184 million is for affected populations from South Sudan and more than $110 million for affected populations from Ethiopia. The humanitarian assistance includes more than $110 million for affected populations from Somalia.

Secretary of State, Rex Tillerson made the announcement in his speech at George Mason University in Virginia, saying “today I’m announcing $533 million in additional humanitarian assistance to fight famine and food insecurity and address other needs resulting from conflicts in Somalia, South Sudan, Ethiopia, and the Lake Chad Basin.

The alarming levels of hunger in these areas are largely man-made, as conflicts erupt and people flee their homes. Under these conditions, people cannot produce crops and often lose access altogether to food, education, and health care. Many lose everything. And regrettably, Mother Nature can still be cruel, such as in the Horn of Africa, where a prolonged drought is contributing to grave food insecurity”.

However, this assistance will not solve these ongoing conflicts, but only buy us time – time to pursue diplomatic solutions,” Tillerson stressed. According to him, ultimately it is up to the leaders in these countries, particularly in South Sudan, to stop the violence and put the welfare of their citizens at the forefront of their actions.
NAN

10 comments:

1. Swallow Alert! Elephants get ready. Food don land.
    Lavidaloca

2. So all the recovered loots nkoo,Nigeria is a big joke.Nigeria is one of the richest country in the world yet we are still on lonoongtin.Abeg youths arise and take over these old men and women have finished us .I wish I can be president of Nigeria for one day , I swear they will be too much bloods in my head , because I will behead leaders I know from the year I was born till date , I will personally bring in professional beheaders from The kingdom of saudi Arabia to behead every single one of them .Recircyled old thieves .

3. Nigeria is always at the receiving end but doesn't use the money to improve infrastructural facilities but spends it on themselves...

4. okkkk assistance to the pockets of Nigerian politicians.
    We all know the aid money will be swallowed by crocodiles.

5. Chai, them don get moni for 2019 thuggery and erections!
    All these politrictians are having erections already!

1. As mkpi/egefu wey them be

6. I hope they're not giving cash oh, snake will swallow oh! Nigerians no dey take eye see money especially $$$$. No matter their position, level or status, every Nigerian is a hustler even Buhari!!