Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Vice President Osinbajo Explains Why President Buhari Has Not Visited Benue, Zamfara, Yobe....

Monday, March 05, 2018

Vice President Osinbajo Explains Why President Buhari Has Not Visited Benue, Zamfara, Yobe....

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, has explained why President Muhammadu Buhari has not visited states that have witnessed killings in recent months.

Osinbajo ​said he represented the president​ in some of the states, stating that condolence ​visits ​cannot compensate for loss of live​s.

In a chat with newsmen in Lagos on Sunday, Osinbajo said: “Let me say it first that no amount of condolence can compensate for the loss of life, whether in Calabar, Mambilla or Benue or where people were killed in Adamawa or Zamfara, any of these states.

​”​Benue killing is one set of killing far too much; there is no amount of condolence that can compensate for that. And I want to say that it’s a massive tragedy. ​I’ve been to Zamfara, I’ve been to Adamawa when this killing took place.​ ​I even visited Benue in September where there have been killing before; then I’ve visited them when the flooding took place and we looked at all the issues and tried to address many of these. ​There have been several of these issues in different places, recently Dapchi. We have expressed condolences, but no amount of condolence would do.​”

​Osinbajo who also spoke on what the government is doing to address security challenges nationwide​, said;

​”​We have to address the security question in a much more robust way; that the police are able to do these effectively. ​We have deployed the military to Kaduna, two battalions to Kaduna. In Benue and Taraba axis, we have the 93 battalion, we have 72 Special Forces. ​We have full concentration in Taraba and all of that, and by the way, the military is fighting in most of the North East. So there is a situation where the military is overstretched. So I think the most important thing is first of all to ensure they actually address the security of the people.​”​

From Daily Post

11 comments:

1. Okay Vice president.

"Condolence visit cannot compensate for lives lost"

OK o

2. The explanation can only make sense to him and those in his government. But he should bear in mind that Jonathan lost popularity by dancing in Kano, while Chibok girls were missing...

3. Enough of these excuses. If the President can’t go to certain parts of the country due to security concerns, shouldn’t security for all then be his focus?? He is CIC. He needs to visit those areas. These guys act like the loss and destruction of property is nothing. Say No to APC in 2019. In fact, the new party coming up shouldn’t he inclusive of the old brigade. It should admit admit young blood and technocrats who can move the country forward.

4. I did not see any tangible thing this man is saying. Why has Buhari not visited? He just dey talk nonsense.

Yeye government

5. Condolences from Authorities sometimes makes the bereaved feel secured Mr Vice president

6. Bunch of uneducated illiterates. Insensitive people who are very self centered. Say no to APC and PDP in 2019

1. While I don't support PMB, we should becareful not to show our lack of intellectual capacity.

If you say Osibajo is an uneducated illiterate, then i will like to know what your definition of an educated and literate person or persons should be.

7. You are now his mouth piece abi. Buhari should continue, God is watching. What kinda president is he?? He was elated seeing his son the other day but some other parents have been thrown into mourning....it is well

8. When God starts to deal with buhari even his large babariga will not be able to hid him

9. From Lai Mohammed to Femi Adesina and now Osibanjo? Sir please don't allow APC destroy what you have built all your life. Power is transient but your integrity will be called to question after you leave office.