Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Tragedy As Generator Smoke Ends Life Of Woman And Her Children

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Tragedy As Generator Smoke Ends Life Of Woman And Her Children

Tragedy struck in Benin, Edo State on Tuesday, as six members of a family of seven were found dead in their apartment.

The victims included the mother of the house and five children, including a set of twins. Their father, who was identified as Tochukwu Okwueze was found still breathing, as he was said to have been rushed to a private clinic along Eweka Street for medical attention.

The generator was said to have been left in the kitchen at the family’s apartment on Monday night and left running all night. It was gathered that neighbours who discovered the lifeless bodies of the victims on Tuesday morning after forcing the door open, raised the alarm of their discovery. Their lifeless bodies were later deposited at the mortuary of the Central Hospital, in Benin, amidst weeping and wailing by sympathizers.

One of the relatives of the deceased, Vincent, explained to newsmen that his younger brother called him from Lagos to inquire what was happening. He said, “He told me to go the house, that something not pleasing to the ears had just happened. I call her (deceased woman’s​) line. Somebody picked the call and said that they (victims) slept and did not wake up. The whole family was affected. But the police told me that the father survived it. They said that though his case was serious and that if there was the need to rush him to the University of Benin Teaching Hospital, they would call me. It is a family of seven. The youngest is a set of twins."

The State Commissioner of Police, Mr. Johnson Kokumo confirmed the incident.

From pm news

*Someone will read this now and tomorrow still leave on the generator and go to sleep....Please spread the message to those who do not have access to read and educate themselves!

All this boils down to the govt,if they fix the lights,no one will need generator at all....so so sad!

18 comments:

1. So sad,,this has just spoilt by day....am very sure they kept the generator in the kitchen so that,it won't be stolen .. ogaoooo

RIP

MC PINKY

1. This thing keeps reoccurring , as sad as it is, Do not keep generator set inside your house. How many people would have to die before we listen. Better to be hot and alive . This is just painful. And those of you that don't service your generator then use the exhaust to face your neighbours room, kindly get that checked before you are responsible for people's death.

2. @Stella
      It's like you do not know poli-tricks
      The reason they won's fix the light is because they
      and their cronies need to sell those generators.

3. @ Anon 12.00, you know what's up πŸ‘. Very wicked leaders.

2. OMG. It is because of thieves these people had to put it in the kitchen. Oh God. It will never be well for NEPA and his cohorts Amen

1. Is it not faaar better if it was stolen than risking of life in such manner?? Moreover, building a protector house around a gen outside dosent cost much. Why moving gen upandan bikonu.
      See how fam of 7 just died out of carelessness. Really saaad.

3. Theres nothing wrong with running generator all night. Its just that some people dont seem to value their lives. Where you keep and operate your gen from should be OUTSIDE your house and should be a little bit far from your windows. Why place a gen in d kitchen of all places no matter??
    People do this a lot cos this isnt d first time I am reading about gen being in d kitchen. I cant just deal abeg. May they rip.

4. Haaaaaaa
    Six members of a family
    This is so sad

5. RIP to the deceased...but how will someone put generator in the kitchen and still leave it on? Preventing thieves from stealing it and endangering your life?...I hope people will learn...it is really risky.

6. Such a big loss..... May their souls rest in peace.

7. Oh God, what a sad news. May their souls rest in peace.

8. Deep and hard blow!!! May their souls rest in peace. Most houses should have a generator house, thank God for my cousin that kept telling me about keeping Gen sets upstairs, i kept telling hubby and he refused to hear, until he found it burning one day, the nx day he called sm to construct a Gen house and instructed all tenants to take their generators down stairs. Remaining cylinders, I will instruct everyone to take theirs outside the balcony for safety reasons.

9. See the way family of Six just die becoz of Negligence of Nepa, Nepa ooo make Una dey Leave light biko, U Subcribe DSTV still put on Generator to watch it where is the way forward Niger.. Rest in peace to the deceased..

10. why are they keeping a working gen.in the kitchen πŸ˜ͺRip to them

11. Sad πŸ˜” family of 6, such a big loss! Rip to them