Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Athlete Blessing Okagbare’s Ban Extended To 11 Years

Tuesday, June 28, 2022

Nigerian Athlete Blessing Okagbare’s Ban Extended To 11 Years

The Athletics Integrity Unit has extended the ban on Nigeria’s 2008 long jump silver medalist Blessing Okagbare to 11 years.

She was previously suspended for 10 years for doping in February 2022 but the AIU in a document obtained on Monday added one additional year to Okagbare’s ban after she allegedly failed to respond to the charges by the extended deadline -June 21, 2022.

According to a copy of the document obtained by Punch correspondent, Okagbare is deemed to have admitted the anti-doping rule violations (under Rule 2.3 and Rule 2.5 of the World Athletics Anti-Doping Rules) and to have accepted the consequences.

From Punch on Instagram

23 comments:

1. What an embarrassment! The bleaching didn’t help matters. Mtchew

1. Thought bleaching is the hype now? Don’t they all bleach? Unfortunately they do not care about skin cancer or other side effects of it

2. when I read that something as small as paracetamol or aspirin can be considered as dope in the right circumstances, I stopped judging these athletes.
      The conditions get as e be

2. And she was online chanting; "my lawyers are working on it."
    Na so them dey chant "my lawyers, my lawyers" as if they sent anyone to law school and paid the fees.
    Blessing, what a shameful way to exit after having worked so hard.

3. It is obvious, it is the steroids that is making her strangely fair and variegated. She was a very dark and cute girl. I really feel for her, marriage and career crashing at the same time.

1. Abeg abuse and spill tea on her if that's what your heart really wants to do. Forget this your "I really feel for her..." line. You feeleth nothing for her mbok. She toned her skin and I couldn't care less about her hideous blonde wigs and styles sometimes but to say it is the steroids she's using that made her "strangely fair", hian! Just say you don't like our sisturr abeg. Nobody will beat you. Prepare because you will soon hear from our lawyer. You go talk when marriage crash for your eye.

For all the times that you made us proud Blessing, we appreciate and celebrate you but babe no be everything strong-head dey solve o. You for do normal na. The American dude that prevented Usain Bolt from getting 100% record in his last race was a serious "dopper" who came back strong after his tribulations. See as stray bullet leave your alleged offence go hit your marriage now ehn! Anon be careful o.

2. stop marriage shaming ladies. if dem check now you can't even kiss her feet in real life

3. @13:19
      This is real life, the ban is real, it is not social media

4. It has nothing to do with "hate." I don't think there is any Nigerian that does not like blessing Okagbare. She has made Nigeria proud in sports. This is a very wrong move by her. And yes, medically, steroids are used to lighten the skin.

4. She should just retire

1. I agree. Clear her name if she could and then retire. Marion Jones was like a T&F role model to me back then until her drug scandal. Still hurts.

2. Amebo, I doubt if there is anything to clear. Did some1 inject her when she was sleeping? Or machine was faulty? Just thinking what her defence can possibly be.

3. Abroadian, our sister alleged "fowl" play in the matter. I'd like to see what her defence/claim is first as someone who never had such issues in the past. Compare her case to that of the American athlete who willingly "confessed" years after winning many medals. Why didn't their machines detect she was doping until she confessed? Sports and politics can be dirty too and if Blessing has any real tea, let her spill. See how Samson Siasia's life ban issue with FIFA is playing out too.

4. Oh well, fingers crossed.

5. So when did she start bleaching???The skin already looks worn out! Early retirement for making a bad choice! Farewell to Blessing look for something else to do.

6. End of the road for you Blessing. Good luck if you decide to do something else in the future

7. 'Don't bleach, don't bleach', yet they're all turning yellow and white one by one. Who's kidding who?

8. Some creams contain steroids, hope it's not the cos

9. Abeg leave her make she bleach. Woman wey get athletic body you no want make the skin fine? Mscheew! Haters

1. So bleaching is skin fineness?
      No self esteem mixed with skin complexion complex