Sorry oh, wrong calculus. It's only the narrator jare. Those other people were just side attractions. I goofed before. Abeg Stella free us with this puzzle, we don use am born shidrens
The answer is none!!!! It says "on my way to St. Ives" it didn't say Man, Wives, Sacks, Kittens were on their way to St Ives too! They could have just been standing on the road while he was in a train, car or boat!
You guys seem to be forgetting an obvious fact! When the Narrator says "kittens, cats, wives, sacks" how many were going! He never said "ME, kittens, cats, wives",... If he included himself then the answer would be "1"! But he's asking the question based on the people he saw!!! And none of them was going to St Ives. (Unless we are automatically assuming he included himself in the people that he "saw")
@8:41 you don't include him bc the question asked "kittens, cats, sacks, wives" how many were going to St Ives! It doesn't say "kitten, sacks, cats, wives" how many PEOPLE were going to St Ives! I believe this is just common sense abi basic English question! You just need to read between the lines. He's asking of the people and things he saw on his way how many of those people/things were on their way to St Ives.... None of them. I don't know if I make any sense to you sha....
Which man? Narrator or the man he saw on his way? Because obviously they ain't the same.
'On my way, I saw a man with....'
The narrator said 'on my way to st.Ives I saw a man' the man he saw might actually be standing on the road with his family or travelling in the opposite direction. It wasn't specified so that enture family is scrabble from the question.
Now, the narrator didnt ask about himself as he already announced thar he was going there but the question was of the man's family with their baggage which was going to st.ives.....and the answer is NONE.
Just one person which is the man who has already mentioned going to St. Ives. We cannot add the man with 7 wives, 343 cats and 2401 kittens to it as we cannot determine their destination.
I b use calculator but I got confused and later realised dat sdkers are d most brainlnt bv's any bloggers can burst of........ Am patiently waiting for comments to roll in.
Total of 344 were going to St Ives (sacks inclusive)....
One man + 7 wives = 8 Each wife had ..... 7 sacks Each sack had 7 cats = 7x7 = 49 cats Each cat had 7 kittens = 7x49 = 343 kittens Total number of cats = 49+343 = 392 cats
total figure on journey = 1 man + 7 wives + 7 sacks + 392 cats = 407 + the person that saw them = 408
Man----------- 1 Wives----------7 Each wife------ 7 sacks total number of sacks----- 49 Each sack had 7 cats----49x7 = 343 cats Each cat had 7 kittens---343x7 = 2401 kittens
1 man + 7 wives + 343 cats + 2401 kittens = 2752 (excluding the sacks)
ANSWER IS : 2752 + the person that saw them = 2753
Man----------- 1 Wives----------7 Each wife------ 7 sacks total number of sacks----- 49 Each sack had 7 cats----49x7 = 343 cats Each cat had 7 kittens---343x7 = 2401 kittens
This riddle was featured in some primary school English reader, not sure if it was Oxford or Macmillan... Hehehehehe, na here we go know who go correct primary school lol.
But then, I don't even know what primary schools use nowadays, so those who were in primary school after the early 1990's might not know either.
Sdimokokorkus@gmail.com Mobile Phone +4915210724141
ReplyDelete********LONG LIVE SDK & SDKERS*******
One person
DeleteSorry oh, wrong calculus. It's only the narrator jare. Those other people were just side attractions. I goofed before. Abeg Stella free us with this puzzle, we don use am born shidrens
DeleteEmjay na wa
Delete9
DeleteThe answer is none!!!! It says "on my way to St. Ives" it didn't say Man, Wives, Sacks, Kittens were on their way to St Ives too! They could have just been standing on the road while he was in a train, car or boat!
DeleteI remember this particular teaser as a kid!
only the person who saw them on his/her way.
DeleteI am sorry
DeleteNa only 1 person dey talk say dey go St.Ives nw. Most trick question answers are usually in the first line.
DeleteJust one person was going to st.Ives
DeleteLemonfresh or watever u call urself shut d fuck up,dem born u follow me,na oly emjay u see here?
Delete********LONG LIVE SDK & SDKERS********
You guys seem to be forgetting an obvious fact! When the Narrator says "kittens, cats, wives, sacks" how many were going! He never said "ME, kittens, cats, wives",... If he included himself then the answer would be "1"! But he's asking the question based on the people he saw!!! And none of them was going to St Ives. (Unless we are automatically assuming he included himself in the people that he "saw")
DeleteHe was on his way to St Ives when he saw what he saw so why won't you count him. The answer is 1
DeleteOnly him going to St Ives.
Delete@8:41 you don't include him bc the question asked "kittens, cats, sacks, wives" how many were going to St Ives! It doesn't say "kitten, sacks, cats, wives" how many PEOPLE were going to St Ives! I believe this is just common sense abi basic English question! You just need to read between the lines. He's asking of the people and things he saw on his way how many of those people/things were on their way to St Ives.... None of them. I don't know if I make any sense to you sha....
Deleteobi don't know
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
ReplyDeleteNone because the question was ....wives,sacks,cats and kitten, which one was going. They didn't mention man or say 'everyone' in the story.
DeleteSo out of the afore mentioned, NONE was heading to St. Ives
Seriously....
ReplyDeleteBrb
ReplyDeleteWives, kitten, sacks and so on.. The answer is none
Delete30
ReplyDelete8
ReplyDeleteOnly the man. This is because the riddle never said he was going to St Ives TOGETHER with his 7 wives.
ReplyDeleteCorrect.. Ur parent money no waste
DeleteYou are good! So right....
DeleteWhich man? Narrator or the man he saw on his way? Because obviously they ain't the same.
Delete'On my way, I saw a man with....'
The narrator said 'on my way to st.Ives I saw a man' the man he saw might actually be standing on the road with his family or travelling in the opposite direction. It wasn't specified so that enture family is scrabble from the question.
Now, the narrator didnt ask about himself as he already announced thar he was going there but the question was of the man's family with their baggage which was going to st.ives.....and the answer is NONE.
ReplyDeleteOne
ReplyDeleteLol. Primary school things. 1 person
ReplyDeleteOh sorry. I made a mistake in my previous comment (answer). It's just the man and the narrator that are going to St Ives.
ReplyDeleteIs d narrator not d man?
DeleteLmao
Delete* Julibel Emerald Oliodu * * *
ReplyDelete7 x 777 = what.
ReplyDeleteAfi 7×777
Deleteupon ur sharp mouth... dumb ass love me jeje
DeleteOlodo rabata, oju eja loo mo je.
DeleteOne.
ReplyDeleteOnly one "puxon"( the narrator)
ReplyDelete1 man
ReplyDelete1
ReplyDeleteOfu.
ReplyDeleteOne-Just you nah
ReplyDeleteYou are the only one going to St Ives.
ReplyDeleteSeunfunmi
Non of them is going. He saw them on his way
ReplyDeleteExactly my point!
DeleteYou are sharp
Easy, just one
ReplyDeleteJust me
ReplyDeleteOne...
ReplyDeleteThis brings back memories of my early years (and Sesame Street!!)
ReplyDeleteThe answer is one person.....Just me!
However Stella.....Let me ask youn the very question Bert asked Ernie in return - How many were going the other way???
Now I need a calculator.
DeleteOnly me, I'm the only one going to St. Ives
ReplyDeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteJust one person which is the man who has already mentioned going to St. Ives. We cannot add the man with 7 wives, 343 cats and 2401 kittens to it as we cannot determine their destination.
ReplyDeleteLucy
343 cats bawo?
DeleteEach wife has 7 sacks with 7 cats = 49 cats per wife... there are 7 wives 49×7=343
Delete.......
ReplyDelete7³=
ReplyDelete2401
Don't tell me u counted the sacks too lmao!
DeleteThis got me lmaoing
DeleteOlodo charismatic mugu
DeleteLmao @pink shell reply. Same thing dat comes to my mind after reading @diva comments.
DeleteOlodo chihuahua diva
DeleteWhen they were begging you to continue your education, you say na ashewo you wan become.
Stupid imbecile!
Lmao! And I was even feeling on top of d world. F***g genius I AM... Lol @ Pinkshell, biko rapu m aka, u counted everything #covers face#
DeleteLol
Delete30, if we add the man and the narrator. Hope am right?
ReplyDeleteU have goofed
DeleteAbeg if you are not sure of something,just go on anonymous.
DeleteOne person. The man on his way to st ives
ReplyDeleteThis rain is something else...
ReplyDeleteI'm enjoying it seriously.
DeleteAnswer riddle and leave rain alone jor
DeleteShe no no maths.
DeleteNone!
ReplyDeleteOne person
ReplyDelete30.
ReplyDelete30
ReplyDelete29
ReplyDeleteOne. Just you
Deleteone
ReplyDeleteI b use calculator but I got confused and later realised dat sdkers are d most brainlnt bv's any bloggers can burst of........ Am patiently waiting for comments to roll in.
ReplyDeleteWhere is my BLOG LORD I miss MIO
Babe, improve your English small na...
DeleteYou just de fall my hand.
Olodo oshi...
DeleteIf na dick and man matter you go carry first
30 PEOPLE
ReplyDelete7X4=28
28+1 MAN=29
29 +1 (HIMSELF COUNTING)=30
I HOPE I GET IT
JESUS CHRIST!!!
DeleteAll dis calculation,just to answer riddle
JESUS CHRIST!!!
DeleteAll dis calculation,just to answer riddle
U are wrong. Pray for wisdom and understanding. There is nothing God cannot do.
DeleteI don't know!
ReplyDeleteAfter you no dey give award or even the right answer.
Bitch! It's only to open your rude pomo mouth and insult people. Judgemental mofo. Dullard
Delete1 man
ReplyDeleteOnly me
ReplyDeleteAfter all*
ReplyDelete30 in total
ReplyDeleteOne person of cos
ReplyDeletejust one person i guess.
ReplyDeletexclusivxter.
One person
ReplyDeleteThe kittens, cats, sacks and wives traveling to Ives are 2800
ReplyDeletejust one person i guess or better still i am sure.
ReplyDeletexclusivxter.
One. The rest were returning
ReplyDeleteOne person alone going to st Ives, he met the others on his way
ReplyDeleteThatBabe:106
ReplyDeleteOne person alone going to st Ives, he met the others on his way
ReplyDelete2402
ReplyDeleteHuh?
DeleteJust one person.
ReplyDelete65
ReplyDelete29....
ReplyDeleteD ans s one!
DeleteLindosky, dis ur answer get bow leg ooo!
DeleteONLY 2 PEOPLE WERE TRAVELLING. COS WE WERE TOLD HE HAD 2 WIVES AND OTHER FAMILY MEMBERS NOT THAT THEY ACCOMPANIED THEM ON THAT JOURNEY.
ReplyDeleteDullard! Even had to show your stupidity in caps
DeleteJust you we weren't told where they were going to
ReplyDelete8 is the answer
ReplyDeleteMan=1
ReplyDeleteWives=7
1wife= 7sacks. 7sacks *7wives= 49sacks
49*7cats= 343 cats.
343*7kittens= 2401
2401 kittens + 343cats+ 7wives+ 1man= 2752 .
2752 were going to st Ives.
Hope I try?
Ha!
DeleteYou need divine intervention. U go school at all ?
Delete22
ReplyDeleteMan=1
ReplyDeleteWives=7
1wife= 7sacks. 7sacks *7wives= 49sacks
49*7cats= 343 cats.
343*7kittens= 2401
2401 kittens + 343cats+ 7wives+ 1man= 2752 .
2752 were going to st Ives.
Hope I try?
Lol ... You over try!
Delete8 people
ReplyDeleteOne person(the man that saw them)
ReplyDeleteYOU+1 MAN+HIS 7 WIVES+7CATS+7KITTENS+7Sacks=30........excluding d sacks=23
ReplyDeleteYou
ReplyDeleteonly me is the answer. na me dey go st. ives na
ReplyDeleteme
ReplyDeleteJust 1
ReplyDelete169
ReplyDeletethis is an old riddle joor, you alone was going to st ives
ReplyDeleteYou alone were going NOT was going . Guess u never finished pry school
DeleteOnly 1.
ReplyDeleteone man..lol
ReplyDelete22. Lol
ReplyDeleteOne
ReplyDeleteThis poem from primary 4..... Na one person dey go St Ives. I repeat ONE!!!
ReplyDeleteOoshee
Deleteyou na... only you
ReplyDeleteOnly you.
ReplyDeleteNice... I like d puzzles but pls post more recent ones. Ive know this since like 1992 and I was like 4
ReplyDeleteOne person
ReplyDeleteNa one person jooo
ReplyDeleteTotal of 344 were going to St Ives (sacks inclusive)....
ReplyDeleteOne man + 7 wives = 8
Each wife had ..... 7 sacks
Each sack had 7 cats = 7x7 = 49 cats
Each cat had 7 kittens = 7x49 = 343 kittens
Total number of cats = 49+343 = 392 cats
total figure on journey =
1 man + 7 wives + 7 sacks + 392 cats
= 407 + the person that saw them = 408
ANSWER = 408.
U are not ok.
DeleteThe answer is 1.
ReplyDeleteNa only you dey go the St Ives naa
ReplyDelete#oshe
one person, the narrator. he only saw the man and his many entourage on his way to St Ives but that does not mean they were also going to St Ives.
ReplyDeleteMan----------- 1
ReplyDeleteWives----------7
Each wife------ 7 sacks
total number of sacks----- 49
Each sack had 7 cats----49x7 = 343 cats
Each cat had 7 kittens---343x7 = 2401 kittens
(There was a mistake in the first calculation)
Man----------- 1
ReplyDeleteWives----------7
Each wife------ 7 sacks
total number of sacks----- 49
Each sack had 7 cats----49x7 = 343 cats
Each cat had 7 kittens---343x7 = 2401 kittens
(There was a mistake in the first calculation)
Ha! Sleek! Ha! Ha! Ha!
DeleteU need help NOW !
Delete1 person
ReplyDelete1 person
ReplyDelete1 person na.
ReplyDeleteThis riddle was featured in some primary school English reader, not sure if it was Oxford or Macmillan... Hehehehehe, na here we go know who go correct primary school lol.
But then, I don't even know what primary schools use nowadays, so those who were in primary school after the early 1990's might not know either.
One man - the person narrating
ReplyDeleteBTW Stella, I'm loving the new layout and logo on the blog. Kudos to the designer..
ReplyDelete8. The correct answer is EIGHT PERSONS!
ReplyDeleteMeanwhile, I think it's time we start having the real answers to puzzle posted at a designated time. Will make it more fun that way.
STORIES @ ALIFEDIARY
Even you !!! Na wah o.
Delete1 person
ReplyDeleteThe man going to St Ives!
ReplyDelete65
ReplyDeleteOne person
ReplyDeleteJust one person.
ReplyDelete408 is the Ans 1(ME)+1(MAN+7(WIFE)+7(SACKS)+49(CATS)+343(K)
ReplyDelete1
ReplyDeleteNone. Even the narrator got drunk and fell asleep on his way to St Ives.
ReplyDeleteLove your comment.
DeleteNa one person dey go st Ives na
ReplyDelete1 man, bc d man telling d story didn't say d oda man n his family are also going to st Ives.
ReplyDeleteone person
ReplyDeleteOne person
ReplyDeleteone ie the protagonist
ReplyDeleteOnly One.
ReplyDeleteThe man going to Ives ...
Anon: Ewu gambia. put your ID and stop talking rubbish. Begging Begging make you rich
ReplyDeletenone of them
ReplyDeleteOnly ME[one]! cause am going while i saw them, they may be going to an opposite direction or even sitting under a mango tree!
ReplyDeleteEach wife has 49 cats and 49 kitten = 98
ReplyDelete98×7 wives= 686
686+1 man=687
just you
ReplyDelete23, the man going to st ives, the man with the wives an kittens and the rest.