Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Jumia Staff Dies On The Job

Tuesday, February 09, 2016

Jumia Staff Dies On The Job

Oh Dear!

''Hello Stella,

Please please please keep my identity anonymous.

I am a staff of Jumia Nigeria and you need to know what is going on in this slave trade company.

People work in the worst working environment ever. Staff being kept in the warehouse where the working condition killed a staff in the office yesterday 08/02/2016. His name is Ola, set to marry his pregnant fiancée next month.

The warehouse is extremely hot, very unbearable, they make staff work for 12hours straight without sitting down. How do you let people stand packing and processing items in a hot warehouse for 12hours? And the pay is so small but you know people have basic needs and responsibilities then they take up these jobs.

The government needs to do something about this because this company is here to use people and kill them. No more health insurance, they cut down the health insurance whereby you can only treat headache in the hospital and that is it. They cut down salaries and other benefits. 

Meanwhile the expats live in 70million naira house on ikoy, lekki, vi with salaries from 2.5million naira and all. They live the lives of the Rick Nigerians, come to work, cannot perform and let the locals do all the work. Then the locals end up dead! A staff died on his way to Lagos from our porthacourt office while bringing items to Lagos, imagine them sending an email to the whole staff to donate money for his family. Why can't the company pay the family why ask is donate?

If you can afford to live in 70million naira house. We need our government to fight for us, it is becoming unbearable. How can a warehouse not have health and safety rules and training for staff, no sickbay, no first aid. That guy would have survived yesterday if there was a first response. He wa simply gasping for breath and died before he got to isalu hospital, bearly 10minutes from the warehouse off acme road. 

Nigerians please help us! Government please help us! 

There are no jobs out there and these ones are killing people! 

Scorned staff of Jumia Nigeria.

*RIP Mr Ola...

114 comments:

1. I want to say something but to avoid talking like a certified witch I'd just sdwqerftjhdneuansjiqpnsnsind.
    Rest in peace Mr. Ola.

1. If the environment or the condition of your working place isn't favourable, please speak up or quit.
      I know there is no job in nigeria, but that doesn't mean you should work yourself 2 death.
      If you think you are being used, then you quit!
      Rip ola

2. U don kolo..
      Wat a world, wat a life..RIP Sir

3. @portable Viv see your mouth like Quit. For how long have u been Job hunting? Have u gotten a call for interview not even d job?

There are no jobs in Nigeria n bills keep increasing.

4. Haa!
      You're very daft @ portable viv, with your ugly self. Find work give am na
      RIP to the dead, may the Lord console his loved ones

5. #mashedbeanshasspoken
      #shenogetworkoshewanmakeyoujoinforunemployment

6. Portable viv, stop exhibiting ur stupidity. Make dm sha know say u sef drop comment! Equity

Mrs J

7. Potable viv u are very correct.Dont mind these useless people insulting u,by d time dey die on their job,na we go come waste R.I.P on dem.Awon smellos.

8. Anon 12:30 hahahahaha

I swear the babe matter tire me, I just like to jump and pass her comment when m reading comments

9. Money Maker's Wife.....common park well. Awon Chizoba Ibebuikes oshi. Go and hide. Ezibida.

10. Hope dude wasn't fasting and collapsed due to exhaustion? His family should be compensated. Sad

2. Kai! This is really a sad situation. There should be a regulatory body their must check mate companies na. Rip Mr Ola. I'm not happy at all.

1. This is so sad, I feel for his pregnant fiancee.RIP Ola

3. so sad and terrible, no first aid in such kind of environment? people need to wake up and put others into consideration. may God console his family and his pregnant lady. RIP Ola

4. It's such a pity..

RIP Mr Ola

5. All these private companies sabi use people. Chai! Rip man!

6. Quincy Wept,chai my country Nigeria.Which way ooooo.Rip 2 my Ola & may God console his pregy wife.

7. Am sure it is being owned by lebanese or by indians. yeye people. We dont have labour union, no trade union to tackle these idiots that makes Nigerians to suffer because of the peanuts they pay them.

RIP Ola. Hope your fiance find succor in the Lord. Comfort to your family.

Ambode oya ooo do the needful

1. The labour union has been bribed. What will d employees do?

8. Useless government that will recieve bribe and look the other way,R.I.P.to the dead..
    Oh my!! Cant even begin to imagine how his fiancee is feeling now..are we sure the guy wasn't athsmatic

9. Na wah oh!,..
    What is happening in Nigeria bikonu?....see what Buhari has caused!...
    I don't want to believe that the company cannot afford to put AC in Their ware house...
    This is wickedness oh!..
    Chai!...
    RIP to the dead...

1. This your hatred for Buhari is making u stupid. RIP to the dead.

2. Queen of her village... You need deep deliverance. I will pray for you so that you can be useful to yourself and the country.
      Anyone that has replaced your brain with pasta, shall return it in Jesus' name.

RIP Ola.

10. RIP ola.

That's how a bakery belongings to Lebanese guys locked their Nigerian staff in the bakery for Four days in Abuja. There offense being that they did not resume early on that day. #onlyinnigeria

1. Height of corruption. Locking them up in their own country? What pride do we have left in Nigeria. How many common men can say they are enjoying benefits of citizenship ?

2. This is unbelievable!
      I am not even going to blame Indians,Chinese and Lebanese here.I blame our
      Govt.

3. The bakery is still operating even after the media and police carried the matter on their head like Gala. Our govt is to blame. The lives of Nigerians means nothing to our govt. Big shame.

4. Same way chocolate Royale is still operating, after all said and done. Till someone dies from their food poisoning before they get to act on it.

11. The poster isn't lying. I hope it's not the same Mr ola that delivers stuff. Rest in peace

12. God have mercy and may his soul rest in peace.the government really need to look into this matter,there are no job.please create employment before someone dies of frustration.Bvs please I really need a job,am in lagos

13. This is not good, thought they had changed their policies.

14. This comment has been removed by the author.

1. No one is asking you where you work,just say RIP and move on.

2. Ur AIG IS AN America International Group. Doesn't mean Americans head Jumia. They are just under AIG. I pity those working with those deadly cowards. May God provide an escape route to a better Job. Amen

3. That's very true. That's how most of their offices are; like warehouses. It's horrible. They literally stand to do their work. Theres no fan talkless of AC. Their working hours are horrible. Some even do night shift. In PH they were even robbed and the staff present tied up. And every day they remit nothing less than 4m into their accounts. Their MDs are shitty,useless and greedy people. We have no enforceable laws guarding employment/employees if not this won't be happening... It is well

4. Over sabi... AIG .

Africa Internet Group.
      Thank me later!!

5. Blogbrity you work as a front desk officer at the Honda Place in VI abi? No let me type, you hear, no let me type because you will run away from this blog. She-goat.

6. Oh really Tessy? I actually worked for AIG direct but in the UK though. I worked with them by selling insurance to Barclays bank customers. We were the official sponsors of Man U.. lol...I think they still are. Waoo.. great stuff. Nostalgia

7. And yes AIG is American but they sell their insurance all over

8. But blog brity is a dunce na, receptionist that spends all her time chatting with her boyfriend, dropping comments on blogs or surfing the net. Utter dunce. Doesn't even know the meaning of 'field day' or AIG but runs mouth like a spoilt tap.

9. honda doesn't have positions as front desk officer OLODO @anon14:12

Moreover u can go there n ask Ull hear the new development about Me... Go n search for ur ancestors @honda

10. Blogbrity AIG is actually Africa internet group

15. These companies behave the way they do because they know the law does not work in this country.

Nobody sues anybody here.if companies here were being sued for everything they are worth, they would have been more humane.

Una go oyibo man land, you are slaves to him.oyibo man come your land nko? You still a slave.

Na wah!

May the soul of the dead rest in peace.

1. Just the other day a Chinese wizard cut of the finger of a Nigerian staff. Akamkpa police division claimed he was arrested and released on bail to settle with the abused outside court. We know it's a lie. They bribed the police n no one was arrested.

Useless ppl everywhere

2. @ North, the aftermath of slavery.
      @Blogbrity, cut off a person's finger? For what?

3. He didn't turn on d gem on time when there was an abrupt disconnection of power by PHCN @nwaamaka

4. I read it too but didnt have the liver to open the page and read it full. These pple wicked mehn.

16. Hmmm...

May God grant the family left behind the fortitude to bear the loss.

17. This is the way 80 percent of companies or industries in Nigeria operate..
    Corruption has eaten deep into the system, at the end of the day they'll freely walk the streets of Lagos n nigeria.

Why should a foreigner enslave a bonafide Nigerian? This can never happen in their country.

RIP OLA

18. Chia na wah oh see me crying for job! Hmmm if naa so work b then I nor work oh. RIP Mr OlA.

19. A situation where the rich feed on the poor!

20. What a sad loss.

R.I.P to the deceased.

21. Hmmm.....it is well. That's how bristow helicopters was bringing in expatriates that can never measure up to their nigerian counterparts and were gradually letting go of the Nigerians. I believe there's a labour law guarding against all these rubbish. It's time to enact it, instead of enacting laws that takes 50 naira from an already stiffled populace. RIP Mr Ola.

1. My dear that's not true I work there and am proudly Nigerian

2. Pls learn to type with facts madam flakkie the liar. Bristow has been sponsoring Nigerian pilots for like 4/5yrs now FREE. See how she sharply typed with authority like she knows shit. Mtschewww

22. How long shall they kill our people while we stand the side and look? Some say it's just a part of it you got to do the job... won't you help me to lament? The song of suffering is all I want to end...

23. This is serious oh! NLC is a joke oh...I really miss the days of Comrade Oshomole. This nonsense won't be happening,all these trashy yeye death traps of a company won't be misbehaving. Who still dey patronize Jumia? Msheww

24. Minister of labour should help us chase away outsourcing from our companies, and nigeria govt should be actively involve in the welfare of its citizen

25. Chai RIP Mr Ola. Chai.
    My heart goes 2His poor fiancee.
    Chai...

Now I get it.I get it.a friend was telling me a couple of weeks ago that her pal won "BEST STAFF AWARD" and was headed to Dubai to enjoy,tickets and hotel accommodation all settled of course. We got talking and she mentioned d coy was Jumai.

I remember thinking "Wow! Jumai?dats cool!"

But i also remember she also said dey "pay dem well" but the work is STRESSFUL. In her words "If u work there,u won't have a life of ur own.

Now going by this story,I now know better.

1. Jumia staff aren't paid well oh! I don't know what your friends pal is talking about

2. TGW, they only pay some selected few well. The rest are handed peanuts. Very stressful workplace.

26. Rip to d dead.

I have been to two of Jumia's warehouses and the place is far from hot. I didn't check if there were acs but there were uncountable number of fans.

Well, maybe he's referring to a different warehouse

27. Very sad news from almighty Jumia. I am still waiting for the television and speaker i ordered. REST IN PEACE OLA

28. Nigeria my country where nothing works!! Chai !! Abroad is d place to be jare.. D whites don't joke with d lives of their citizens but blacks are something else hmm

29. Our country is a big joke. No regulatory body that can caution or checkmate all this ill treatment. That was how I got invited for a job somewhere in Ikeja, only to get there and meet a large crowd. Then we were seated only to be ask stupid questions from incompetent f***s. Was asked to go for second stage and then the lecture began, ooo, they started marketing themselves. People can just get away with anything in this country. Made up my mind there and then to go into my own thing, no matter how small. RIP to the dead. But as it has been said now, what will anyone do about it? If they even try, won't Jumia bribe their way out? This country is messed. There is no aspect one can even say is average. Unemployment, security, food, transportation, light, good roads, health.... Nothing works. and no one should start mentioning Apc/Pdp, it didn't start today!

30. I know Jumia warehouse, hot is understatement. I usually tell the workers they are trying I can't stand the heat. They have poor facilities for their staffs. May the soul of Mr Ola rest in peace. What a loss to the family

31. Thanks Stella i watched à repoterage on a french 📺 #TF1 abt this #Jumai owened à frenchman. Thé reportages was showing us how those working there earned 1500euros à month and i was like ! And those working there treated with respect they work 10hrs à Day ! Rip to him. Nwaowerri from paris.

32. I now believe some of these blog stories ,
    i was there for a meeting yesterday and the place was extremely hot , i ask my contact if this is how they stand all day in this hot atmosphere all he did was smile . because some of them actually stay in a segment called office area air conditioned and comfy. God will ask the management of Jumia of the death of this poor guy. sometimes i give up on nigeria- people in Power hardly read about what is going on , they are busy stealing money! AWON WERE !

33. I now believe some of these blog stories ,
    i was there for a meeting yesterday and the place was extremely hot , i ask my contact if this is how they stand all day in this hot atmosphere all he did was smile . because some of them actually stay in a segment called office area air conditioned and comfy. God will ask the management of Jumia of the death of this poor guy. sometimes i give up on nigeria- people in Power hardly read about what is going on , they are busy stealing money! AWON WERE !

34. I now believe some of these blog stories ,

35. I now believe some of these blog stories ,

36. RIP Ola...... NLC is just there collecting bribes from these companies and looking other way..... it's not only Jumia.... all those companies run by Chinese, Indians and Lebanese are slave drivers

37. Oh my God! May his soul rest in peace. The government needs to look into this as soon as possible.

38. I am extremely sad at this news. Yes, staffs are not being treated right, they work tireless and do all the jobs, yet the oyinbo's take the glory. i suppose they should have human resource department, one wonders if they actually do their jobs. RIP Mr Ola.

39. its not slave trade as we know it but i assume the writer means its unhealthy or not a conducive working environment which can be bettered. and the writer/jumia staff can take action - strike, no one goes to work, but i bet that no one will bell the cat, am sure all you staffs resumed work the following day - even the writer.
    However, really sad to hear and may his soul rest in peace. *Y.S.*

40. its not slave trade as we know it but i assume the writer means its unhealthy or not a conducive working environment which can be bettered. and the writer/jumia staff can take action - strike, no one goes to work, but i bet that no one will bell the cat, am sure all you staffs resumed work the following day - even the writer.
    However, really sad to hear and may his soul rest in peace. *Y.S.*

1. U re ryt. Infact immediately d incident happened, we were assked to go back to work. And den it is slave trade plus bad workin conditions.

41. I HATE JUMIA! NOTHING WILL EVER MAKE ME PATRONIZE THEM. Tufia

42. Staff locked in a bakery in Abuja? Thats very cruel. Let the oppressed in Abuja go to Sheriff plaza to see Ordinary Ahmed. The program is called Brekete Family. Ordinary Ahmed will take up your case and shame your oppressors. Its as simple as that.

43. Nigerians keep blaming the government for mishaps such as this yet, they still buy from them. Google boycott of primark and Nike when citizens found out about working conditions of the staff. Stop buying from Jumia. Begin to demand for your rights. All staff decide not to go to work one day. Have secret meetings, go and lock up the ware house. For there to be a revolution, extreme measures have to be taken. I know it sounds hard,but now that govt isn't working , begin to demand the justice yourselves. Thank you

1. This "scorned staff of jumia" should shut up. Yeah there are supposed to be certain health rules and codes for staff,but if there are non in jumia,then the staffs should protest. As for the top exes living in posh houses......my dear be inventive and innovative. Be an employer of labour and also get to that level and also get to live like so. Rip to the dead.

44. RIP Ola.... He was buried this morning

45. RIP to Ola.

I am sure everyone in Jumia is sad about this development but it is very irresponsible to blame the company without even asking about Ola's health history.

The Day Nigerians will investigate before dropping comments then we are heading forward.

Jobs are tough but nobody in Jumia is being treated like slaves. #Fact

If you have never been to any of the warehouses, you should not be throwing blame based on 'them say them say'.

Ola died whilst working on his laptop sitting down.

1. God will judge u for these lies. Ola's spirit will hunt u. I'm sure u are one of dose sellin us in Jumia just bcos of wat u will eat. Nemesis will catch up with u soon. Idiotic somborry

46. @ portable , if the working condition is bad that's when we all have to speak up as one Nigeria to fight this. This so called expatriates will not have such a warehouse with horrible conditions in their own home country. They will get fined for it. The Nigerian Government need to do something about this things. Yet they want the Nigerians abroad to come home and make the country better when they can't even defend the citizens back home. What happened to all the law makers, safety inspectors and the rest? #speakupNigeria #fightforNigerians

1. 95% of dose workin under these conditions are Graduates. When dey bring their Felloow lebanese/indians, they fix dem in AC tight offices. U can never see dem in d warehouse

47. so black people go to the white man's land and treated as a slave, then even in your own land foreigners are slaving you about. we all need to adhere to the laws for them to work. i hope this is a lesson learned to Jumia and other companies . RIP Ola

48. Why do this expatriates treat locals like this? It is so unfair

49. Is it only Jumia...almost all the big Nigerian firms are heartless
    ...GSK,etc...they pay peanuts to staffs even delay it....right now we've not been paid January's peanut salary....We borrow to go to work and they want employees to give their 100%..

50. Not just expatriates...the Nigerian senior staff are the worst...they are devils...

51. Jumia doesn't pay well o. It's just the name dt is sellin. I signed a 4-month contract with dem (to be renewed or terminated after four months) last year February and till now, notin is being said about it. It's either r standing or walking from one end of d warehouse to d other for 12 hours @ a strecth. No fans, no A/Cs. We work extra time evryday but @ d end of d month dey will still short pay us claimin dt we r payin for items dt got missin. We don't get bonuses, no encouragement. They treat us like animals. Nobody is happy workin wiv dere but wen there r no jobs ouut there, wat can we do? Ola died bcos of d stress. If he had stayed @ home dt day, he wud av been dismissed. To think dt I saw him about 5 minutes b4 it happened is shocking. Pple are really suffering. Our govt shud Pls come to our aid!!!

52. That's why I love Konga 😁😁😁😁 Well, RIP to the dead. I will never place an order on Jumia again! Even their delivery man stylishly complained to us about the situation in their company. Even before now, i already know that Jumia is heartless! Jumia is callous!. I hate them so much!

53. will all the ones here so willing to express their opinions show some respect to the deceased! and check your facts before putting blame on anyone.

ola had a health contidition and he died of heart attack whilst sitting down in a room with air conditioning working on his laptop.

for god sake, please allow ola rest in piece and allow his wife and family to mourn in privacy

54. RIP ola. What a wicked world! #sigh#

55. What a wicked world! RIP ola.

56. Ola suddenly grabbed his chest and slumped at work {JUMIA IKEJA} @ about 1.30pm. Everything was caught on tape so there is evidence. He was taken from Ikeja office and brought ALL THE WAY to Lagos Island General Hospital. How wicked can those INDIANS SLAVE DRIVERS AT JUMIA be. They left Ikeja General, Ilupeju, Bariga, even surulere and headed to Lagos. Ola could have still been alive today. But we thank God for his life and we cannot question God. But JUMIA must pay for this negligence. His family/next of kin not notified till 6.30pm. These indians must leave Nigeria or treat us well.People will say if you are not happy resign, well we must survive and need jobs.

57. I was a staff at Jumia and would categorically tell you that the warehouse is hot as hell. I once asked some of the guys that were assigned to work there how they manage to cope in such a very hot environment that disallows people from sitting down even when they are tired. Apoorva the head of Jumia warehouse is so wicked that he will fire anyone that dare question his indian authority.

58. I was a staff at Jumia and would categorically tell you that the warehouse is hot as hell. I once asked some of the guys that were assigned to work there how they manage to cope in such a very hot environment that disallows people from sitting down even when they are tired. Apoorva the head of Jumia warehouse is so wicked that he will fire anyone that dare question his indian authority.