Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Signs Bill Conferring Immunity On Lawmakers And Others

Saturday, January 27, 2018

President Buhari Signs Bill Conferring Immunity On Lawmakers And Others

President Muhammadu Buhari on Friday signed eight bills earlier passed by the National Assembly into law. The brief signing ceremony was held inside the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The Senior Special Assistant to the President on National Assembly Matters (Senate), Senator Ita Enang, briefed State House Correspondents after the President signed the bills into law.

Prominent among the bills signed into law is the Legislative Houses (Power and Privileges), Act 2018. The Act grants members of Legislative Houses in the National Assembly and State Houses of Assembly immunity from litigation for actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings of the House or committee.

According to Enang, the law is meant to strengthen the power of the legislators to carry out their legislative functions.

The powers include powers to summon any person to appear before her, give evidence, including power of an officer of the legislative House to arrest any person who commits an offence against the Act.

Another law the President assented to was the National Senior Citizens Centre Act, 2018. The Act establishes the National Senior Citizens Centre in the country to cater for the needs of senior citizens.

Edited From punch

*Oh dear!!!

6 comments:

1. "actions taken in plenary or committee proceedings", OK. I don't think that's so much to worry about. I had initially thought the law was intended to grant lawmakers immunity against actions taken before they were sworn in such as electoral or other kinds of fraud. But let's see how this plays out.

1. abi.. that was what I 💭, had to continue reading before I got the gist.

I think the subject heading deceived both of us

Mc pinky

2. @Rappa...same here. The heading is quite misleading.

2. Eeya Buhari has finally done what he wanted to do all these years. He has signed the senior citizen act. Awwww. Now he can retire to one of their centers. What a productive presidency fo you Sir.