Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Judge Dissolves 28 Year Old Marriage Over Allegation Of Witchcraft And Lack Of Love

Saturday, July 06, 2019

Judge Dissolves 28 Year Old Marriage Over Allegation Of Witchcraft And Lack Of Love

What a story!!!

An Ekiti Customary Court sitting in ‎Ikole-Ekiti, Ekiti State has dissolved a 28-year-old marriage between Mrs Bisi Laidi and her husband, Ogundele.

According to the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN), earlier, the ‎petitioner told the court that the respondent was the father of all her eight children and that no dowry was paid on her by the respondent.

Bisi prayed the court to dissolve their marriage on the ground of lack of love.

“I am tired of being referred to as Ogundele’s wife.
My husband changed his attitude towards me in 2011 when we lost one of our children, “Bisi said.

The petitioner said the respondent accused her of witchcraft and the killing of their child.

“Ogundele doesn’t give me rest of mind and has turned our children against me. I can no longer move freely in the neighbourhood, “she said.

Bisi said that she could no longer reconcile with Ogundele as their dispute had been on for years.

The petitioner prayed the court to award custody of their youngest child to her if the respondent permits it.

The respondent, a farmer, denied calling the petitioner a witch.

“Even though I once suspected she was possessed, I never called her a witch.
Bisi kept complaining of being spiritually tormented shortly after the death of our son.I am not responsible for her lack of peace. My parents paid Bisi’s dowry in 1989, but I don’t know the amount paid, “he said.

The respondent told the court that the petitioner neglected their children’s welfare and was living an adulterous lifestyle.

Ogundele, however, agreed to the dissolution of their marriage and sought custody of his children.
The court president, Mrs Yemisi Ojo, dissolved their union, saying that the disputes between the parties were irreconcilable.

Ojo, however, awarded custody of all their children to the respondent.

The court president ruled that the respondent ‎shall be responsible for the upkeep and education of their children and permitted them to visit or spend holidays with their mother if they so wish.
from tribune

7 comments:

1. Na wa o. God will not allow anyone deprive me of my childrens love in Jesus name, Amen. it is well with marriages

2. They weren't even married. May both parties find peace.

3. I wonder what the reason was that all the children went to the man? Man that did not suffer one minute of morning sickness, no change in his body, felt no pain in the labour, yet he gets to keep all the children. What a life.

1. This is normal in Nigeria, when a man requests for custody of children, he will get it. Even if he's never been the primary caregiver. This usually happens unless the woman is more connected than he is and gets people to influence the decision or it's documented that the man is useless( like a convicted criminal)

That's why when men like Ik Ogbonna and Churchill come out in public to say their ex wives are depriving them of their kids you should eye them. Because they can just go to court and get custody of the kids but they're happy being deadbeats in real life and painting other pictures in public