Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Genevieve Nnaji's Movie 'LionHeart' Disqualified From The OSCARS By the Academy

Tuesday, November 05, 2019

Actress Genevieve Nnaji's Movie 'LionHeart' Disqualified From The OSCARS By the Academy

The Academy has disqualified Nigeria’s “Lionheart” from the Oscar race in the Best International Feature Film category, dropping the number of films competing for the award to 92 from what had been a record 93 entries.

This year’s field is now tied with 2017’s as the largest in the category’s history. Snce “Lionheart” was made by actress-turned-director Genevieve Nnaji, its disqualification drops the number of female directors in this year’s race to 28, which is still a category record.

It was the first film ever submitted to the Oscars by Nigeria.

“Lionheart,” in which Nnaji also stars, is partially in the Igbo language of Nigeria. But it is mostly in English, which violates an Academy rule that entries in the category must have “a predominantly non-English dialogue track.”

The film had not been vetted by the Academy’s International Feature Film Award Executive Committee in advance of the Oct. 7 announcement of qualifying films but was recently viewed and determined not to qualify in a category that until this year was known as Best Foreign Language Film.

One other film, Afghanistan’s “Hava, Maryam, Ayesha,” had been deemed ineligible before the list of qualifying films was announced. It was denied a spot on the roster of contenders over questions about the legitimacy of the Afghan committee that submitted it.

The Academy announced the disqualification of “Lionheart” to voters in the category in an email on Monday. The film was scheduled to screen for Academy voters in the international category on Wednesday in a double bill with the Honduran entry, “Blood, Passion, and Coffee.” That film will now screen by itself at the Linwood Dunn Theater in Hollywood.

“Lionheart,” in which Nnaji plays a woman who tries to keep her father’s struggling company afloat in a male-dominated environment, is currently available on Netflix.

Frontrunners in the category include South Korea’s “Parasite,” Spain’s “Pain and Glory” and France’s “Les Miserables.”
from the wrap.com

101 comments:

1. Imagine,saying it wasn't an English movie,pls what is our official language?

1. Waooooooooo this broke my heart 😑😑😑😑😑😑😑

I love the movie

2. Go back and read again Tenth. Its in the category of foreign movies so shouldnt have more English than the foreign language. Lion heart has more English than Igbo so????

3. This is embarrassing, Nigerians and their illegitimacy.

4. This broke my heart when I saw it this morning. It’s the first thing you see on google. So sad!

Keep your head up Genevieve. Try again with another movie. I am sure you will clinch that Oscars some day. Rooting for you!

2. Good.
    Now we can drink water and drop cup.

1. That's why some women will never be successful because of the hate and jealousy for other women.If you don't like to see your fellow women progressing and doing exploits,how do you expect to progress yourself??.That's why some women will depend on their husbands/boyfriends till thy kingdom come and still be treated like trash.

2. Contrary to public opinion that movie was bland. Compared to other foreign movies submitted Lion Heart seems quite shallow. Rules are rules,it could have been at least 50 minutes of Igbo and less English sophistication. My opinion.

3. You are always droppong negative comments every time. That is how people attract negativity to themselves.

4. @ Bianca, i am sure you are ok, you see we Nigerians we are enemies to ourselves

I pray people don't laugh @ your down fall

5. Why do we always whip up emotions and sentiments when we don"t do well and find it hard to accept objective criticisms? She wrote her own opinion and you are throwing the women not raising each other card.. Nonsense.. it is her own opinion.. Nigeria is still where it is because we are blinded with mediocre emotions.. the Academy is NOT African or Nigerian Awards and they have Standards and they Adhere to those standards not here where we just bamboozle our ways and feel in mediocrity. They are NOT moved by all these silly emotions.. Go and Google movies that have won that category in the past and then Compare.. we should be telling Nnaji and other movie makers to try harder the next time and not these stupid Rants here. We are always good at emotional and Religious outburst and we are still No where..

6. Bianca Bruno, that is so "nice" of you. Do you think Lionheart isnt worth it? Try leaving Bruno's dick and go do waka pass to see if its easy to direct a movie. We are so proud of Genny's effort whether recognized or not. Next time, ask if she "needs a cup of water", as a sister, please.

7. Anon 11.17. Very good. We should be telling Nnaji and other movie makers to try harder. Very correct. But that doesn’t mean we should be happy at another person’s misfortune either.

8. Anon 11:17, ITK won't kill you okay. People are against what bianca said and not lion heart been disqualified.
      You are the one ranting, why write such long epistle?

9. 11:17 you got that right.
      My thought was just that. Let this spur Genevive and other Nigerian movie producers on to do more work, research and compete with internationally acclaimed producers.

I've always thought Lionheart would have faired better if Genevive collaborated with Chimamanda Adichie as her script-writer.
      There is always a next time. Don't give up.

10. Anon 14:06 Chimamanda is NOT a scriptwriter. That is an entirely different skill. When Chimamanda's book was turned into a movie, she did NOT write the screenplay.

1. How is it sad,rules are rules.
      It's not Nigerian that we flout rules because the producer of the film is our friend or colleague. The film has more of English than igbo.
      Anyway,better luck next time.

4. Can they even make a sentence without using an English or Yoruba word?,!s it not from their copy copy of others that started making them even speak their own language more. Lol, you can’t copy everything in life.

1. They are on about the truth

2. Cyclone, don't wallow in mediocrity. @8:46 is right. *Copy-copy* mentality of most Nigerians diminishes their ingenuity. Sad!

Take constructive criticism in good faith and improve. The world is a global village and you need to excel at what you do to compete with the best people from all over the world.

5. I don't like the movie at all

1. It is very boring but we like the owner of the movie so we show support.

6. So the problem is the category it was nominated in “Best Foreign Language Film”, too bad. They spoke mostly English and it can’t win in that category. Better luck next time.

7. Finally people that know what a good movie is not some overhyped shit

1. You don't get it. Read again.

2. She is not the reason for your miserable life ok

3. Voltrons
      Your life must be hella miserable to call mine miserable. Anuofia!

4. Must you be obtuse? Most of the dialogue was done in English, it was nominated in a category for foreign language, thus it didn't make the cut.

Read to understand and stop the hate.

8. Lionheart wouldn't have won anyway. Compared to most of the other movies in the same category, it was mediocre at best.

1. I couldn't agree more! Very Mediocre movie. Thank God i watched it on Netflix. King of Boys would have been a better choice. Awon ti Genny abuse me all you like ooo, not coming back to read your useless comments. Bye!

2. Thank you! Nothing special to be honest.

3. Yes it was in comparison to others. However Genevieve keep it up!

4. Well said @kamikaze

5. You see Kami, in my opinion, the storyline has been over flogged so it wasn't fresh. Hence, no element of surprise, nothing to look forward to and no wow factor.

It simply felt like a script from 10yrs ago that was rebranded...

6. Anon 9:46please come back and read comments. King of what? King of boys ke? That movie was a waste of approx. 3 hours. I understand it is your opinion, but please Odunlade's yoruba movie gan is better than King of boys...with Sola Sobowale's over-acting and Adesua's 'trying to match over-acting'...'low budget the godfather'. Please King of Boys was overhyped jare.

9. To me the film was not OSCAR worthy enough. However Genny you are doing a great.

10. People wey sabi

11. I remembered I had said it here before that for any Nigerian movie to get Oscar award 💯 attention, it has to be made in one or multiple Nigerian dialects.

There's no way they will accept our movies in English language, especially a movie that wasn't well subtitled.

Genevieve darling, you have gotten all eyes on you now, you can do it again and even better. Make a very well put together movie in any of Nigerian dialects with good actors that can also speak multiple Nigerian dialects and are good with their crafts.

We will get there.

1. Welcome Ms. A. Good to have you back. How's the lil Prince.

2. She and other producers should take notes and act in accordance.

Someday, Nigerian movies will win Oscars.

3. This is how to criticize and not bring being hard on her, I believe she will do better in the next one.

4. Thanks anonymous 09:55, my boy is doing great.

🤗🤗😘😘

Yes anonymous 10.03, they should take note and act

5. Rules are rules....
      I like Genevieve as an actress and I can't wait to watch her in Farm with Kate Beckingsale* abi whats her name and the rest. That film will definitely be Oscar Nominated.
      But you see that Lion Heart,the film is boring....mediocre at best make we talk true. Same storyline as any Nollywood movie. The picture quality,cinematography and productive is good though but the film is bland.

12. Hmmm, Nigerians are full of haters.

I know people like Adesua Etomi, Banky W, kemi Adetiba, Tope Oshin and their likes are happy.

Haters can be happy for now but I know that Genevieve will conquer at last

Genevieve, keep moving! Don't let anyone or thing bring you down.

Victory is sure for Genevieve because it's not over yet.

1. How do you that the names you stated in your comment are Genevive's haters and are happy with that happened?

Can you please enlighten me, I ask because this is coming as a surprise to me.

LEP😛

2. You know?!
      How do you know these people are happy?
      False accusation is bad!

3. The only hater right now is you. An international nod is a win for all, this ain't just about Genevieve.

4. Some Nigerians hate anything igbo

5. The hate on the Jews of Africa is annoying

6. Remove kemi Adetiba from your mouth, that lady is not your mate.. slimy hater

7. Nobody hate igbo, you guys hate yourselves but blame others for your own problems. You're arw the real haters.

8. Yes they all hate and are jealous of Genevieve and i know it because we have mutual friends. Kemi Adetiba, Mo Abudu, Mr and Mrs big forehead and co can and will never be like Genevieve.

I say she should continue and get herself good partners/investors, i didn't say a big daddy.

9. What is this one saying.....Deluded much.
      Pls put some respect on Mo Abudu and Kemi Adetiba's name. Level get level pls.

10. What is wrong with some of you? Can you just allow me to comment in peace?

I said what I said and I will say it again.

Kemi Adetiba, Adesua Etomi, Banky W, Tope Oshin including Mo Abudu are happy at the moment because Lion heart was disqualified.

And who is Kemi Adetiba and Mo Abudu , what type of nonsense level do they have? You people should stop typing rubbish under my comment.

Genevieve is still moving forward and higher.

11. Are they envious of Genevieve? Yes. But when you know Haman is chasing you, why will you bring your own leg out?

It's not really a secret that Mo Abudu has serious issues. I don't know if she was like this from when she did "Moments With Mo" and she was hiding it. Or if something snapped in her later. But this is now a woman who has a pathological need to "be the only 🌟 in her sphere". Someone who can't handle the possibility of her own daughter outshining her - is to be pitied in every ramification cos she's not well in the head or soul. But Lionheart had no business getting submitted in that category, if at all.

Some years ago, Katherine Heigl refused to submit her name for Emmy consideration because she said she didn't feel the material she was given (on Grey's Anatomy where she was working at the time) warranted an Emmy nomination. Although Heigl is rumoured to be a difficult actress to work with, she proved that you don't have to attend every party you're invited to. If you recuse yourself from a place you shouldn't be, you will not die.

Was it not recently that Yul Edochie basically said how award organisers should stop deceiving recipients and increasing their sense of entitlement of people who can't act or sing? It's this kind of mentality that makes some Nigerians unable to cope on an international stage. Couldn't Genevieve herself have read the rules and withdrawn her own film when she realised she didn't qualify? Do you know how that would have boosted her credibility cos she would have been seen in a different light? Instead, she's been reduced to pretending to be a victim and some people are encouraging her to make a fool of herself.

Genevieve, if you read this - respect yourself, biko. If you intended or hoped from the start to get Lionheart any Oscar hope, you would have followed the rules for whatever category you were targeting. Not jumped in the fray in the middle. The Academy didn't victimise you; the Nigerians who submitted your film are your real haters. When a rightful king is being sought, sensible kingmakers don't manage just anything just "so that people will not say the throne is empty".

12. You are actually a disgrace mentioning peoples name and tagging them haters because you think they are in the same or higher standard as Genny hence they hate her or are competing. Because they aren't famzing Genny left and right does not make them haters. The few times Adesua and kemi Adetiba congratulated Genny she did not reply or like their comments. Everyone has ego, you dont expect them to like her ass.

13. Bad news indeed travels fast. When the movie was nominated didn't see it everywhere the way I'm seeing this one.

1. That's because the heart of man is very wicked

2. Don't you know that some Nigerians are bitter souls, always craving for bad news to massage their miserable lives.

3. Pls fear God.. that nomination news was every where, why are you lying? to score cheap points?? Nawa

4. @Anon 10:11 I usually don't respond to people under my comments especially if it has negative energy but I'll respond to yours. You must be a dimwit if you think I'm trying to score cheap points. With who please?

When the movie was nominated it travelled but not as fast as this one travelled, in case you lack comprehension skills. I made that comment before 10am and I've already seen the news on all the social platforms I visit. The nominations wasn't like that, it took time and even came with an outcry from some people.

Next time before you accuse someone of lying make sure you wear your thinking cap.

14. The person or people who submitted the movie, should have read and understood the Academy's rules before submitting it in that category.

Rules are rules.

15. But English is the official language of Nigeria. Don't they know that?

1. It was nominated under 'foreign language' category. Get it now?

16. The film is just there...i prefer gold statue to it

17. Nigerians like to celebrate mediocre... Lionheart is no where near Oscar standard, secondly that category is known for language other than English. International film category is non English movies, clearly stated.

1. Thank you! Celebrating something that shouldn’t have been nominated in the first place. Contrary opinion means you’re a hater. The movie is not Oscar worthy abeg

2. I didnt know this, so why did they submit the movieknowing full well it did not meet the set standards?

3. You mind Nigerians? They are there screaming injustice but never really researched why it was disqualified. Many don't even know what The Academy Award is. They don't know the quality of movies presented in the award and how your movie had to be top notch. Lionheart isn't an Oscar standard movie..no lie. You can't compare it to Timbuktu, A separation, Biutiful, Tangerines, the secret in their eyes, the salesman. Watch these movies and you would see what Oscar movies are.

18. Whether Mo Abudu likes Genevieve or not, is a separate issue. Unless you have proof to the contrary, Ms Abudu is not the one that sent anyone to do the equivalent of submitting Physics answers for Biology WAEC exam. Is it that the people submitting it didn't see the rules, or they thought they could manipulate/bribe their way to an Oscar win? Even Genevieve herself, can't she read? No be every invitation dem call you, you appear. Some things are a set-up for your disgrace. Nigerians be acting crazy and calling it "grace" when they get away with it.

1. Well said, epic disgrace all because some cannot read to understand.

2. 12:40 Spot on! 👌
      This poor reasoning is quite pervasive among some Nigerians arising from the effect of a culture of corruption, compromised morals and religious hypocrisy. You think the world would sink to your level?
      Tainted mentality. A bunch of bad apples.

I don't care who doesn't like you/me. Excel!

19. So the Nigerian movie Academy ppl did not know the movie needs to be primarily non-English,? Mtschhw. Maybe they can submit a Yoruba movie next time.

20. The movie was shit though

21. The Academy should have thorougly done their job before nominating the movie or am I missing something. Genevive, there is nothing to be ashamed of. The Academy has rules just follow it next time. Your movie is nice and well translated. Keep it up.

1. It wasn't nominated. It was submitted (along with 92 other entries from other countries), to be considered for nomination. It was weeded out at the first stage cos some people didn't follow the most basic rule: let majority of the film you're submitting not be in English. Maybe they thought "grace" will cover them.

2. Yes it was only Submitted and her team started broadcasting as if it was selected.

See embarrassment of the highest order. What a big shame.

Lies lies and lies. Instead tell g public it was submitted they were lying saying selected. And all the gullible fools fell for it not asking questions like wait ooo, but the selection hasn't happened yet. See what gullible and stupidity will do to your life

3. Nice response Real OA. This is how to respond. Thanks.

22. Mo Abudu does not have the Hollywood clout and foreign Star Power to influence any decision by way of getting the movie disqualified, and I stand to be disputed, if MO Abudu had such Clout, she would have hurriedly produced a movie for the Academy international category and possibly put it in and get a WIN but she can't .. that one is famous locally does not hold water out there . Those of you insinuating she did obviously do not know there is a huge difference between Nollywood and Hollywood.. Mo Abudu ko, Mo Abudu Ni to Near Oscar Academy.. who is she is what they will Ask us..

23. Jenny won already, the present situation is an issue with paddy paddy, who and who are in her circle of influence ?

24. Genevieve and co are silly for crying racism/colonialism on this one. This same thing happened to an Israeli film “The Band’s Visit”
    “It was Israel's original Foreign Language Film submission for the 80th Academy Awards, but was rejected by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences because it contained over 50% English dialogue.”

25. See where your fakeness and pretense ends you.

Oyinbo like authenticity, not fake.

Naija and Nollywood people see your life always forcing English they can't speak in their movies meanwhile many international films have greatly subtitled movies which win Oscar's. I've watched excellent movies while on flight and they were all foreign language with excellent subtitles. No fake pretense like Nigerians.

Oyinbo hate fake.

Be yourself and maybe you'll gain recognition and respect your work deserves.

That movie was not Oscar worthy period.

You can cry all you want and call it hate I don't care.

Fact is fact.

Next time Genny don't be a typical pretentious nigerian, be authentic which means an original 100% igbo movie with excellent subtitles. Period.

26. I'm reading all these typical nonsensical comments from oyall naija illiterates. You think Hollywood tolerates mediocrity like your nollywood You think Oscar Na nollywood
    They don't tolerate mediocre like you swim in.

Next time follow instructions and do a 100% igbo movie instead with English subtitles instead of your repetitive high and mighty I'm a classy lady so my nose in the air type movie she's been doing for years.

Lion Heart is not Oscar worthy period so stop with the bullshit talk. Keep your mediocrity nonsense in nollywood you cant bring that to Hollywood

And by the way why did her team broadcast all those lies if she simply SUBMITTED and had not been selected yet.

Always want bragging rights.

When you submit a job application you don't go broadcasting you have the job if you havent been selected yet.

This is very embarrassing

Ps: Peter okoye the bagger would have put on his Instagram profile. OSCAR NOMINATED ACTOR 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

27. I am beginning to draw a sense from all of these, and l kind of see reason with the Oscar people.
    Originality.

28. Lion heart doesn't deserve a win even locally, whether in English or native language. Let's be sincere, it is just the normal Nollywood-Asaba stories like every other
    Kay

29. Dear Nollywood
    Maybe if you stop all your fake pretentious bullshit and be like Indians in Bollywood who stay true by speaking their own language 100% in the movies the world will respect you. Until then SHUV your mediocrity nonsense up your ass. Always pounding chest with arrogance we are 2 largest movie industry blah blah blah mean while 99% of your movies are shit. Absolutely shit.

I watched an Indian movie on Netflix more Oscar worthy than lion heart and guess how many people starred in this subtitled movie

Only one 2 year old girl. That's it. Hear me when I say, a 2 yr old.

Have you ever watched an excellent movie starring one person, a child for that matter.

Movie Based on true life events. Go Netflix and search for that movie.it's called Pihu. Go and watch it and learn.

We are talking better movies, you people are talking nonsense praising the likes of useless film makers like AY and MO Abudu. All they care about is red carpet events to once again be their pretentious bullshit self, yet all the movies are mediocre at best.

Nollywood has sunk. Get over it. I even prefer old nollywood better

30. Next time once you submit job application don't go bragging you have the job, when you haven even been selected for an interview.

She was there accepting all the thousands of congratulations on her page when she knew damn well, she had only Submitted and selections have not yet been made.

Do you know the thousands of movies SUBMITTED ANNUALLY TO OSCAR'S do you hear any of them bragging they've been selected.

Gullible Nigerians. This is sane way Chika Ike pulled wool over your blind eyes bragging having Harvard degree meanwhile it's was just a $25,000 TWO WEEKS CERTIFICATION Course. Where are her graduation photos. Liar.

Gullible Nigerians