Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu says Mortuaries Are Congested Due To Lockdown And Mass Burials Will Begin...

Sunday, April 26, 2020

Lagos Gov Sanwo Olu says Mortuaries Are Congested Due To Lockdown And Mass Burials Will Begin...

The Governor of Lagos state, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has admitted they might resort to mass burials, as a way to decongest crowded mortuaries in the state.

Sanwo-Olu, while giving an update on the COVID-19 pandemic on Saturday, explained that mortuaries are congested as a result of the lockdown.

However, he made it clear that the deaths were not those of victims of the pandemic.

Aside from the lockdown, Sanwo-Olu also linked the mortuary congestion to the recent Lenten period, during which many Christian bodies forbid burying their loved ones.

“Because of this inability to hold funerals occasioned by the restriction of movement, our mortuaries in Lagos … we are now getting to the peak. And, there is a need for us to have a decongestion.

“If we are not able to see decongestion of the mortuaries across the state within the next two weeks, Lagos State Government might be compelled to seek to have mass burials and we do not want to force this on anyone and that is why we are asking for cooperation,”  
from dailypost

10 comments:

1. Oga face front and "let the dead bury their dead" Matthew 8:22

1. you have been told the next is mass burial after 2 weeks

2. Biko Nigerians should learn to stop keeping corpses for long especially the Ibos.The families won't still agree them go wan carry the body reach East. Anyway na siddon look I dey.
    @rare gem

3. Bodies will soon start lining the streets in Africa

1. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

4. Am sure, the problem will be money. May God provide for them Amen

1. No Yori, I thnk the major part of the problem/setback is the lockdown. Especially the SE & SS who convey the corpse of their relatives/loved ones HOME for burials.the governor should please give more time.