Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Friday, October 15, 2021

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative...

Hmmm....

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
CONFUSED DREAMER

Hello Stella, I hope you share my story so that people can drop their opinions.

Someone else apart from me can also learn and get clarity on a similar issue. Keeping me anonymous will be highly appreciated.

A few years back I listened to a preaching about doing what you are passionate about and being true to yourself so I made the decision to purse a career in film making and acting. It’s always being a dream. I went to film school while still keeping my 9 to 5 job and then finally quit after film school to begin auditioning for jobs. 

To be honest, most of the auditions have gone well but I hardly get a call back.

There is a lot of back door activities going on in the creative industry and I’m not one to bow to pressure.

On one of those bad days as an aspiring actor I just randomly decided to start the process to become a Canadian PR. You know when the Nigerian frustration makes you do something and so far the process has been going well but all of a sudden young filmmakers like me are beginning to reach out for collaborations and I have been wondering what will happen when I eventually get the Canadian PR.

Am I to quit my career in Nigeria and begin another 9 to 5 in Canada? Is there anyway to shuttle between living In Canada and acting in Nigeria? There are so many great things I have planned with my team for 2022.

My mum has been putting pressure on me to ensure that I relocate permanently once I get the PR. She says Nigeria isn’t a good country. I really don’t want to make a decision that I will regret it some years to come.

I’m 27years old, female, I run a business by the side that fetches me 300k naira monthly in profit and that’s enough to sustain me for now. I really want the world to see what I’m capable of doing but then again....

*You run a Business that fetches you N300k monthly in naija? Are you kidding me? I am confused on what to advice so I will be reading comments for now.

57 comments:

1. If u wanna act, be ready to off pant o, unless you will go audition for zion movies.

2. What exactly do you want us to do now? Why go to a film school whilst still nursing the intention of trying to grab a Canadian PR? Are you bemused? I can't really say that i understand your kinda person..Nigeria is not a good country but you are making 300k monthly right? Nawa o!

1. Vincent let me explain to you��

She said she has a passion for acting. She attended film school while working, then she quit her job when she was done with film school in order go for auditions and get jobs but the movie industry was frustrating her. She then applied for Canada PR which is progressing now. Things began to seem bright for her in Nollywood recently and she is confused on which to hold on to.
      I don't know what to advice you poster, let me read comments.

2. There are certain decisions that people shouldn't involve others. You know what you want, if you don't, do more research and pray for guidance. If you move to Canada because people told you to, you'll become bitter and blame them if the going gets tough. If you decide on your own, it's a lot easier to weather the storm as you strive to achieve what you moved there for. Your mum has advised you but you didn't take her advice. Are you seeking for advice that align with what you already want? Maybe you are a dual citizenship already and people are here advising you to go inorder to become one. I've stopped advising people to move to Canada. If with everything going on in 9ja, someone with internet access haven't invested time to research or join forums to learn about the country they are thinking of moving to then you should remain in 9ja. All the best.

3. I will advice to pray and ask God for a discerning spirit...I will not tell you which one to choose but I need to have a full conviction in your heart and once you have peace of mind and inner witness that will be fine....The grass aint always greener, sometimes you just need to water yours to make it greener just like you want...

It is not easy at all making a decision now but make sure your spirit is calm and don't make any hasty decision with tension and pressure...All the best...

4. why not stay in Nigeria then you can expand your business.

1. She doesn’t have to stay in Nigeria to expand her business.poster pls don’t listen to this person o.Go to Canada and pursue your dreams,take care of your business and live your life from there.

2. 15.45 and why should she mind you either? Mschew

5. You are blessed already, what else do you want.. no advise is needed here, follow your heart

6. Ask God for direct you on the path to follow which I believe you won't regret, Shalom

7. There’s no late coming in acting but if you put the chance to better your life and that of your kids on hold,that,you may regret.Get your Canada thing sorted out and continue to be heard through your passion.Once you are able to go to naija without hitches,you can continue your acting career.

8. Since the bad economy is good on your side why not channel the energy to take your business to the next level. Nothing has ever been easy getting. So appreciate the little one this is generating. May God come through for you

9. You can shuttle between Canada and Nigeria after you get your PR. Omoni Oboli is a Nigerian actress based in Canada and she is doing well for herself.

1. Exactly..this advice is valid. You don't have to stay there after you get your PR.

2. Poster take this advice. Get your PR. You don't have to live there permanently

10. I think you are overthinking. Both options are still prospects for now. Just calm down, commit all you've said unto the hands over God and just take each day as it comes.

11. GO TO CANADA, GET YOUR PR AND EVEN CANADIAN NATIONALITY AND THEN GO BACK TO NIGERIA AND ACT. and yes I'm shouting. Don't miss this opportunity. I almost immigrated to Quebec but I ended up in Europe. Still ok. All the best.

12. Would you be kind of enough to share a little bit of your kind of business ideas,or something related to it,so that I can look into it,the sky is so big for all of us to fly,are you open to training others towards that line?
    Thank you

1. Exactly what I want to ask
      Biko help

13. Why not make enough money and become a producer whereby u get script writers and u will give urself the lead role in your own movie. Kenny George, Funke Akindele produce their movies and they give themselvesthe lead role. In Nollywood,na role for hand back for ground. You must be ready to give in to sex. If not, make money and produce ur movie. Or better still go for Big Brother Naija so that u will become known or start doing skits so that u will become famous and producers can start giving u movie roles.

14. Relocate. Get more expertise in film making and acting, diversity is key. Make connections in the film world and get contacts when you are ready to come back to Nigeria. Nollywood has a penchant of favouring (read calling back) IJGB actors.

Good luck.

15. In this type of situation, there can be no wrong or right advice. All options have their pros and cons.
    Are you a Christian? If yes, then it is time to pray. Fast and pray to God to help you make the right decision. This is what I have been doing when I am at a crossroad and he has always spoken.
    If you seek God right now and follow his instructions, even if things get difficult along the line, you will have peace knowing you are following God's purpose for your life. It will be easy to call on God again to make a way.
    Since I discover the important of seeking God's opinion about everything, I feel peaceful even in the midst of a storm.

16. Your future seems bright if you earn more than 300k in naija. Nigeria is not a bad country , just the government policies are not working for the citizens. With GOD on your side, make a choice, you can shuffle the two together. After all, Omoni Oboli and some other actresses live in Canada and make movies for Nigerians

17. Logical advise: go to canada if the ITA comes. The world has become a global village.....you dont have to be a mainstream actress...start doing skit on social media, your film school knowledge will be put to use, find a new business to do while in canada. Do not throw away any opportunity to have a dual citizenship otherwise your children may curse you.

18. Go to God in prayers. Not everyone locating to foreign countries are successful. Just seek Holy Spirit to help you out.

Goodluck

1. You can join the TAMPAN or watchmacalit in Canada and you'll continue your acting there

19. Dear poster please teach us how to catch fish. I'm interested in the business that gives 300k per month. Pls give us ideas so we can also grow. God bless and gat u

20. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

21. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

22. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

23. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

24. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

25. Why not do both? You can pursue your dreams in Nigeria and still get Canadian PR. For example, my mother leaves in Nigeria permanently, yet she holds a green card. She just has to come to the U.S. once a year to ensure her green card is still valid

26. Those of you who actually take major steps in life without the guidance of the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Christ, how do you do it?
    Isn't it like groping in a dark tunnel. There are things that you seek the Lord to find out because he alone knows the future. Jesus is
    the way. When you seek him, in fasting, praying and his Word, he shows you things you do not know.
    Guidance is just one of the things we have in Christ.
    So dear, consider giving your life to Christ if you haven't done so and seek him to know where his Grace will work with you in this life.
    Same with issues around marriage, schooling/career, and other decisions in life.
    Shalom.

27. Please dont listen to anyone asking you to stay.
    What you will ye 1 year to achieve in a normal society you may never achieve with blood, sweat, tears and grey hair in this jungle.
    LEAVE!
    Once I have gone, by Gods grace very soon, na forward ever, backward never.

1. Why should poster listen to you either? Stop imposing your views on others. Comment in peace and leave others to do as well.

28. Pursuing your passion doesn’t stop you from going on with the PR process. That’s your Plan B. Do it, get it, and know if things go south or even if they work well, you still have options. We don’t know where the country is headed…just don’t give up halfway. See it through.

Pearl

29. Pray about it for God to give your the best decision.

30. Be a producer. Produce your own movies. I'm a scriptwriter in Nollywood. Invest in filmmaking. If you get good scripts, produce. If you can act, other producers will give you a role in their own movies.

CKJ

1. CKJ does anybody know you? Mention one Nigerian movie that can stand head to head in an international scene with dead dialogue and deader acting. Actors be speaking as if they are reading their lines from a teleprompter 3ft away.

Biko, if you too get the chance, leave o.

Don't let this country destroy your dreams. That is the only thing it is exceptionally good at.

2. Hi, pls how much are script writers paid? πŸ™πŸΎ I write well and wouldn't mind doing that as a side job.

3. 20.21 stop prophesying negatively into people's lives biko. CKJ and others like him/her will succeed and have their dreams come true even if they remain in Nigeria.

As if it is everyone abroad that is successful. Nonsense.

4. 20.21 does anyone know you too? See you tearing someone's dreams down. CKJ will succeed in Jesus name.

5. If your own dreams were destroyed, don't extend that to others biko.

31. I have been in this situation before. I chose to relocate rather than follow my passion in Nigeria. At first, it was tough as a new immigrant but after a few years, I was glad I made the decision to relocate because I have given my children the opportunity to have more options in life including dual citizenship. So think about the opportunities that exist out there rather than what you only see today. You can always return to Nigeria after achieving your Canadian citizenship or attend film school in Canada. I wish you the very best.