Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oshiomhole Reacts To Viral News That He Caused Brouhaha At Lagos Airport And Alleges Ticket Resell

Thursday, June 12, 2025

Oshiomhole Reacts To Viral News That He Caused Brouhaha At Lagos Airport And Alleges Ticket Resell

Senator Adams Oshiomhole, the lawmaker representing Edo North Senatorial District of Edo State at the Senate, has finally addressed the widely publicized incident at Murtala Muhammed Airport Terminal 1 (Zulu Hall) involving Air Peace staff.
In case you dont read to the end, he alleges that they deny people from flying because they resell the tickets to those on ground who do not have tickets....For example if you bought the ticket for 100k online, before you get there they will deny you boarding cos they have resold your ticket for 200k!!!

Oshiomhole, denied allegations of physical assault, asserting that the incident was blown out of proportion. Speaking with the press on the viral incident, the Senator claimed Air Peace staff were unprofessional, accusing them of overbooking and abruptly closing check-in counters.

He said:

“I booked Air Peace. They delayed the flight for over five hours. In the end, they announced a cancellation. I had to get another ticket. Yesterday, I booked a flight for 6:30 a.m., which is their first flight today. I booked and asked them to check me in online, which I did, along with two other Ghanaians who met me in Lagos. We checked in online just to avoid the last-minute issues I’ve had with them a couple of times.

I got there at about five minutes past six. They told me the counter was closed. I told them, ‘No, I’ve already checked in.’ I showed them the evidence of my online check-in. Even before then, they had asked if I had checked in, and I told them yes, and that I had no luggage. They looked at it but still said the gate had been closed. Meanwhile, I noticed they were still taking other people in.

So, I asked, ‘How can you close boarding for a 6:30 flight at 6:05? What is the purpose of online check-in, then?’ If I had to go through another check-in process, then what’s the point of checking in online?
While speaking to them, I saw many men and women who had been there even before me, with similar experiences. They were selling tickets on the spot at higher prices. I’ll give you an example. 
A lady bought her ticket for N146,000 online. She arrived at the airport at 5:55 a.m. for the 6:30 a.m. flight, after the gatemen had delayed her.
They told her she was late and that the counter had closed for check-in. She said that was impossible, as it wasn’t even 6:00 a.m. They told her she would be put on the next flight. She protested, saying, ‘Why? Put me on this flight.’ But they told her the flight was full and she would have to wait.

Meanwhile, the airline was selling tickets on the spot for between N200,000 and N300,000. To take advantage of the situation, they discouraged those who had bought tickets online at lower rates and sold them to people willing to pay more.

I asked the manager, ‘What is this woman’s crime? She has a baby who’s no more than six months old. How can you refuse to board her when the aircraft is still on the ground and more people are buying tickets?’ You cannot continue like this. Tomorrow, everyone will blame the government. You have regulatory agencies, and they are all compromising. You cannot board people buying tickets on the spot and deny those who booked days ago or checked in online.

By the time the DSS and Air Force personnel came to find out what happened, they intervened and offered to put the woman on the next flight, the same offer they had made to me earlier. But to board that next flight, they told her she would have to pay N109,100. This was in addition to the original N146,000 ticket, meaning she would spend about N256,000 for a one-hour flight to Abuja. There were many others in the same situation, and everyone was shouting at the airport.

I said to the manager, ‘You must follow the rules.’ Many people were stranded, except those who could afford another ticket. I followed the woman to the counter and told her to do whatever they asked. Those of us who were also prevented from flying gathered there. Even when an officer offered me access to a lounge, people around said, ‘Comrade, please don’t leave this is how they’ve been treating us.’
I had to send that woman N500,000. That’s basically what happened. I told them this cannot be allowed. I checked in online and arrived on time. The aircraft hadn’t taken off. I’m not supposed to check in twice. The rowdiness arose because many people were denied boarding while tickets were being sold on the spot to others.”

The new diplomat

16 comments:

1. If you want to sell anything in this country, I mean anything at all, just emotionalize it! It will sell massively.

A woman and her baby have been roped into the tale so that people will see him as a hero. Okay oo

1. What if he’s saying the truth? So far none of us were there, it’s better you sit on the fence or sit this one out! Wtf!!??! I believe Osiomoles story tho’ Air Peace don crase!..

2. Don’t mind all these people. As long as it involves anyone in the APC, they don’t care to know the truth, they will believe anything. I bought return ticket to Malaysia and when I was about to return, I tried to confirm my ticket and the airline told me it had been used and provided no further information. These things happen.

2. Very unprofessional thing to do..
    Is there no laws that guild these airlines?

3. I support Osho on this one! Oshiomole may be controversial, but not to this extent, if Air Peace never show you shege, you won’t understand, but I do and I believe him on a πŸ’―..

4. Who are we to believe now?
    But I've heard about this issue of selling tickets to the highest bidder and telling those that bought online that the aircraft is full.

5. I kinda believe comrade side of the story cos I know for a fact how some of these airlines staffs sees themselves as god! I have been a victim of this extortion before and it's really not funny. Not every time we keep blaming Government when we as a people are worse off.

6. Uncultured old man .πŸ™„πŸ™„πŸ™„

7. Pigin version::

Tor!!!! Osho bobo don finally sorosoke say the witchcraft abi na aircraft, say na their fault oooo,

The former gominatu tok say Him and him other two paddy paddy from Ghana don buy ticket wey them reschedule but for only him to reach airport on time, him just wash him face and leg for morning dey rush so that delay no go dey again.....

Him come say as him reach airport na so the airport officials com dey do am witch witch ontop say him don login online before e waka com post with him cap and sadal, naso osho bobo vex Well well for them, come decided to bring the portable version of himself outside again..say them must stop this magomago because after contri people goo dey blame the
    Corn🌽ment.... while na we dey spoil the contri ourselves

Many Nigerians for airport too stand gidigba with osho bobo on this one because even me myself dem don ever delay later them say make I pay extra money for ticket but I collect my money after 3days I go fly night bus for mazamaza

Inside this tory he talk say Many Nigerians talk say naso them dey do for this witchcraft and e must stop, even for inside the box ring osho bobo still press 500,00p give away for one beautiful anonymous no vex money

Allegedly ooo

Full tory dey inside Sdk

8. The President did not give a speech on June 12, let us manage Oshiomhole's press conference

They would always find a way to distract the youths 🀑

9. His side of the story seems more credible.
    But he must have used gra gra to do his own show of power 😊

10. I don't know why but I believe his side of the story.

1. Same here.

Those airlines actually resell tickets at higher amounts.

11. Air peace staff are so unprofessional. My God there is no way I am using their service anymore. You may not believe Oshiomale until it happens to you. We have to do more in this country, most of our people are very unprofessional in carrying out their duties.

12. Air peace really needs someone to drag them by their balls

13. I was all set to curse him but it sounds like AirPeace fucked up.

I ll fly some one else when I come back then