Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Throwback To Chief Zebrudaya Alias 4:30

Monday, June 23, 2025

Throwback To Chief Zebrudaya Alias 4:30

Chief Chika Okpala MFR (A.k.a Chief Zebrudaya Okoroigwe Nwogbodo alias 4.30) celebrated his 75th birthday on 10 June ,2025 ….
His claim to fame is the popular comedy TV programme  The New Masquerade, which aired from 1983 to 1993.
The new masquerade made sense back then and was a must watch, unadulterated, non toxic programme for the whole family....
I remember his wife Ovularia who used to call him ''Zebby'', I remember Jegede  
''Are you are'' ...LOL

22 comments:

1. And to add it promoted national unity: Chief Jegede (RIP) was an Igbo man yet he nailed the typical Yoruba mannerism....You would literally argue it or is it Madam Ramota (RIP) - great actress that is also Igbo as well.... Interesting comic relief that was so clean....

''Greengory'' and Cletus πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

1. Was Ramota an Igbo woman? πŸ€”

I thought it was ApΓ©nΓ€ Christy Essien Igbokwe - RIP) that was from Akwa Ibom but was married and Igbo man.
      Nice woman. She passed on at age 50.

2. This man! Belated happy birthday to him. God bless and keep him.

My Dad made me enjoy watching him and the rest of them.

I remember;
    - Ovuleria (Gloria) his wife 😊
    - Chief Jegeda Shokoya
    - Clarus
    - Natty
    - Ramota (Jegede's wife)
    - Giringory πŸ˜‚

Good old days abeg...

3. This man and Jegede of blessed memory made my teenage years a memorable one, it is one sitcom I don't miss thankfully NEPA are effective.

4. I loved the show. And then there was Natty that always showed up anytime Jegede wants to eat, and then Jegede's troublesome wife. 🀣

5. Belated happy 75th birthday to a legend. πŸ™πŸΏπŸ˜

6. Ovu lived in Aba, by the railway close to my primary school road. Every morning when we went to school, we may see her, doing her chores and we will call her Ovu. Sometimes she totally snubbed us. Hahaha. Other times, if she was happy, she gave us a little wave. We were all excited that we were privy to be living close to a popular TV personality back then. They were the celebrities of our time.

I remember Willy Willy visiting his relatives in our yard, he is from owerri. Oh my goodness, our street in Aba was like a market that day. I don’t know how words got round that he was in our house and everyone was waiting for him to come out. He stayed until late night and people were still waiting. They had to whisk him away with a car in the midst of firing roaring noise of “willi willi don die, na who kill am..” hahaha this life is a phase TBH.

Then Gregory was from amaokwo item in Abia state. He was my aunt uncle and he visited us all the time. And every time he comes , all the children in our street must gather in our house. No matter how many times he comes, we never get tired of seeing him.

Natty is another person that came to our street but not in our house. But to see a pianist who worked for NTA Aba. Growing up, we had a pianist who was the very first that aba produced that lived in our street. May God rest your soul Mr E. He plays Christmas carols in our street at night when NEPA takes light. And all the children in every yard would sing along. Then Nigeria was good and safe. LIFE OH! Life.

1. Ovu is late now, I think she is from okpu Umuogbo Osisioma Ngwa LGA, that's where the burial took place.

2. I thought Ovuleria lived at Howell's Crescent Aba, close to Constitution Crescent Primary School, Aba? πŸ€”

Clara lived around Uchenna Street or Nweke Street, Aba.

3. Thanks everyone. Most times in Africa, oral literature and history are all the truth that we’ve got.

4. Awwwww...you had lovely memories growing up. Then to cap it, you had celebrities visiting πŸ˜€πŸ‘

Adunni

5. Anno~ 20:19, to answer your question, I don’t know whether she lived in Howell crescent before coming to live in PH Road off railway. That was where we saw her every morning, either washing clothes or fetching water. I think she was married and living with her husband there.

Every child knows she lived there. Sometimes, you see a handful of children congregating around her house waiting for her to come out. I am 100% sure She was Ovu of new masquerade NTA Aba.

6. *Clarus* lived at...not.. 'Clara' (pardon the autocorrect)

11:02 thank you for the clarification. πŸ‘πŸΎ

7. I , Chief Zebrudaya Okoroigwe nwobodo alias 4:30 πŸ˜‚πŸ™ŒπŸ»
    Emi Chief Jegede shokoya
    The only son of the soil
    And by the Grace of God, The youngest Millionaire in the whole Universe 😁

Ovularia will now come her ow.. bia ZebieeeeπŸ˜‚

1. Lol πŸ˜†
      Nk, na you get am pass ✅ I was trying to remember his full name & aliases 🀣

Adunni

8. Ah those were the days. Nigeria was goood then! The cast was just superb! Clarus Ngbojigwe honourable poor man of Umofia was their boss, being the producer and yet he was one of the houseboys. He had this cry, cry voice he always used when Greengory upset him and he had to tell his side of the story. Ovularia with her French phrases always made me smile. Jegede Shokoya got the Yoruba accent and mannerisms down pat. I remember a scene of Chief Gabby dancing to love nwantintin. It was sooo funny. This post has made me go down memory lane abeg

9. Chief Zebrudaya Okoroigwe Nwogbo, Alias 40:30, Nthen! 🀣🀣🀣
    Chika Okpala, Happy 75th birthday and may God grant many more years in divine health in Jesus Christ name. Amen πŸ™πŸΎπŸŽŠπŸŽ‚πŸΎπŸ₯‚πŸŽˆπŸŽŠπŸŽˆπŸŽ‰

Chief Zebrudaya is from Nnobi in Anambra State.

1. Amen πŸ™ Happy birthday to Chief Zebrudaya πŸŽ‚πŸŽ‰πŸŽ‰

Adunni

10. That was a time, not too far gone, when families gathered, not just to eat, but to laugh, to learn, to belong. Evenings lit by the warm glow of the television, not for noise, but for stories. Stories steeped in values, in wit, in truth.
    Shows that carried morals like gospel, sometimes laced with satire sharp enough to prick the conscience. Comedy wasn’t just for laughter - it was a mirror. Those were the days of honest storytelling. When screens didn’t numb us, they woke us up regardless of how dead asleep we are.