ADVICE NEEDED
I did a private wedding and invited it was just a few colleagues that I invited including my friends, family members.
Some of my colleagues have been on this case of talking about not drinking malt or eating rice when I got married cos I didn't invite them.
A woman in my canteen is asking me to buy them drinks and share cos she said they have been talking so much about it and is getting out of hands. Its over 5 months now and this is coming up.
Is there need of buying any drinks to share for them or I should face front and ignore there comments.
We worked with low budget the reason we had something on a low key and not like they will even come or give gift oh.
My colleague who got married January and invited us all, it was 4 persons to contribute self I heard so many comments cos they want to give 1 to 3k to the poor guy. All those things made me to have my low key wedding and face front.
Any need to get them drinks or gift since they keep mentioning that they have not had drink or eat from me regarding the marriage.
Na wah oh...what kind of nonsense is this? It seems that the talks are getting to you so i would advice you to buy them small drinks
I don't get, it was your wedding. I really don't think there's any point in buying drinks to share. What if they thrash it? And about geting them gifts, WHY??? Five months, and they are still talking about it. IGNORE THEM.
ReplyDeleteIgnore them with smiling.
DeleteIgnore them, give it time, the cho cho cho will fade.
ReplyDeleteDear Poster,
ReplyDeleteCongratulations on your marriage!
While a low-key celebration is completely understandable, especially on a tight budget, a simple gesture like offering soft drinks or sharing a few souvenirs with colleagues could have gone a long way in maintaining goodwill at work.....
You can't please everyone, and not everyone would have attended even if invited.... But small acts of courtesy to those you spend most of your time with can make a big difference....
That said, whether or not you now choose to share drinks or gifts is up to you..... Do what brings you peace, not out of pressure, but from a place of goodwill if you feel it's worth it....
All the best....
Why can't they just say their congratulations and move on?
ReplyDeleteIf it's bother you then fine ,if not abeg leave them
My colleagues wedding some people from our office didn't get food or drinks even after all the money spent,we talked about it for some time and forgot about it.You don't have to give them anything since the wedding is over,alternatively you can buy them drinks on your birthday.
ReplyDeleteWe are Africans and whether we like it or not there are community people. Poster, if it won’t hurt you, please buy soft drink and puf puf for ur colleagues, let them be a part of ur celebration. Whether they give u gifts or not, it won’t take away from the fact that they celebrated with you.
ReplyDeleteHappy married life, and i pray this chapter brings forth beautiful things for u and ur home.
Poster please buy cartoon(s) of malt to go round one per person .
ReplyDeleteYou can add gala or biscuit.
So your name and new marriage can rest from their mouths please.
If possible, let the food vendor prepare a meal for them, to permanently seal their mouths, in place of the snacks.
Do it as charity, expecting nothing in return
Thank you, bedings. Poster, pls buy them something you can afford to shut them up off your marriage permanently
DeleteI would've said you should buy them drinks, but it's five months already, just face front, they will keep quiet when they're tired, they can even trash the drinks, because it's been long you got married and just sharing drinks now may be seen as another thing to them.
ReplyDeleteplease ignore them and enjoy your marriage. Even if you give them gifts or drinks they will still say that you gave them this after five months. Allow them talk till they get tired and forget about it. When you give birth just try and invite them finish.
ReplyDeleteYou cannot please humans and displease yourself with your husband. Since your wedding was on a low key with your budget, people should learn to accept things and let it be. If they feel you did not do well they should gift you money to buy them drinks na .
Buy malt and share to them. Don't make sneaky comments regarding the issue. It won't cost you much and would go a long way in making you feel better.
ReplyDeleteCongratulations 🎉.
If you don chop other people wedding drinks for that office, then appease your colleagues!
ReplyDeletethe persons i got drinks from during their wedding i made contributions for it and the other one i attended with my gifts. The last person that got married i made contribution, went around to make sure everyone made their contributions. My wedding he did not gift me anything which i did not expect anything from anyone. He did not give us anything with the invitation card, the contribution we all made about 342k plus and no one could say anything. I don't owe anyone cos i make sure that i give each time any colleague is having any event without expecting anything. They will be alright.
DeleteIf you knew ‘they don’t owe me anything’ and ‘they will be alright’ so why did u bring it here asking for our opinion? Pls next time don’t stress anybody, just do what is on ur mind.
DeletePoster is stingy.. how much is malt again?
Deleteoga if you have money, just do it since they are your colleagues. it's celebration for a good thing
ReplyDeleteBuy them something na
ReplyDeleteYou sef five months
It seems they like you small. Nothing wrong with them wanting to eat your wedding food
Also keep in mind sometimes people keep taking about same thing just to make conversation so don’t let it bother you
I feel they expected alot from u hence talking it after 5months, kindly buy drinks for them
ReplyDeleteThey felt bad that she did not invite them. They asked only for the ' drink '. Let her buy the drink and give them. Even if na mineral..
DeleteMore good to come
If your budget permits it, buy the drinks, even bring a cake or cupcakes so the matter can rest. This is strange, as it is not a part of my cultural practice, but so many ppl are under pressure these days they just want to feel happy about something and have moments where life seems worth living. So give them the drinks and treats if it will give them a moment to feel that they were part of something beautiful.
ReplyDeleteThis side talk will continue to go on so long you are still working there and you will be used as a bad reference point..it is over 5 months.So wait till your first wedding anniversary and share some drinks so it will not look as though you were forced to part with drinks
ReplyDeleteBuy drinks and share to them. Tell you were on a low budget, that is why they didn't get it before now. Pls do it and save yourself from wicked people.
ReplyDeletePoster please get drinks and share if you can afford it, even if it is plastic coke.
ReplyDeleteI plan to have a parlour wedding, it'll only be family, my 3 really close friends and 2 close colleagues from the office but I also plan to get drinks , snacks and a little something as souvenir for my colleagues after the wedding so they won't fill my ears with talk talk.
But if you can't afford it, face front and ignore them. Everybody go dey alright last last.
Buy the 'drinks' and give them since they asked for it .
ReplyDeleteThe pressure these people put on someone ehn. Just buy them a pack of drinks to share
ReplyDeleteIF you can ignore them , ignore them.But if it bothers you buy them soft drinks.
ReplyDeleteNo offense but you would have bought 5 cases of malt and some pastry in the time it took to write your post. Some fights just aren’t worth it.