Speaking in an interview with Okay 101.7 FM in Accra, Ghana, Iyke argued that women are naturally built to nurture and love, but raising a boy requires the discipline and guidance of a man.
“A woman can’t raise a man. You’re not built for it. A single mother cannot raise a man properly. You need a male influence – your brother, father, or any trusted man. There has to be a male presence in raising a boy,” he said.
He added that without such influence, boys risk growing into “weak men” who mirror the same traits of the men who abandoned their mothers. According to him, only a strong male presence can instill discipline and toughness in a boy’s upbringing.
Instablog9ja
“A woman can’t raise a man. You’re not built for it. A single mother cannot raise a man properly. You need a male influence – your brother, father, or any trusted man. There has to be a male presence in raising a boy,” he said.
He added that without such influence, boys risk growing into “weak men” who mirror the same traits of the men who abandoned their mothers. According to him, only a strong male presence can instill discipline and toughness in a boy’s upbringing.
Instablog9ja
True absolutely true
ReplyDeleteThis fool opens his mouth and only nonsense spews out!!
ReplyDeleteHe really likes controversy cuz whaaaaat??
did you even read properly before commenting? he added "without the presence of a trusted male figure", which is true. a woman cannot model what it means to be a full man to a boy, same way a man cannot model what it means to be a full woman to a girl.
Delete@20:16
DeleteVery well said and balanced.
Emphasis on, without the presence of a trusted male , he went on to emphasize, brother Uncle father....
DeleteKindly calm down and reread
Emphasis on, without the presence of a trusted male , he went on to emphasize, brother Uncle father....
DeleteKindly calm down and reread
That's my guy talking. I agree with you bro
ReplyDeleteNonsense ๐ค๐ค
ReplyDeleteIt’s a known fact.
Deletelies upon lies
ReplyDeletewho told you that single mothers cannot rise male children? please don't say this if you don't have anything to say.
This one nah big lie o
ReplyDeleteThis is the Truth....no absolutes but true nonetheless. Women aren't psychologically equipped for it. More so, this new generation of women, trapped in the Izanami of their own making... It'll be an absolute disaster.
ReplyDeleteThe worst thing a man can become is one of weak character. There are states that are governor less now because of one of such
But many present day men are not doing a good job either. Who to blame then? We have to realize that even parents are consumed in distractions and letting their spiritual role of guiding a child fall to the wayside. Too many men are chasing tail, hunting for the next big butt to get betwixt on the streets and losing focus of what really matters.
Delete@18:38
DeleteJim's comment is based on the theoretical "all things being equal" - a man being a man, and a single mother being a woman/mother, both fit for parenting duties.
A wayward married man and/or woman or single mother is/are contextually excepted.
23:00, Jim’s comment paint with a wide brush, stating that a man is the only one who can raise a boy into a man. But many men are not doing a good job of that right now, so who is to blame? I did not even factor a single mother in my comment, I considered men at home raising their sons within a marriage or perhaps men who are single parents. We must be real and honest. Many men in the home are doing a piss poor job of raising their sons into decent men.
DeleteBasket mouth don open mouth again oooo
ReplyDeleteSo men like Barack Obama, Jay Z & Leonardo d Caprio are not 'proper men'? Whatever that means ๐
ReplyDeleteAdunni
Thanks oh! Let him keep opening his mouth like toilet.
DeleteThese man had father figures in their lives, atleast I know the first 2 did and most likely the 3rd too. 'You need a male influence – your brother, father, or any trusted man. There has to be a male presence in raising a boy'. Maybe some of you convulsing should reread what he said to understand properly first. And I even think it goes both ways. Difficult too for a single father to raise a daughter alone without a female figure/influence in her life.
DeleteAnd Anon 20:39, you can make your inputs without insults, that is how we learn.
DeleteUsing the word 'convulsing' is not nice and you should refrain from it.
Misogynistic opinion ๐๐๐
ReplyDeleteHe is very right. This is as clear as day light biko. You can research this assertion by yourself instead of insulting him. Check your neighbourhoods, your kindreds and your friends, there are a lot of difference between men raised by father figures and those raised by women.
ReplyDeleteEven the child will at some point in his life wishes he has some male role models.
Do not be quick to argue or insult someone when they make a point, weigh them and see whether they are making a good point. And this time, I think Jim Iyke is absolutely on the right.
The ladies here will insult the hell out of you today Jim. Rather than understand what you said and then counter it intelligently, but as usual, they will resort to abuse, their "stock-in-trade" from time immemorial
ReplyDeleteDibia
So widows cannot raise boys? Tell that to
ReplyDelete1. Barack Obama
44th President of the United States.
Raised primarily by his mother, Ann Dunham, and his grandparents in Hawaii.
Often credits his mother’s values and influence for shaping his worldview.
2. LeBron James
NBA legend.
Raised by his single mom, Gloria James, in Akron, Ohio.
He openly talks about her sacrifices and hustle, and he now gives back massively through philanthropy.
3. Jay-Z (Shawn Carter)
Rapper, mogul, billionaire.
Raised in Brooklyn’s Marcy Projects by his mother, Gloria Carter.
He often speaks about how she held the family together.
4. Denzel Washington
Oscar-winning actor.
Raised mostly by his single mother, Lennis Washington, after his parents’ divorce.
He credits her with instilling discipline and faith.
5. Colin Kaepernick
Athlete and activist.
Raised by a single adoptive mother (and father initially, but mom was central after separation).
His mom’s support was key to his identity and courage to protest.
6. Samuel L. Jackson
Iconic actor.
Raised by his single mom, Elizabeth Jackson, in Chattanooga, Tennessee.
He has spoken about her strength and sacrifices.
"1. Barack Obama
Delete44th President of the United States.
Raised primarily by his mother, Ann Dunham, and his grandparents in Hawaii.
Often credits his mother’s values and influence for shaping his worldview."
The GRANDPARENTS were two "SINGLE GRANDMOTHERS"
The rest cited now today's world renowned men had no men in their mothers family when they were boys and, most importantly, their mothers did not relate with or have any male around them because they became hard core misogynists after they became single mothers
#Yinmu
Why do we like being economical with the truth:
Delete*Obama has both parents in his life to they divorced and his mother remarried a few years after
Samuel L. Jackson was raised by his grand parents as well, it's common knowledge
Same with Denzel Washington
Jay Z was barely saved by music and he regularly sings out how the thugs were his influences largely because there were no father figures
I don't know about the others, so.....
Jim Iyke is right.
You guys even have a ten for such fellows - 'Mummy boys'
The Hypocrisy on this blog is the reason I stay away from it
Naah I don't agree with your definition of Mummy boys. They are not men raised by single Mum's, thats not the definition o. Most of them have both parents.
DeleteAnytime Jim Iyke opens his mouth or types nah ๐คฎ๐คฎ
ReplyDeleteThis one no follow o, There are a lot of men raised by single mothers doing great. I have seen many.
ReplyDeleteClout chaser ๐
ReplyDeleteMy God! is it that you blog visitors cannot read, or you refuse to read, or you just choose to be blinded by emotions? Because what is the fight for?
ReplyDeleteCan a single man raise his daughter properly to become a full woman without the presence of a trusted female (whether a relative or friend) to model to her some aspects of womanhood? So why do you expect different when genders are switched?
some of you whose fathers left the earth while you were still growing, you would notice that when your brothers act up, your mothers would call your uncles to intervene, so what is this disagreement you're doing on here?
My parents seperated while i was growing and in some situations, my mother would have to call my father to talk to me,.. and i am female. Till now, there are some issues that i would have to speak to my father about instead of my mother.
He doesn't know what he's saying
DeleteYou saved me the efforts of retyping what got wiped off. And thank God you are a woman. Tomorrow, a female BV would come type that you are a "pick me" woman.
DeleteSee, all of them shouting know why. They think he attacked them or trivialised their efforts
He did not attack them personally. Any single mother doing a good job raising her son alone deserves her praises.
Jim appears concerned about the gap every woman knows is there but would not accept if she is a single mother, and which every man raised solely by a single mother knows about later in life.
Jim is right. Everything is not argument.
ReplyDeleteHe said "A single mother cannot raise a man properly. You need a male influence – your brother, father, or any trusted man. There has to be a male presence in raising a boy." Not necessarily the boy's biological father, he believes that a boy needs a male role model or male influence while growing up.
ReplyDeleteThe main idea is that male presence provides guidance in certain aspects of life (like discipline, identity, masculinity, or responsibility) that he thinks a woman alone might not fully give.
Jim raised by both parents grew into a proper Man ๐๐๐
ReplyDeleteHe is right, that father figure could be a pastor, a friend, your brothers or father.
ReplyDeleteBetter a firm single mothers than a rubbish male influence
ReplyDeleteYes o!
DeleteYou had both parents and you still rubbish like dis
ReplyDeleteToor!
DeleteWhat about widows single handedly raising sons?
ReplyDeleteThose boys from single mothers are the menace to the black families in US these days. They are born criminals