Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pinky's CORNER

Saturday, July 25, 2026

Pinky's CORNER

As a teacher, you are an instructor, a role model and a parent substitute. Teaching your subject should not be your only focus. Teaching the child must be intentional. This is why a teacher is also a learner. You must stay open to new ideas, new techniques and new methods if you truly want to make a positive impact on a child.

A friend of mine who teaches in Ibadan came to me about a Basic 5 pupil who could not read or write. The child had attended several schools but was withdrawn each time because of this issue. After asking him what methods he and the school had used, I smiled. I often smile when serious matters arise because it helps me see things differently.

After several questions, I told him to “teach the child” and not the subject. Teaching the subject makes you force learning and feel bad when results do not come. Teaching the child means taking time to ask about his home, his parents and his experiences in previous schools. This builds confidence.

I told my friend that my instincts said the boy could read and write, just not fluently. I asked him to question the boy: Who is stricter, your dad or mum? Does your dad live with you? Does your mum beat you? Why? Are you being cheated at home? Have you been bullied before?

He followed my instructions and returned two weeks later with positive results. The boy could read, but slowly. His spelling showed he understood what he wanted to write. He also discovered the boy’s mother is a career woman, the father works far away and comes home once a month, and the boy has been bullied in all his previous schools. 
The mother beats him for every mistake but pampers his younger siblings. Fear has been planted in him. She takes him from school straight to her office and they get home around 10pm, leaving him with no guidance.

I told my friend to speak up for the boy. The school must be informed and the mother called to order. She must hear the truth if she wants the best for her child, and the father must be involved. You cannot claim to be raising a child when there is no father figure and an absent mother. Money is not everything.
As a teacher, you should not be filling a bucket without finding the leak. You must be a trauma informed teacher, not just a teacher.
I remain humble. A born and trained teacher.

WHAT IS YOUR BUSINESS ASKING ALL THESE QUESTIONS?????IF YOU are a teacher abroad and you try this, your license to teach will be taken away....There is a role for everyone, dont mistake amebo for teaching oh.....I just think it is wrong to use your method, dont care if it works or not but if my child tells me a teacher is askng such questions,i will put a stop to it

12 comments:

1. MY GOODNESS! Your aproko is too much. What is your business if his dad lives there. What is your business f he is being cheated. Learn to draw the line, and mind your damn business.

1. SDK, you are very wrong on this issue. Just like Doctors ask patients other personal questions before delving into the ailment, teachers may, in some circumstances, seek to know the pupil's background, as there may be underlying reasons a child is not doing well academically or always comes late to school or sleeps in class or looks unkempt, most days. Addressing these underlying issues may likely enhance the child's performance. By the way, doctors ask some personal questions - education, work, marital status, parents, etc, in order to better understand the patient's background/personality, family medical history and eliminate some psychological causes.

2. I don't think pinky is wrong. As a would be teacher you would be trained to asked a child that is misbehaving or not doing well some questions. Sometimes we look deeply to know a child personal issues and tackle the root cause. It might not just be about a child not doing well or you want to do any amebo . It might just be a psychological problem just like this one. My take though.

1. Thanks at Golden..

In Nigeria, people are called teachers not because they teach the child but because they are subject matter minded which will not make teaching effective at all.

Without going into the classroom for years now, I've been skilling up myself and reading about how to positively make every child active and I do fall in love with the changes whenever I have an opportunity to work freely on a child.

3. Thank you, Pinky. Hopefully, things improve for the boy. He clearly needs time and confidence

1. I loyal oooo..
      My years of teaching experience was not only abstract, it's filled with the use of reality instructional aids innovated by myself to tackle abstract things and everyday classroom challenges

4. Sterra chill
    What pinky is suggesting is a naija solution to a unque problem where there is no institutions or options
    Your reaction is because you are in a country that have options in child development.

1. No pls
      Naija doesn’t accept you doing this

2. One thing I also realize about teaching in Nigeria, so many institutional factors which have significantly great influence on talent management are mostly neglected.

Talent management (impactful teacher) is a key problem in so many schools in Nigeria.

It is time Private school owners look deeply into employing skillful teachers, strategic talent management procedure, onboarding, succession planning, e.tc. Rather than just recruiting .

It is well

5. No child should be out that late at night. Most school starts around 8am which means he is not getting sufficient sleep for his bodily needs. This would affect his development and his brain. Constant fear leads to constant raised cortisol levels which has long lasting effects. The child is being set up for failure in life and no amount of private schooling can teach a tired body, tired brain, and a child’s whose nervous system is erratic. I would even guess his digestive system is not good either and he has lots of allergies or digestive issues.

May God protect this child and give the current teacher wisdom. The teacher will also need to speak positive and empowering words into the child to help their self worth and confidence to develop.

6. You did well for the boy. I hope the parents takes it up from there