Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Delta State Celebrates Nigeria's 54th Independence - Pics

Thursday, October 02, 2014

Delta State Celebrates Nigeria's 54th Independence - Pics

Nigeria was 54 years old yesterday Wednesday October 1,2014.

Here are pics from Delta state celebrating that day in colours...and hey,the governor even pardoned Prisoners Waiting Hang-mans Noose.

Independence Day: Uduaghan Pardons Prisoners Waiting Hang-mans Noose

AS Nigerians celebrate 54 years of independence, the Governor of Delta State, Dr Emmanuel Uduaghan has granted total pardon to three prisoners sentenced to death and commuted the death sentence of nine others to various terms of imprisonment.

Speaking on Wednesday at a colourful celebration to mark the Independence Day in Asaba, the state capital, Governor Uduaghan said the pardon of the prisoners was based on recommendations from the State Advisory Council on the Prerogative of Mercy.

According to him, "as part of the independence Day celebration, through the power conferred on me under section 212 of the Nigerian Constitution and based on the recommendation from the State Advisory Council of the Prerogative of Mercy, I have granted total pardon to three prisoners sentenced to death and granted amnesty to nine other prisoners on death row whose sentences have now been commuted to various terms of imprisonment."

Governor Uduaghan disclosed that a case of a 24 years old boy, who when he was 16 years was accused of stealing a phone and was sentenced to death, was being looked into by him, explaining that but for an appeal already filed by the family he would have granted him pardon.

He therefore pleaded with the family to withdraw the appeal from the court to enable him exercise the relevant powers and grant the accused pardon, adding that any action taken would be subjudice.

Decrying the activities of the terrorists group, he said: "I want to call on sponsors of Boko Haram that enough is enough, they should have a rethink, they have killed, maimed, kidnapped and today, we are saying, enough is enough," calling on the sponsors of Boko Haram to use the occasion of the nation's 54th Independence Anniversary "to reflect on their actions, enough is enough."

culled from facebook.

21 comments:

1. Death sentence for stealing a phone?....naija judiciary I hail!

2. AdaDiUraNma Love HotIce2 October 2014 at 09:19

Way to go Mr Governor! Dnt I just love u!

3. ANGELRAY SAYS
    This is very colorful.

4. God for them..
    Hope they won't go bak to whatever crimes dat led them in there in d first place!

5. Lovely colourful event. Thanks your excellency for the pardon.

6. Hmm stells, so dis okada gurl Omeke N. Is heffin ma man.i jst found out few days ago. Dis is someone wey fit born am on.dis girl is jst 22. Anyway Bv if una knw her tell her I know! And d wife for Asia go soon know!. Oriegwu!

7. Wow!! This is nice! Weldon Sir.

8. Haaaaa I can't believe it!someone stole phone when he was 16 and he is now 24yrs meaning he has spent 8years in prison...And am sure the phone will be outdated now!And is sentenced to death...wow I can't deal.What a world.Thatz a good one coming from the governor

9. Why do u keep praising Uduaghan....He hasn't done shit 4 Delta. He pays local govt salaries late. Ibori was a best governor even tho a thief. Uduaghan is a disgrace. As an oil state, what do we have? Bad roads, bad power, nurses are undervalued.

10. Big ups Uduagan.You celebration got me down memory lane on how Nigerian Independence Day celebration once was. Especially after seeing the drama that happened in Abuja. I may be wrong on many levels,but is anybody seeing that a country like Nigeria,the giant of Africa,ought to remember and celebrate its anniversary in style?With the Executive at the fore,in a National Stadium,not in Aso Villa...with enconiums and gifts from dignitaries of other nations,not text messages...
    Nigeria,I hail oh!!! I just hope that your dignity is restored someday.

11. Big ups Uduagan.You celebration got me down memory lane on how Nigerian Independence Day celebration once was. Especially after seeing the drama that happened in Abuja. I may be wrong on many levels,but is anybody seeing that a country like Nigeria,the giant of Africa,ought to remember and celebrate its anniversary in style?With the Executive at the fore,in a National Stadium,not in Aso Villa...with enconiums and gifts from dignitaries of other nations,not text messages...
    Nigeria,I hail oh!!! I just hope that your dignity is restored someday.

12. The national cake is eaten by the govt only dah one is understandable buh even the one brought b4 them in their very eyes., they were made to stretch their hands instead touching it ? Haba which wey naija.

13. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Wow lovely pics i must say... Niceone governor, yu have really did great no doubt...

14. What really are we celebrating @ 54? Bad roads, poverty, corruption etc.. Happy independence my country people!

15. So na Werin make them block road yesterday thus causing hold up with the one way? Congrats 2 d inmates who were pardoned. Buh wait a sec.did I read abt a 16 year old boy nw turned 24 who was sentenced 2 death foe stealing a phone? Omgosh, I can't deal.