Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Re: Lagos Hospital Chains Woman To Urinal Pipe To Prevent Her Escape Over Unpaid Bills

Saturday, September 26, 2015

Re: Lagos Hospital Chains Woman To Urinal Pipe To Prevent Her Escape Over Unpaid Bills

This is a right of Reply..It so happens that the owner of the Hospital where this happened is the Dad of a Blog visitor who has been busy but decided to reach out and tell the story the way it happened......

ORIGINAL POST ...CLICK

''Dear Stella

I don't even know how to start this email. 

I love your blog and for sometime now, I've wanted to contact you about taking a paid advert on your blog for my business, I felt it would be abuse of your generosity to use the (is it) in- house section medium seeing that i never comment nor have i done any give away. I hope to still do so soon.

I wish you nothing but the best ma'am.

As per the subject of this mail:
I have been quite busy and only just had a little spare time to go through your blog and some other social media platforms.

You did not do well at all. All of you just copied each other in posting this news. I thought a good journalist would've sort to find out the other side to any story before posting it. The speed at which you jumped to conclusion rankled me a bit. I do understand the need for sensationalism and traffic but it shouldn't be at the expense of a government approved, CAC certified, HEFAMAA approved hospital as the one in question or even anyone or organization.

My name is Rhoda ******* A Chemical Engineer, business woman, Advertising and Marketing Communications person, and a daughter to the proprietor of the hospital in question. I am sending this mail without his consent though I will copy him and the hospital.
i won't even bother talking about how wonderful and awesome my Dad is. How much he endeavors to treat people with equity and how generous he can be. He has one of the gentlest hearts on any one human but all that is besides the point and not the purpose of my mail.

This is what happened as far as I know and I believe I know better than the thousands who read this story:

The lady was brought in late in the evening of the 12th of August bleeding from what would appear to be a ruptured uterus. She needed to be operated on and transfused for blood stat.
I remember the mad dash to Mushin from our area here at Egbe to get her blood. The folks who brought her did not even have 1, 000 naira for the hospital emergency card. One was opened for her anyway. The hospital dug into it's pocket to get her blood and the operation was carried out without any deposits made and with the consent of the patient and her husband. Her husband told the hospital staff he was going to use the atm and wasn't heard from until long after the surgery had been completed.

You should know that in almost all cases of a ruptured uterus, the baby doesn't survive. The surgeons ran into some complications during the procedure. All the details is in her post op report and been gone through thoroughly by the different bodies who came around as a result of the news break.
The family kept begging the hospital to proceed with her treatment and that they would come through with her bill.

Her treatment spanned a good number of days with a difficult, not straight forward surgery, blood transfusion, expensive antibiotics and full medical care. When you think about the total cost all that would come to, being an emergency case and of course not a booked patient with the hospital, any reasonable Nigerian will agree there was nothing outrageous about the bill.
The family paid 10, 000 naira 5 days after the surgery and another 15, 000 a little later.
The woman was eventually discharged but not released to go home at least until some of the money was recovered. She was never chained to anything.
If you think about it;
1. That her picture you all used was taken in front of the hospital. How come the urinal pipe chain was left out of the picture?
2. Can any human being be chained by a rubber pipe and they won't make any effort to release themselves?

Last Saturday, 19th September 2015, some folks came and said they were from a human rights NGO asking for the release of said patient. What would amaze me is that the so called humanitarians didn't come with a dime. In good faith and even though the woman's husband was conspicuously absent, she was released to them. We woke up on Sunday to see the news on the internet. After the patient had been released!

Till now, nobody has said anything about the bill. Not the human rights organization, patient's family or "concerned" Nigerians as those on your blog
One good turn surely deserves ingratitude, right?

Pray tell me, why didn't they take her to a general hospital? Why didn't anybody go to Sahara Reporters who broke the news when she was groaning in pains and almost bleeding out? 
This is why many hospitals insist on a deposit and turn away patients who don't have it.
Tomorrow, if another person in the same situation comes knocking at the hospital, guess what will happen?

As I speak to you, my Dad has chosen not to take any legal action against all of you bloggers, Sahara reporters and others who perpetuated this lie and defamation of character choosing to allow posterity to judge. I only pity for the plight of others who will suffer as a result of this case of pure wickedness and ingratitude because this couple have showed that being humane can sometimes come to haunt you.
Every medical facility has a medical, humanitarian and profit-making side to it. One doesn't stop the other and I can tell you the folks at Samaria hospital try their best.

I decided to send this mail in part to clarify to an extent the matter but mostly to let you realise that there is always another side to every story. Imagine waking up and finding all social media abuzz with news of you, perpetuating the entire opposite of an incidence where all you did was good.

You could do some repair by posting some part of this mail (or all of it as you may find convenient) on your blog.
You may keep my name private please.

I chose to reach out to ONLY you because I really do have a lot of love and admiration for you. I hope you do the right thing.

Thank you
Love to your beautiful children and dear husband.

Best regards,

XXXXXX

Let me post the entire content of the email....
Thanks for reaching out to your own side of the story.So sorry for not reaching out to hear the Hospital's side of the story but i did try to get a contact which was not forthcoming,infact i am still waiting for my sources to get back to me.

89 comments:

1. There're 2 sides to every story. Thanks to your dad for even treating the woman and hereby saving her life.

*Larry was herea

1. See how the other side of the story changed everything......

2. Hmmmmmm
      I refuse to comment on this

3. Two sides indeed.
      Further clarification from a medical point of view. If this woman had ruptured uterus (possibly from the so called massage given at the traditional birth place or where ever she was coming from ) then what they did for her was an EXPLORATORY LAPAROTOMY. You don't do a C/S for a ruptured uterus (CS involves a deliberate incision in d abdomen and in the uterus) since the uterus has torn apart on its own, it leaves the child inside the abdominal cavity and believe me, it is a very very fatal /deadly obstetric emergency!
      I will also like to add that the hospital did a very good to save her life, if they had wasted about 10 more mins, that woman would have been dead.
      I am writing this to encourage intending parents to register for routine antenatal care and avoid these traditional maternity homes, mama nkechi delivered there and was fine but unaccountable are people that didn't survive it and you won't hear the story because they will never sue those ones.
      I will not want to encourage hospitals to shut their doors to patients without cash at hand but we humans are the cause of our problems. No doubt other innocent sincere people are going to die as a result of this.
      In the end, GRATITUDE unlocks doors while INGRATITUDE hardens the softest of hearts and SHUTS doors. God bless.

4. God bless your dad for saving her life 1st of all cos that was what he swore to during his induction. As for the woman and her family karma is indeed a bitch. She should remember she now has a case file which ought to be referred to during subsequent pregnancies. And I pray for her sake she never gets any complication.
      The hospital try well, could remember when I had my premature babies and we had to use the incubator. The hospital made sure we could afford the bill be4 they went ahead oh. The other lady that could not afford it, after delivery she was referred to a teaching hospital. I guess is to avoid stories like these they did that.

5. Can I just ask how they kept d patient to prevent her from leaving? Since she was discharged but not allowed to leave, how was she restrained? Dariz all

6. Well there's always 3sides to a story
      His side
      Her side
      And the TRUTH somewhere in between

May God help us all

7. Well, I think the patient played on the public's empathy to divert attention from their financial indebtedness to the hospital. You cannot sensationalize news when u haven't done the needful. If the issue you have is with funds, it would have been better to appeal to them while u arrange a payment plan. And I guess they didn't give u the liberty of discharging u first to pay later, becos clearly, u were/are NOT their registered patient. So heck, they had to secure their own interests too after saving ur life. I do not think that the family of this woman was fair to the hospital. They've given them a bad publicity and they should render them their unreserved apology. Plus they still need to pay up. Let them not use this as a cover up.

2. Okwuosa flora said

Hmmmmm
    Ingratitude has become a big problem in Nigeria
    Very soon some pple would cry foul that hospitals r wicked and inhumane
    Who would pick up the bill now?
    Is the hospital a charity organisation?
    At least the couple should have said the truth!
    Anyway na condition make crayfish bend
    Mtchew
    The action alone will cost lives in future
    The blood will cry out on the couples head

1. But how sure are we, that this person is saying the truth, he could be lying, if Samaria hospital was clean like she insisted, i don't think they would just release the said woman without legal action..........

2. Mehn, d Doctor is really kind, to av treated her wtot any deposit. Poor pple are always very wicked. Imagine what d couple did after d lady was being saved from death

3. 1st Henry she is not wasn't forceful so how did she "insist"? U might want 2 know wat dat word means.

2ndly, how is impossible that d hospital is clean and still released the patient without legal actions?

4. Henry Eze is a confirmed fool who likes to comment without reasoning.

3. This was why .i kept mum on that post.we see these things everyday.ungrateful nigerians full everywhere

4. Shut the fuck up! You piece of crap! Cannibals!

1. Shut up you piece of shit.
      Your stupidity is appalling!

2. People like you are exactly the kind that would do what that woman & her family did.The doctor opened the hospital with urine abi? Will pay his workers with urine? Pay the rent of the building with urine? And when tax collectors come from govt.tell them patients refused to pay.you are a Hypocrite!

3. U need to shut dt ur gutter infested mouth up! Are they running a charity organisation, you is even stingy to your family members.

4. Who is this small fool talking to?

5. Hope all is well, mma uneghe?

6. Chinasa who ??? You sound angry with the world

7. Who is dis demented cheap smelling hoe chinasa?

8. Demented cheap smelling hoe? Buhahahaha

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Pay ur medical bills....

6. Exactly. I knew it. They shouldn't av released the woman to any human rights 'useless' people without the bills been paid. Ur father is blessed with patience. If it were me, never o. Since they think they can make me or the hospital look stupid/wicked, i'll let them know that every human is born with a drop of wickedness in them. Rubbish

1. See this born-fool o. You better go and start finding a way to make up with ur parents. Stupid son of a good father

7. My dear,if u go thru a lot of the comments on d said post,u will see a lot of us spoke up for the Hosp. Its really a pity that things went d way they did. Thanks for clarifying things all d same. Our Igbo people answer "ogom egbunam"as a name and it simply means,may my goodness not kill me. God bless ur old man.

1. Na real Ogom egbunam.
      If they had asked for deposit and she probably died in the waiting room, it's still the same world people that will judge the hospital.
      No matter what you do in life, people will talk. So do ur best and leave the rest to God

8. It is well. Another pexn luck blocked

*****MhizDebbyViaIG*****

9. Good command of English. That aside, someone asked that question here as to why they didnt send the picture of the woman chained to the pipe. Ita good she came out to clarify issues. Sometimes its not good to just do copy and paste without verification sha. And it applies to all bloggers. Well like Stella told that Nzeribe guy of those days of Monalisa boboism, na only community service she go fit do. Lol.

10. Why are people like this? You show people kindness, instead of gratitude they turn on you like dogs.

11. To whom much is given, much is expected. They gave people 'allow' they turned around and asked for 'allowance'. World people

12. So they took the woman away without paying the bill, don't worry karma will catch up with them. I hate ungrateful people.

13. Hmmmmm! Truth be told, I doubted that news when it broke. How can one be CHAINED with a urinal rubber pipe?

Some patients sha! 4 years ago, while I was having my baby at d labour ward in LUTH, a woman who had ruptured uterus died.
    The surgery was successful but because she didn't attend ante-natal there, getting her blood match wasn't easy, the hubby went elsewhere but got expired blood! So many issues sha. So sad she lost the battle. To think she was referred from a private hospital because they couldn't handle the case and that's after wasting precious time!

What am I saying, no amount of money is too much to pay once the patient survives and where the patients cannot afford such, dialogue with the hospital management and agree to pay the money in bits.

If they can treat a patient without deposit, they can as well give the patient time to complete payment.

1. Rubbish talk.

2. Anon 21:54, why don't U give us ur own version of smart talk? Must U comment and degrade someone's comments... U r the rubbish here!!!

3. @ godgives, very sensible comment.
      Anon may you have an emergency and be rejected in every hospital you go!

14. Four sides to every story. Their side, your side, my side, and the truth... I don't believe the above lady was chained to a urine pipe, I also don't totally believe the daughter of the supposed hospital owner cos as far as I am concerned, she might just be defending her father and his hospital... they should do the needful and rest please.

15. Chinasa Iberibegegbu, Attention seeker.
    I guess you want to be notified at all cost.
    Shameless fool.

16. Stella you should have posted a link to the previous post. I've forgotten the original story. . . Now I've to go through the stress of looking for it.

17. It's just unfortunate !
    Glad ur dad has forgiven them.. #worldpeople

18. It's just unfortunate !
    Glad ur dad has forgiven them.. #worldpeople

19. The Hospital tried sef but the mistake they made is that next time, you involve the police, instead of detaining her.

20. If what u said is true,may God bless ur old man,let him continue his good works.

21. Make una no vex o, I just have to ask this. Who exactly is 'Chinasa ukaegbu' cursing out; the person who sent in the rejoinder or the hospital? Because I do not see any comment before hers that warrants such hatred.
    Madam, you need to purge yourself of such hate. You're a lady and it does your 'brand' no good.

1. One cheap tramp that used to visit the blog. Since 2013, you finally saved up to get a China phone and now dropping irrelevant comments to get noticed. Pls get lost

22. My dear, God bless ur dad for saving d woman's life that is d least i can say. Winnie

23. Nigerians hate paying for their medical bills but will do big thanksgiving and naming ceremony .

24. And she painted it like......sorry poster

25. Am glad I didn't get carried away by that sob story.

26. Stale news plus boring news today

27. I suspected this was the case when i saw that initial post. Let God be the judge. I have been painted black in the past by those i went all out to help but God has started dealing with all of them one after the other.
    Trust God, he will always fight the battleof the innocent.

28. Why I don't comment on post that isn't right.

29. PD Young Billionaire26 September 2015 at 22:59

May God continue to increase your Dad.And to the couple in question,God is watching you!

30. Stella, this happens a lot, same happened to us in august, a lady was referred from a health centre to the state hosp for emergency cs, came to see my husband in his private clinic and he told them, the amount of the cs, he told them the last price and told them to go to the state hosp if they can not afford it as he is does not want unnecessary issue, they went to the state hosp which unfortunately referred them to the federal hosp in another town nearly 1 hour away, this people came back to him and said they would pay that they is someone bringing money. With just 4 thousand deposit, the operation was carried out, thank God the baby was fine after a while, the women started bleeding, see my husband running around at 2 am till every thing was okay, the drugs, blood everything for just 4,000 naira. Stella you would not believe after one week, they still had not paid any extra money, what annoyed him was the fact he already told them to go but they came back on their own will and deceived him, to cut the long story short, after about 6 weeks with only 40,000 naira paid, they ran away. When this story came online, was around the time they ran away, i quickly showed my husband and told him how wicked ppl are. Don't blame drs when they decide not to help because at the end of the day, we ran at a loss, paying anaesthetics, drugs, blood, other materials.

31. Replies
    1. Wow! Chinasa, R u high on something? U r a woman, right? The level of ur silliness requires urgent psychiatric attention!

2. Chinasa, agam acho irawa gi ikpu gi ahu

3. Lmao... This chinasa girl, idikwa normal? Just asking tho! U sound like u are high on curry powder or something.

4. Chinasa are you a lady ?? I refuse to believe you are one. How can you be this vulgar???or you want to be noticed or called out by Stella ?? So you can be popular ???popularity can be positive you know right ??? Word of advice , Google stores stuff. In 10 years you will be ashamed of this comment that's assuming you have received sense by then .

32. Ingrates are just everywhere. I guess the couple felt they've spent too much after pay #25,000 and that may be the reason they sent in a false story. I only pity the patients that may be in their shoes in future, visiting the hospital.

33. Chinasa Ukaegbu, every comment proceeding from your belly must not be vile. Take a hike!

34. Karma is a patient bitch. Madam nd her husband that dint pay up their hospital bill una reward dey wait una for front... I just pity the genuine ppl that will need help eventually and wont get it bcause of what this couple did... Madam poster, pls advocate to ur dad not to tk out his grieviances on other ppl...everybody isnt as ungrateful as this lot. God bless nd prosper ur father nd the works of his hands. Shalom.

35. Stella ikpu gbawa gi na umu nkita gi na aracha gi ike. Okongwu umuaka dika gi. Nodi ebe ahu na afotohari. Onuku dika gi

1. It's sad stella has refused to notice you
      Please move on already

2. Chinasa, ebe kam ga enweta gi? A chorom irawa gi ikpu gi with amu mu di 11 inches. M ga eji ire na onum racha gi Ike nsi gi ahu.. I na anu ifem na ekwu. .amu mu kwu ezigbo oto ugbua

36. I posted a comment on dis mata wen it 1st cme out but u didn't approve my post den.
    I said in efri conflit resolutions diaris always 3 sides 2 a story. Ur side of d story, is side his side nd d truth.
    Nw sensible BV's 'ld b able 2 draw dia conclusion on d mata afta hearing both sides.

37. JENNIFER VEDUTTI iwu otele. Akpa njo dika gi.

1. Sweetie I'm not ugly
      You may want to look well
      Also I've seen you are from the gutters and I regret giving you 1 second popularity
      Ghetto rat

38. Stella iwu akpa amu. Ina adi ihu ka agadi nwoke.

39. I believe as a lady you should go for regular check up and study your body.. Knowing that yours could always be different. Check up on your uterus and cervix knowing we are prone to cervical cancer and so on. I had the opportunity to know that there are different shapes of uterus, Bicornuate, septate, unicornuate and so on. Knowledge is power and I don't think you need to be a doctor to care for yourself first. With this you can also know if you can carry your baby for full term or not to prevent uterus rupture. Bless.

40. JENNIFER VEDUTTI iwu ozu nwuru. Sabo dika gi. Rachawa stella ike. Ewu.