Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Harvard University bans relationships between students and professors

Monday, February 09, 2015

Harvard University bans relationships between students and professors

Harvard University has introduced a total ban on relationships between professors and students.
Staff said they introduced the ban after considering how "power dynamics can contribute to sexual harassment".

Harvard's previous ban on staff-students affairs only applied if couples were in the same class.

A committee which drafted the guidelines concluded the university needed to strengthen its language on "relationships of unequal status".
Harvard University is not the only higher education college in the US to introduce such a ban.

Its rival Yale did so in 2010, as did the University of Connecticut in 2013.
Based in Cambridge near Boston, Harvard has about 2,400 faculty members and about 6,700 undergraduate students

Last May the institution appeared on a US government list of 55 institutions which had allegedly mishandled harassment complaints.

In an email, Alison Johnson, a history professor who led the committee which helped revise the guidelines, told the Associated Press news agency: "We wanted to emphasize that the central characteristic of any relationship between a professor and an undergraduate in the College should be pedagogical."bbc

#Nigeriaonmymind

31 comments:

1. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:24

Please its necessary this same ban be introduced in Nigeria.... You need to see what lecturers have dome to our sisters and girl friends..... Check out university of UYO....them wan kill girls there..... Professor Ogbonna of Food Science technology has blasted a girl to the extent the boy friend begged him to free her for him. He even takes her to his matrimonial home..... Joseph Essien another lecturer does not use his eyes to see fine girls or will I mention Dr. Umo of department of physics..... All of them threaten girls into submission....diaris God oh!

1. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:25

Please its necessary this same ban be introduced in Nigeria.... You need to see what lecturers have dome to our sisters and girl friends..... Check out university of UYO....them wan kill girls there..... Professor Ogbonna of Food Science technology has blasted a girl to the extent the boy friend begged him to free her for him. He even takes her to his matrimonial home..... Joseph Essien another lecturer does not use his eyes to see fine girls or will I mention Dr. Umo of department of physics..... All of them threaten girls into submission....diaris God oh!

3. can Nigerian Universities adopt this already.
    Infact the tin go hard when is even some female students pursuing the profs now. O Chim o!

4. Lmaooo
    Congi school!
    They fuck like rabbits there!
    Varrooooooombaaaaaa

1. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:23

5. Lmaooo
    Congi school!
    They fuck like rabbits there!
    Varrooooooombaaaaaa

1. LOL@ congi school. But blackberry how does rabbit do it hahahahahaaaa

2. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:24

6. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Okuko uwa.......

7. This ban need to be introduced in Nigeria, the way these old lecturers and professor target their prey is annoying. They would fail u, just to get to eat the bottom belle, give an emergency test when your not in class to make u come begging.

1. You joking right??? Even if they do that it'll never stand, this is Nigeria come on!

8. This seem right in a way cos some lecturers and profs can be so mean. Then again its ok cos this will make students who gain favour from such lecturers/profs to sit-up. I wish its done here
    What if its done secretly?

9. good. i hope the students will put their heads down and read their book instead of looking for cheap marks

10. Wow. This is what I call professionalism.

11. Dem no go fit do. Those that make the law will be the first to break it.

12. We are waiting for Nijas ban too

1. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:26

Please its necessary this same ban be introduced in Nigeria.... You need to see what lecturers have dome to our sisters and girl friends..... Check out university of UYO....them wan kill girls there..... Professor Ogbonna of Food Science technology has blasted a girl to the extent the boy friend begged him to free her for him. He even takes her to his matrimonial home..... Joseph Essien another lecturer does not use his eyes to see fine girls or will I mention Dr. Umo of department of physics..... All of them victimise girls into submission....diaris God oh!

13. If na covenant university or Babcock do this kind tin, we no for hear word with all that glorified secondary school bullshit.
    Now it's Harvard and everyone is commending them and saying not a bad idea. YIMU
    Nigerians are twofaced bitches and pretenders!!!

14. Wow,so dis shit is done too in Harvard!lol

15. GOD abeg they should do this in nigeria starting from uniport

16. The name is Bond..James Bond9 February 2015 at 16:54

If the Prof and student are not in the same Faculty or Dept, how does power dynamics come in???

In any case, is the University not the best place to learn how to identify and manage it for the students? Will power dynamics disappear in the real world when they start work?

***Every woman deserves a man who'll ruin her lipstick NOT her mascara! ***

1. The prof fit get friend for the babe department wey he go tell to either victimize or pass her depending on how the babe behave.

2. concerned Nigerian10 February 2015 at 22:26

17. I don't know. This looks ethical to me but then we are talking about adults here. If it's consensual then why not.

18. Now, the kind of relationship that should exist between students and academic staff should be strictly business.

Unnecessary familiarity is not healthy.

Everyone should focus on their primary concern.

This is where ethics comes in.