Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hopes For Reprieve Fade As Four Nigerians To Be Executed In Indonesia On Wednesday

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

Hopes For Reprieve Fade As Four Nigerians To Be Executed In Indonesia On Wednesday

By This time tomorrow,these four Nigerian men will be dead...Killed alongside five other nationals for crimes committed over a decade ago.
I am really very sad compiling this report.I know they have paid the price for their crimes..who gives another man the right to kill another albeit the laws of land?....God where are you?Your people are killing each other,making news laws without seeking your face.

I am so angry that despite all the begging,the answer to leave these men alive is still NO!.

let me stop ranting as it has really set me down emotionally,please read the compiled report.

''Amongst the 10 people facing execution by firing squad in Indonesia for drug-related offenses, are 4 Nigerians.  The others are 2 Australian men, a woman from Philippines, an Indonesian man and a French man who has been given a 2weeks  temporary reprieve for a final review of his own case.

50-year-old Nigerian man, Martin Anderson who traveled to Indonesia on a fake Ghanaian passport, was arrested in Jakarta in 2003 on a charge of possessing about 1.8 ounces of heroin and was accused of being part of a local drug ring. He was sentenced to death in 2004.

According to his lawyer, Anderson who was shot in the leg during his arrest, has filed for a judicial review of his conviction and death sentence with the Supreme Court.

Anderson's lawyer however fears that the court would not consider the appeal until after he is executed because such appeals can take six months to be heard, according to him.

Anderson has reportedly been in poor spirits since he was transferred to the execution site, Nusakambangan Island, for execution.

Known in Indonesia’s penal system as “The Death Row Gospel Singer,” 41-year-old Okwudili Oyatanze, also a Nigerian was arrested in 2001 while trying to smuggle 5.5 pounds of heroin through Jakarta’s international airport, in his stomach, after arriving on a flight from Pakistan. He was convicted the following year and sentenced to death.

Oyatanze has written more than 70 songs and recorded multiple albums behind bars.
 He has performed with prison guards as well as fellow inmates.

Raised in southeastern Nigeria, Oyatanze started a garment business in 1999, traveling to Indonesia to buy clothing to resell in Nigeria. 

His business collapsed, and heavily in debt, Oyatanze, traveled to Pakistan to try to make ends meet following the advice of a fellow Nigerian living there.

He became a courier for drug peddlers, which involved swallowing capsules of heroin before boarding a flight to Jakarta where he was apprehended by law enforcement officials.

Another Nigerian headed for the gallows in Indonesia is Jamiu Owolabi Abashin, aged 50 was living on the streets of Bangkok in 1998 when a fellow African living there took pity on him and brought him home, asking whether he wanted a quick-paying job, in which he would get $400 for bringing a package of clothing to the friend’s wife in Surabaya, Indonesia, where she sold used shirts and pants.

Abashin readily agreed, but soon wished he hadn’t: The package contained nearly 12 pounds of heroin, and he was arrested after landing at Surabaya’s airport. Abashin, who was traveling on a false Spanish passport, realised too late he was tricked into carrying drugs.

He was convicted in 1999 and sentenced to life in prison, which was reduced to 20 years on appeal. State prosecutors however challenged the sentence reduction before the Indonesian Supreme Court, and in 2006,  Abashin's 20 Years sentence  was changed  to a death sentence. 

In a request for presidential clemency in 2008, he admitted knowingly smuggling the drugs. The request was denied in January. 

The Indonesian government refers to him as Raheem Agbaje Salami, the name on the fake Spanish passport he was using when he was arrested.

47-year-old Silvester Obiekwe Nwolise is similar to those of other Nigerians on Indonesia’s death row for drug trafficking. 

Unemployed in Lagos, Nigeria’s largest city, he was lured to Pakistan by fellow Nigerians on the promise of a job with good wages.

But once in Pakistan, instead of a job, he got an offer to swallow some capsules – filled with goat horn powder - and fly to Indonesia according to his wife, Fatimah Farwin.

“They said they didn’t want to pay tax on it. When he arrived at the airport in Jakarta, the police saw him – I don’t know how – they caught him and X-rayed him, and they found it and it was drugs.” Fatima said.

Arrested in 2001, Mr. Nwolise was convicted the following year of bringing 2.6 pounds of heroin into the country, and was sentenced to death.

According to his wife,  Nwolise had no translator during his trial and his Indonesian lawyer could barely communicate with him. She said that a judge, through an intermediary, offered to sentence him to prison rather than death if he paid a bribe of 200 million rupiah, worth about $22,000 at the time.

“But he was just a poor courier. He didn’t have any money,” Fatimah said.

Ms. Fatimah, who is Indonesian, met Mr. Nwolise in prison in 2007, when she was accompanying a friend who was visiting another inmate. The two married later that year; they have since had two children, now 5 and 3, but she has not brought them to see him since they were infants. She has told them that their father is working in an office in another country.

In January, the Indonesian police accused Mr. Nwolise of running a drug syndicate from prison. No charges were brought, but Ms. Fatimah, who says emphatically that her husband is innocent of the accusation, believes it resulted in his being placed in the group of inmates now facing imminent execution.

“Some woman on the outside blamed him,” Ms. Fatimah said, referring to a police informant, “but when they came to his cell, they never found anything – never, never, never. He never had a trial and next thing, they wanted to execute him.”

According to daily mail, it has been confirmed they will be executed just after the stroke of midnight on Wednesday (3am AEST).

The date - April 29 - became official when a local funeral director in Cilacap, the nearest port to Nusakambangan, or Death Island, was instructed to inscribe the names of those to be shot by firing squad and the date of their deaths on each coffin.

The coffins have been transported to the death island.

Another news source says on Saturday, the Bali Nine death row inmates were given 72 hours notice ahead of their deaths and were also asked to sign their death warrants.

**original reportage by New York Times rewritten here **
Photo Credit : New York Times / Daily Mail

80 comments:

1. Terribly sad!!!

My dear, when people harden their hearts, God leaves them alone, u can as well sentence them to 25yrs in prison, any sensible person will come out n never dream of drugs again...
    Indonesia govt, God n posterity will judge u!!
    Condolences to the families.

1. Who does drug business in these Asian countries???...
      Chai..
      RIP!!!...

2. All the begging are falling on deaf ears because these Asian countries have a standing order to kill people caught with these drugs. That's how they killed that poor boy in Singapore some years back.
      This must be very difficult for their families. Asians that are so wicked! O di egwu! I feel bad for the men and I sincerly hope they have sought the face of God

3. My dear some crimes even in the bible are punishable by death. The bible also says obey the laws of the land. God is love. They are killing them out of Love for the people they may hurt by continuously selling drugs.

If i commit murder, God forbid ; i will repent but will expect anything. Will only pray God accepts my soul.

Isn't it out of Love that God sent Jesus to die on d cross. So love sometimes requires death.

4. Stella. I know how u feel, a feeling of anger mixed with empathy. However, the law must take its course.

I listened to Abike Dabiri earlier in the evening on channels news... and she was talking about this execution in Indonesia. She explained how in 2009 or so, they visited the Nigerian inmates facing execution in Indonesia, and how everyone left in tears as it was a remorseful visitation. Coupled with the fact that they went to plead for clemency but to no avail.

She also said that once u arrive their airport, scribbled boldly everywhere in sight is the emphatic warning that anyone who transports drug would be killed. So there's no ignoring that fact.

She explained further that President Jonathan even waded in at some point but was also futile. Summarily, sad as it is, these people shouldn't have committed the crime. I guess it will serve as a deterrent to others.

And oh, she also added that the grievance exhibited by the Indonesian govt is such that they complained about having a very high statistics of people who die everyday from consuming these drugs. So u see, they absolved to the capital punishment to save their citizenry from dying like chicken everyday for drug abuse. May their souls find rest jare

2. Chain...
    Okwudili's story really touched me, oh God...
    Nwanne, if it is God's will that you die tomorrow, accept it, embrace it, prepare yourself to join the host of angels singing praises to God in heaven just as you have been doing these past years. I am so pained, Indonesia why evils???

1. Omg
      Can't imagine how they are feeling now and what they are thinking.
      2day is going to be there last night.
      So many things will be going on in their minds.
      They should accept jesus now b4 is too late.
      But God is still in the business of doing miracle.
      Keep hope alive.

3. JISOS!!!!

I detest this kind of news ooooooooooo!!!

Crying *

1. Why would you spell Jesus as Jisos? How would you feel if your name was spelt wrong on purpose just to sound funny? Please let's have some respect for Jesus

2. Hian!!!
      Well let me just sound nice to you....
      Tinuke,thou shall not call d name of d lord in vain......

4. This is so heartbreaking. Just cant imagine what is going through there mind now.God have mercy.

1. Dem don already execute Dem oooooooooo!!!
      Chai...i pity d mum.....

5. Wonders will never cease to happen. I tot d world body av ruled out death sentence to life imprisonment? Nawa o. May God receive dia souls in perfect peace.

6. Their blood and the blood of every other Nigerian that's been killed as a result of crime they went into out of abject poverty is on the heads of our politicians that's been stealing monies ment for the uplift ment and betterment of the populace.

1. Yeah, part of d blame goes 2 all our past polithiefians including the incumbent. But let's not 4get dt d government cannot provide employment and free chau for all and besides most of thses pple go in2 drugs trafficking coz they are too greedy and Lazy. If u like give them 50k as monthly allowance, they'd still do wht they do

2. Abeg let's call a spade a spade and not a salad spoon. Government this and that, we shouldn't blame the govt for every inch of our personal inadequacies.

Granted that the govt is impoverishing the citizenry, but it's not an excuse to delve into drug smuggling. Are they the only ones affected by poverty? What if everyone started to deal in drugs?

Come to think of it. How do u explain those who live in countries with good governance, are gainfully employed, yet traffic drugs? We have some Nigerians living large abroad, but are kingpins, issuing directives and smuggling drugs themselves. Is that also poverty, or greed?

It's the money they get that makes them greedy, bcos most of the end users are super rich. Even the ones who choose to be couriers are living large in their home towns but yet indulge in drug trafficking. Most of them are not caught during their "debut" of transporting it, after the first time they make money but still continue.. Na ojukokoro

Americans who smuggle drugs cannot completely blame their govt for it, can they? because they have social welfare in place to cater for the unemployed.. yet some of them smuggle drugs. How do u explain that?
      My point is, it's a personal choice coupled with greed. That u dont have a job shouldn't make u think of carrying drugs as a last resort. Let's not blame the govt for everything. We should accept our defaults when necessary

7. I really wish I could feel pity for this death row inmates but I honestly don't pity them one bit, they knew the consequences of bring drugs into the country and they still went ahead to perpetrate the evil act. Mrs Kork do u know how many innocent lives this people have destroyed because of their get rich quick schemes? They go about tarnishing the image of Nigerians, see the way our people are being treated in no nonsense countries embassy wen they go to seek visa. I don't pity them at all and I'm so glad that Indonesia is not ready to bend their laws to please anyone, bring drugs into the country you get caught you die. Meanwhile Tonto dike has released sugar rush video and I'm so angry that I watched it, even with dbanj in d video it is still the most wackiest and tackiest video ever

1. You're a very wicked human being. Even God forgives sinners that come to repentance so who the fuck are you or the Indonesian government compared to God?
      In fact eh you are just a very silly goat, hard heartened aturu

2. Look at how trivial things like tonto dike's video get ur attention.
      We are talking of a human life, our govt officials deserve death since they hav been looting and leaving us hungry, most pple dying...
      Wen next u go out, buy a heart, a murderer hung on d cross with Jesus, and he dint condemn him, but felt pity for him.
      Most pple who go into this is bcos of abject poverty, what hav u done to help on person in need??

3. Thanks bro, strongly agree wit u

4. *bringing, these people. ...'wackiest and tackiest'

5. Pink banana they have been executed, kill urself if my comment irks u this much. I don't pity them

6. Sister April please answer the question u asked me. I don't have heart for people like this. They knew the law and still went ahead, if they had succeeded they would have gone again. Bunch of hypocrites forming symphaty but will be the first to stone a common thief or kidnapper.

7. Boldly written on bill boards in airport entrances: DRUG TRAFFICKING IS PUNISHABLE BY DEATH! In their embassy visa applicants are also warned.

8. Heya, God of miracle pLs intervene. I feel pity for d families. Lesson to others.

9. Heya, God of miracle pLs intervene. I feel pity for d families. Lesson to others.

10. Asia,dead zone for drug traffickers....So sad. May their soul rest in peace

1. *souls. They are still alive bro.

2. As cruel as it sounds,these guys killed themselves. Powder biz is not for Asian countries.
      Stick to other places if you must do that.

11. We are all Nigerians but let's know the limit please. These men are old enough to know right from wrong and the risks involved in what they indulged in. How can people traveling with false documents say they don't know what they were carrying? For you to travel with a false passport, you are already a criminal and deserve whatever you get. Are they the first to fall on hard times? Aren't people suffering like hell everyday in Nigeria?! What the hell is capsules filled with goat horn powder?! Like Nigeria doesn't have a bad enough image in the international media they want to add drug cartels too. They KNOW how ruthless the Indonesian government is when it comes to drug related offenses. They aren't the first, and if others don't take note and retrace their steps, they won't be the last. Keep your tears Stella, they don't deserve it.

1. Heartless he goat, that's what you are!!!!

2. Okija wife comot for my front. Thanks.

12. I only feel sorry for the guy that didn't know what he was smuggling, the others i don't.

Stella Indonesia government said they don't want drug in their country and if you are caught, ,death penalty should be the consequence.

Ife onye cho ka ofu.

13. IT IS WELL!.......#LordHaveMercy!

14. Stella as painful as it is there is nothing anyone can do.

It is their country and their Laws. When Nigerians know that any dealing of drug is death sentence they still go there and still do the business.

They have to face the consequences. Leave all these Muslim countries alone, they wont listen. RIP to them and comfort to their families they left behind.
    When Idiagbon ordered the execution of the 3 guys there were uproar from the world.

but Indonesia, shout and cry for ever, they wont change their dragonian law.

15. I'm just so sad for words. ;-(

16. #Shivers
    I feel so sorry for these men and woman. Their families will be grieving right now...
    The media coverage with the coffin and all that is even heart breaking!!

The lives these drug lords have ruined in their line of business especially in Indonesia where a young child of 10 is already an addict makes me try to understand why they took this stance.

Reminds me of the boys shot to death in Imo State during the Otokoto saga,was young but the stories never left the streets even after years. Crime does not pay!

17. I offered a prayer for them. listening to one of Okwudili Oyatanze https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64ozq_xytmw

Father in heaven please take control but if it's your will, accept their souls into your presence.

1. The day I heard the story about the man that composed that igbo song that goes something like "enu uwa nka eh, ana ezi eluigwe a mam ebe nge bido ebido" my heart wept for the poor man.
      Don't think I can listen to any of okwudili's own.
      This is why I always tell my loved ones to pray for the choices they make. What happens to us in life is all a result of the choices we made whether good or bad, past or present. It's sad really

18. Omg! This is sooooo depressing.
    I hate stuff Like this.
    I'm against Capital Punishment regardless of the Crime.
    I wonder how they will be feeling.
    I shouldn't have opened this post. God why??
    I'm hoping for a Miracle dear Father, but if it doesn't come, prepare their Minds to face their death in Good Faith.

19. Their drugs have rendered lots of people useless and worthless,it has killed thousands in a painful and slow way. They did the crime,they should pay for it, this will serve as a deterrent to others who wants to go into drugs in Indonesian I wish it will be the same in other countries as well

20. Sad as it is i have been following the story and the execution is tonight by our time(i think) and they already made crosses to put over their graves its horrible. i feel sorry for them i just wonder how they feel knowing today is their last, atleast they have an opportunity to make peace with God.God rest their souls.

21. Hmmmmn,after 10 years of hoping against hope. I can't imagine the thoughts on their minds right now.

Btw Stella, Shola Rotimi Oluwole that was arrested in Thailand for hacking into emails and redirecting funds has not been released till now oh since January. He's my cousin. We have not been able to reach him at all.

You published it. Here's the link
    http://www.stelladimokokorkus.com/2015/01/nigerian-man-shola-rotimi-oluwole-and.html

Please who has an idea of what the penal system for such crime is in Thailand?

22. Can't hold back my tears. No need of them sleeping this night. May God accept your souls.

23. This kind of news can depress me ehn. I wonder how their friends and family will be feeling. It is well

24. This is really sad! Oyatanze's story is so heartbreaking, imagine singing/ realising albums from the prison?

for the guy that got married and have children? Choi!!! So the act of coitus is allowed in Indonesian prisons? issorait!

25. Stella, if the law says the penalty for carrying drugs is death and people still choose to carry drugs, what does that say to you?

1. 19:04, it says they are like a stubborn mule. Some will still not learn.Indonesian govt refused the plea, to pass a strong message. Rip to my fellow country men.

26. This story just messed me up

27. Catch a Nigerian drug dealer with drugs a hundred times korokoro and he'd still b forming innocent. Some may truely b innocent but..
    It's their country and their law, so there's nuffin anyone can do abt it. Whn u are caught, u get wasted.

RIP in advance

28. They don't joke with these sort of things. I will wish others will learn but no way. Others will still tow the same line. It is well.

29. So sad but there's nothing anyone can do abt it. It is well.

30. So sad really....when you are faced with death, you will know what real fear is....I hope they've made peace with God....The after life should be their utmost thought. May their souls rest in peace.

31. Pathetic. They should ask God for forgiveness and Go to Heaven. RIP in an Advance.

32. Thank God is not man,He gives us second chance,this bis a very wicked law after all the plea.Its a really sad situation

33. The Indonesian govt have no fault...these men knew the law and still went ahead to traffick drugs in their country...they think it is Nigeria where anything goes? The law must be fulfilled! Simple!!!

34. Sad, painful but a law is a law and must be uphold. All countries cannot be like Nigeria were laws are jokes and gross injustice abound.

35. they've have been executed already Stella,I heard it on stv news

#GODWIN

36. Rip to them! Very scary n really sad! My hrt goes out to their families

37. It is clearly written on the Indonesian visa that the penalty for drug peddling is death. I wonder why pple still have the mind to enter Indonesia with drugs. Am sure the indonesian govt turned down pleas to spare their life cos they don't want it to be a recurring thing. Besides use of hard drugs is so common in that country that it is said that a child of 10 years is already an addict. May God rest their souls.

38. The guys have all been executed except the Filipino lady, there is a new twist in her story

39. Too sad! I'm just lost for words, truly heaven is the BEST. I bless God for okwudili who repented before this sad end of his flesh. May God receive your soul. *tears*

40. My heart is so heavy right now,I still wonder what people go to countries like that to do,minus the law what is bad is bad,there conscience must have pricked them but because of their hard mind they will have to face this hard jurdgement,they wish they could just rewind or turn back the hands of the clock to when it all started...Hmmmm

41. Buhari did it before here in Nigeria to our nigerian citizens, no wonder him and his party APC did not condemn or comment on it, I think he will do again. Let us see whether he will be willing to extradit Tinubu and buruji when Americans comes for them.

1. Tinubu has been going to US. There is no extradition order for him. The case against tinubu was settled with the American govt after he forfeited about half a million dollars.

42. So sad, but they deserve it.