Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Family Loses 3 Children To Candle Fire In Lagos

Monday, June 15, 2015

Family Loses 3 Children To Candle Fire In Lagos

Three children on Saturday night died in an inferno that razed down their apartment in Egbeda-Akowonjo area of Lagos State. The fire, caused by a candle light, occurred at about 10 p.m., at No 20, Fakoya Street, Vulcaniser Bus Stop, Egbeda Akowonjo.

The three kids identified as Ifeoma, 9; Emeka, 7; and Udeoma, 3, were left alone in the house after their father had gone to check his wife, the mother of the children, in the hospital, where she had just given birth to their fourth child.

The Director of Lagos State Fire Service, Razak Fadipe, confirmed the incident in Lagos on Sunday said, 

“We got a distress call and when we got there, we discovered that, it was a building that was on fire.

“The building is located at No 20, Fakoya St, . Vulcaniser Bus Stop, Egbeda Akowonjo, a suburb of Lagos.

“The fire was caused by a candle, which was lit by their father, while he went to see his wife and the family’s new baby in the hospital,” he said.

*Original reportage by Vanguard, rewritten here *

OH GOD...NO!!!!

60 comments:

1. OMG!!..
    You see what poor power supply is doing to Nigerians...

Kai!!!...
    RIP!!!...

1. Hmmm.
      3 gone to be replaced by 1.
      Ma fi ikan gba kan lowo mi, Oluwa.

2. Aaaah, Stells my friend was der live. I hv real pics and videos. I deleted dem coz dey were gory! I will get it from her and send to you

1. So heart breaking but why you go leave candle on for kids, prefer even lantern to candle....

Rip to the dead

3. Please people should stop using candles, rechargeable lamps aren't that expensive.

1. May their souls RIP....so sad....they havent even lived

2. I'm telling u. Not after the last disaster that also claimed the lives of 3 kids. Parents should stop this nonsense. Ahhh one too many. This is so sad.

4. Jesus Christ!!!! The same Fakoya I visit every other day for Iya Peju. This is tragic. Ha, ikunle abiyamo. Oh my God. If electricity was constant, would this have happened? I cannot wrap my head around this tragic incident. Losing three kids just like that? Jesus is Lord.

5. Jesus Christ!!!! The same Fakoya I visit every other day for Iya Peju. This is tragic. Ha, ikunle abiyamo. Oh my God. If electricity was constant, would this have happened? I cannot wrap my head around this tragic incident. Losing three kids just like that? Jesus is Lord.

6. Jesus Christ!!!! The same Fakoya I visit every other day for Iya Peju. This is tragic. Ha, ikunle abiyamo. Oh my God. If electricity was constant, would this have happened? I cannot wrap my head around this tragic incident. Losing three kids just like that? Jesus is Lord.

7. How can an old man leave his 3kids with a candle light at night to go to such a far place... More so, after 3kids, wetin them dey find again. . .... At least Dem don born Abiropo them don happy. Careless parents ..... R.I.P to the innocent kids.

1. Hey Kingrex!
      Pls watch it... HUSHHHHH

2. Hey KingRex!
      Watch it........HUSHHHHH

3. God punnish your loose mouth. Insensitive buffon.

4. Rudegirl don't mind me jare, I was just carried away with my thoughts especially as this candle fire thing is really becoming too constant. Thanks for bringing. @Fierce: You take Aba drugs abi? You better park far from my comment.

8. OMG!!!

May their souls rest in peace. So sad....

9. Eeyah, how sad. Poor babies, may they rip

10. Ewooooo
    This is sad
    Jesus Christ please comfort this family

11. People no dey hear.
    DO AWAY WITH CANDLES.
    Torch from aboki dey.
    With 200,you can get one.
    See how he killed his kids na.
    What will he tell their mum?

May they RIP.
    What agony!

1. Yes o Irene. Na torch and lamp sure pass. I have a no candle,no matches policy in my home. Gas burner ignites,I don't use a lantern either. No be say pepper don rest o,but with kids and men,some things have to be put in place.

2. I remember someone telling me that naked candle light has its own evil spirit. That when u are there and the candle is lit in front of u, even when it has burnt to the last layer it will go off by itself and not catch fire. But that if u dare to leave the same candle and u are out of sight, it will spread and burn the whole place down. I have heard this like so many times and I'm beginning to believe it, superstitious belief or not. So sad

12. may the departed souls rest in peace

#GODWIN™

13. Oh God! Chai! Now dis is beyond sad.....

14. This is so sad. R.I.P

15. OMG, what a sad news. FG should barn d production of candle. This case is getting rampant.

16. May God comfort their family

17. And a nine year old is too young to handle candle fire or run away with her younger one when the fire became out of control.... RIP to the dead children,wonder what their mother must be goin through now

1. They were sleeping and maybe in the confusion and thick smoke,they wouldnt have seen the door.

18. Chai! Candle? Not again. In this time where there are rechargeable and battery lamps that are affordable? This is carelessness at its peak. Ha! May the souls of those kids rest in peace. It is well.

19. Noooooooooo!!!!! Oh God why?????. *shivers*

20. Jesu Christi!
    *crying**
    This is heartbreaking...
    May their gentle soul rest in perfect peace...Amen!

21. Sad, sad news............

R.I.P little ones

22. Omg!what a tragedy.may their innocent soul rip..Pple still use candles,chai its well..

23. Sad news
    RIP little angels
    God console the family, Amen!!!

Mama D

24. Jeez!!!!! What a tragedy.RIP Emeka,Ifeoma and Udeoma.All children gone in one day I feel for their parent

25. OMG! Wot a world; 3 kids gone in a blink of an eye. Instead of being joyful ova safe delivery, she will b grieving ova d loss of her kids. Its high time ppl replaced d use of candles in dia homes wt rechargeable lamps n torchlights. Power supply isn't costant where I stay but I can't remember wen last I used a candle. Rip t d lil ones. Dear Lord grant dia parent d fortitude t bear dia loss.

26. Candles have led to too many fire accidents in this country. I'm so sorry for the family. What a painful death!

27. I don't know why we keep making this kind of mistake year in, year out.
    Candles are not safe again.

So sad!

28. R.I.P lil ones. i wonder why parents still use candle in this age. Growing up my dad never permitted candles in the house it was always kerosene lanterns now its just rechargeable lamps and torchlight we use at home.

29. People will never learn
    Candles have caused many fire incident yet people still use it
    Rip to the little ones
    It's so sad

30. OMG!! May their beautiful souls RIP.So so sad.May God give their family the strength to pull through this diffcult time.
    naijaflo.com

31. Wao. . .this is pure carelessness, Why do people still use candle anyway when you can use a kerosene lantern, rechargeable lantern or torchlight.

Rip little children

32. And how much is rechargeable lamp for God's sake?

Pls pls pls and pls, everybody should do away with candles in their house. Can't even dwell on this.

33. Ooh my!!!
    This is so saddening.
    RIP to this innocent young ones.

Never knew people still used candles what with all the cheap rechargeable lamps.
    Hmmmmm

34. Oh my God!This is sad.May their souls rest in peace,Amen
    I wonder how the father will be feeling now,knowing he mistakenly caused it.

35. Let God take total control.

36. Sad sad story. Parents be careful. Torches go as low as 200 naira. My son has one he uses personally,even when he goes to bed in case he has to use d bathroom @ night. Prevention is better than cure. May God console the familly and give them beauty for ashes.

1. So you are supposed to be a mother with your mouth like the calabash used in carrying sacrifices by the Ibadan people them. With all these your cursing formula and not minding your own comments, you are actually a mother. Orue yin popovwe. Tufia!

37. Jesus christ!!!
    This Is sad...
    3 children at a time???
    Oh no!!!

38. Lord have mercy!
    This man will blame himself for the rest of his life
    Sad incident.

39. Oh God dis is so sad!!! God help us o were there no neighbours in d house? Hw come nobody noticed on time? Hoooooooo! My heart gose for d parents. It is well o