Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Aviation Authority Demands Report From Aero Contractors Over The Faulty Aircraft That Almost Killed 120 Passengers Aboard

Monday, June 08, 2015

Nigerian Aviation Authority Demands Report From Aero Contractors Over The Faulty Aircraft That Almost Killed 120 Passengers Aboard

Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority has demanded a mandatory occurrence report from Aero Contractors Airline, following the technical fault developed by one of its aircraft mid-air on Friday.

The General Manager, Public Affairs of NCAA, Fan Ndubuoke, disclosed this in a telephone interview in Lagos, reports News Agency of Nigeria. 

The Aero Contractors Airline Flight 180, which was carrying not fewer than 120 passengers from Lagos to Kaduna, had to be diverted to Abuja for emergency landing.

The aircraft was said to have suddenly lost altitude, 20 minutes after it departed the domestic wing of the Murtala Muhammed Airport, Lagos.
A statement by the airline had confirmed, “There was depressurisation in the aircraft cabin leading to the dropping of oxygen masks.”

It added that Aero had a maintenance facility in Abuja hence the flight was diverted there to fix the problem.

However, Mr. Ndubuoke said the airline had contacted the NCAA over the incident.

“They have told us what happened but it will not stop us from doing our own investigation,” he said. “NCAA has demanded them to give us a report of what happened.”

The official noted that one of its directors was on the said flight, adding that the whole report had been exaggerated.

He said: “A lot of people said the engine caught fire, but there is no way that an engine will catch fire mid-air and everybody will be spared.

“There was nothing like fire incident on the plane and Aero has issued a statement that the airline lost pressure and was diverted to land in Abuja.

“After landing, they brought another aircraft to take the passengers to Kaduna but some of them were afraid to continue with the trip.”

Mr. Ndubuoke emphasised that the aircraft involved in the incident would not fly until there was a complete investigation and re-certification by the NCAA.

Source: News Agency of Nigeria

30 comments:

1. since june its been fire mishaps...God abeg na ur hand we de oooh!..thank God for his mercies we didnt get to mourn any soul no b all dis stories una de type.

2. Aero, Chai that's wat I usually use oo.

3. Thank God. No life was lost

4. I hope this is not for show off and they mean it cos things like this are swept under the carpet

#GODWIN™

5. The rot in that sector ehn...
    Thats how they grounded discovery 4 ficticious reason even though all their aircrafts and crew were on point. Heard sm ppl wanted 2 be settled. They better start doing their jobs else...change will catch up with them

1. Jeez! You need to do your research before spewing. Discovery was grounded because they were owing staff salaries for months. Not for any other reason.

6. I work in the aviation industry and aero is one of the safest airlines...thank God it ended in praise....the demand from NCAA is routine and only expected

7. All these local airways always playing with people's life. Thank God nothing happened to them.

8. Thank God everything was ok. 120 passengers only God would have known what were in their mind, when they told them there is an emergency.

I can see the government is working.

9. Thank God the government is atlst doing smthn abt dese our Airlines,let dem give formal report on what happened and how it can be prevented nxt time.
    This is why I am so scared of flying Local in dis country, I use to do Arik before, had a bad xperience and switched to Aero, now this. Which airline is safe in dis country.
    And to say na man I dey go find in Abuja, how will I see my boo now? it's seriously scary bcos I don't have cause to travel xcept to see him. I have told him his doing d nxt visiting,evrytime I travel,my eyes are closed in prayers for d whole 1hr flight. Make I no go die untop man dat hasn't married me yet. Man dat will mourn for how long and sharply move to anoda babe.
    Make love no cum shorten my enemy life span abeg.

1. Okay,give night bus a try then,lol.
      u can pray sincerely to God and be close to God,tell God that untimely death can never be ur portion,u are not better than those that died in other plane crashes,simply have a healthy relationship with God in heaven,and simply tell him wat u want,tell him u cnt roast in a plane crash,for ur sake,once u get on a plane,it won't crash.
      I cnt remember how many times I hv flown in several airlines,arik,medview,irs,chaghanchi airlines,but God has spared my life.
      Man or no man,people that get married,date first,na from clap dem dey enter dance,I dnt even know why I hv preached so much to u.
      Well do not be a reader and hearer only,be a doer too oh.
      Develop a father daughter relationship with God biko(please) and u will be safe.

2. You are scared because you fuck on those trips abi..

3. I really dnt like travelling, whether air,land or sea, whenever I travel through air I get so scared,I no even get mind to look through the window when d plane don de move

4. Yea,anon 12:41,she definitely f**ks on those trips.

5. I once travelled to Abuja to fornicate with a married man,as i was coming back the plane developed a mechanical problem. I just started begging God for forgiveness o. Praise God i made it.

10. I thought Aero airline is one of the safest in nigeria,Thank God it all end in praise

11. IRENE B IRENE B8 June 2015 at 12:09

Thank God for the aversion of that near mishap. A very close friend of ours was on that flight. He said he was crying so hard,remembering his little daughter and his new born sons. He said he was thinking how his wife wld cope with his three kids,if she'd be alright. He said he remembered me n my family,infact he was crying n clutching to his Rosary n shouting Jesus Jesus please na.(this guy can form o,no shouting during prayers,bt he said he shouted more than Pastor...). He said he was almost paralysed with fear. When the plane finally landed n they told them they can use it again to their destination,he ran o. He took an airport taxi to where he was going n came back to ph yesterday. He was crying on the phone,the wife was crying too saying they will never fly again.

1. The fear alone is worse than the crash itself. That's why I can't imagine what those who crashed must have gone through knowing that they were about to die. This one that happened, they said some pple fainted. Imagine if they died from the faint, shock would have killed them and not the crash.
      That feeling is terrible, you won't even know how to pray. Your life will just run through ur mind in seconds, confession will follow, and mercy would be all that u ask. I have experienced it before o, so I know how it is. For 1hour make person no know wetin go happen, even the pilot was said to be jittery.. Chai that alone can kill.

12. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said..
    Thank God no one died though....

13. They will make noise then sweep thw whole thing under the carpet, if I hear anybody shout Buhari change under this my comment ehn...change ko change ni

14. Thank God...
    The devil failed #Godwin

15. Aero contractors always have technical issues..... they hardly fly wtout fixing or tightening one nut or the other on their aircrafts...these people should shut down already...the aviation industry is a mess

1. I tire for you o. That fixing or tightening as you put it are checks that every aircraft has to go thru before they can be cleared to go on any flight.

16. Can we have someone like Fashola as Minister of Aviation or Education?

Can we have 10 Fasholas or even 5 to handle Agriculture, Education, Oil&Gas, Aviation.... the stench from these destroyed sectors has reached Heaven's Gate.... Life is simple.

17. Anon 12.41,wetin concern you. Dem no dey fuck you ??? or ur one of dos ppl dat cant get a decent lay and cum and lay ur fraustrations on dis blog. mschewwww........

18. Authentic gist8 June 2015 at 15:42

@ Ms. Nicey please stop spreading propaganda. Some BVs will actually believe you. You know bad news carries fast. Which one be "they always have technical issues?" Do you work for the competition Lol!

But seriously, we thank God that the Capt took the right decision when the cabin lost pressure. When you fly do you remember the cabin crew demonstrating what to do in the event of cabin pressure drop? The oxygen in the mask that falls only lasts for about 10-12mins. After that the oxygen is exhausted. NOW when the masks are deployed, the plane needs to descend rapidly to a lower level WITHIN THAT TIME FRAME because the higher above sea level the airplane is, the less the oxygen available within the cabin. And remember that in 10-12 mins there'll be no more oxygen from the masks. So the pilot has to make a dive from 28000-36000 feet(depends)to about 10000 feet where the passengers & crew aboard can now breathe without the masks. And that was what happened.

Now the real question here is "Why was there a drop in pressure?" I am sure that the NCAA will not sweep it under the carpet. NCAA has a lot riding on Aerocontractors. Aerocontractors is an IATA member and passed the recent IATA Operational Safety Audit (IOSA). This audit is of International standard carried out by IATA and not NCAA, so no favoritism. Aerocontractors is the first indigenous airline in Nigeria to be certified with an Aircraft Maintenance Organisation (AMO) licence. By this licence, Aero maintains the aircrafts of other airlines within Nigeria and from other neighbouring countries.

So please let's trust God to always protect our lives while we humans on our part do what we need to do. In aerocontractors, safety is given a P1 status you can take this to the bank. Into God's hands we trust.

1. Hmmm...learned something new here. About the pressure drop and logistics. Wonderful. Yea, atimes we ignore the safety demonstrations aboard because we think we already know what it entails. Truth is, whether u know it or not, at the point emergencies like this occur you'll be so numb and blank. Nothing will make sense o.