Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: March Is Autoimmune Disease Awareness Month

Wednesday, March 22, 2017

March Is Autoimmune Disease Awareness Month

Jasmine Oguns has Alopecia and she beautifully captures her feelings in this poem to mark the Autoimmune Disease awareness month.......

"BEAUTIFULLY BALD"

I am far from perfection,
And unready for it,
Imperfection is originality.
I was born to be real
Not crafted to be perfect.

The shorter the hair,
The harder they stared.
Murmurs of mockery trailed
My eardrums as I showed
Up in school.
Unruffled at first,
With hopes for a futuristic story of change...
...years ran out...
...and things remained the same.

I was torn apart,
Emotionally Broken down,
Sorely sick,
And physically weakened.
Friends were made in a jiffy,
And lost in the blink of an eye.

Depression seeped into my
Beautiful soul,
Burdened by disappointment
And shame.
In this captivity of anxiety,
Stripped of all confidence,
My sense of humour fled
To distant horizons,
As I lost my mind in totality.

On the verge of giving in,
To suicidal thoughts that sneered
At my despondency;
A voice softly whispered;
"Be who you are,
say what you feel."
"Those who mind don't matter,
And those who matter don't mind."
Friendship isn't about duration,
It's about consistency."

Once plagued with the
Fear of pain,
I finally learnt that pain
Is necessary for Growth.
Imperfect I seemed,
Permanently and inevitably flawed,
Yet so beautiful.
No hair?
Don't care!

No Hair diaries by Jasmine Oguns.
#iamjasmine
#knowautoimmune #knowalopecia #autoimmuneawarenessmonth #march #alopeciaawareness #nohairdontcare.

27 comments:

1. Wonderful....she looks amazing

2. Learnt about in genetics class,it is well

3. She is so pretty,I love you already.

4. She's still fine. Is she related to Charlie boy???

1. U are a senseless fool, what an insensitive statement!! Can't u read that she has alopecia? U son or daughter of a dog!! U think ur comment is funny.. choke on a dick

2. Jeez so much hate for an innocent comment...pls take a chill pill abeg, no be your own bad pass haba!

3. Anonymous, you are the foolish one who should choke on your words.
      Is Charlie Boy leprous that asking if they are related be construed as an insult?
      Anuofia.

5. Nawa o this life sef be as e get*huh* Being strong is the only option here and can see you garrit. Its well with you!

6. So is this poem about the disease?! Is this poem educating someone ?! Instead of telling ppl about the disease ure busy taking pics looking like Charlie boy . Smh.

1. U insensitive idiot...horrible fool@ anonymous 9:02. Wicked imbecile

2. How do i make you understand the messages embedded in this poem?
      Wont it be fruitless? Let me try.

She touched on self confidence,suicidal thoughts,self pity,bullying etc.

This is not actually her first article here.
      We have treated alopecia here,shes even done a skit.

Refer to old posts if you are free.

Nice poem.

7. Her Poems pulled at my heart-strings....She's beautiful where it matters the most.
    beauty of the heart will always shine through...God keep you dear.

8. Beautiful piece.No hair? Don't care! Not everyone has fantastic hair. I wish people will stop asking me why my hair line is M shaped.

9. Strong words. Poem on point. I remember when she almost sued wazobia-tv for putting their water mark on her skit. Hair or no hair she's beautiful

10. Auto immune disease are becoming rampant. Or maybe they ve always been there and people are just more aware cos of social media. My younger sister was a casualty. May God cleanse this earth of diseases. Amen. This post just brought back memories...

11. Beautiful it is well with you

12. That sickness ehn. It will take all the hair, eyebrows and all. Will eat up finger nails as well. God have mercy.

13. She beautiful despite no hair

14. That's my girl..ever making us proud...ride on T-baby#gorgeous

15. Only d hair ma. The nails are not affected

16. Go Tolu..(like Tolu)..You are beautifully made.

17. Go Tolu..( like Tolu)..You are beautifully made.