Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Containers Of Rice Donated To IDP's By Chinese Govt Rot In NEMA’s Warehouse

Thursday, April 19, 2018

Containers Of Rice Donated To IDP's By Chinese Govt Rot In NEMA’s Warehouse

The Director-General of National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA), Mustapha Maihaja, has been under investigation for alleged violation of public trust, financial improprieties and mismanagement of relief materials from donors.

Among other allegations, the House of Representatives committee on national emergency and disaster preparedness is grilling the NEMA boss on how the agency managed 6,779 metric tons of rice donated by the Chinese Government to internally displaced persons in Nigeria. According to Saharareporters it was gathered from sources in the agency that NEMA did not commence clearance of rice for more than six months after the rice donation had entered the shores of Nigeria.

Hence, over 5000 bags of the rice, meant for Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) in the Northeast region, had spoilt before the agency disbursed to the various camps in the region. During the interrogation of the NEMA boss by the committee, it was revealed that over 100 containers of rice are yet to be cleared at the ports. Already, the rice had cost taxpayers N400 million as demurrage and additional N161 million expenditure on delivery and logistics.

The committee presided over by the Deputy Chairman, Ali Isa, a Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) lawmaker from Gombe state, also queried NEMA for allege N3 billion rice contract awarded to Olam Nigeria Limited and Two Brothers without checking for tax clearance of the companies. The NEMA boss, however, denied wrongdoing, saying the agency engaged the companies “under emergency as prescribed under Emergency Act”.

12 comments:

1. OMG. Na wa.

See rice that people are looking for?

2. Nigeria my country. I fear who no fear this country

3. Corrupt bastards everywhere, ur own pple oooo, depriving them of food....anyway, serves u all right! I got my pvc...

4. Why do Nigerian poli-trictians enjoy the suffering of their citizens?
    If you sniff well now you'd find that this rice is already being sold in the market. He will just carry it and give his siblings and friends to make money.

5. Wickedness oooooo!! Why won't they heartless when he is a northner. After displacing them from their homes, you still want to starve them too? How can you let food rot and go to attenuate like that? God will punish all of you responsible. Why can't he be sacked before you start probing him?

1. so many questions my dear.
      Nigeria we hail thee!
      Heart of man, desperately wicked.

6. God pls punish every single person responsible for hardship and stagnation in this country called Nigeria.

7. This country sef tire me..imagine the waste..this country needs flushing

Mc pinky