Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria’s Minister Of Information, Lai Mohammed Meets With Facebook Officials Over IPOB Activities On Facebook...

Wednesday, May 18, 2022

Nigeria’s Minister Of Information, Lai Mohammed Meets With Facebook Officials Over IPOB Activities On Facebook...

Nigeria’s Minister of Information, Lai Mohammed, has told Facebook to do more in barring the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), from using its platform to incite violence.

Mohammed stated this during a meeting with a team from Facebook in Abuja on Tuesday; May 17, 2022.

The Minister claimed several people have been killed because of IPOB’s activities.

“I have called this meeting to enable us to discuss the increasing use of Facebook by separatists and anarchists, especially those of them based outside the country, to instigate violence and ethnic hatred in Nigeria.

“For whatever reason, they seem to have now chosen Facebook as their platform of choice. And their tools include disinformation, incendiary statements and hate speech.

“They use Facebook broadcasts to reach their followers, who are in thousands. They tag those opposed to their violent ways as ‘saboteurs’ who must be attacked, maimed and killed. They use both English and their local language as it suits them.

“Our social media people have been monitoring these separatists, anarchists and purveyors of hate, and have been reporting their atrocious actions to Facebook, but all they get are default responses that their complaints have been received and are being looked into.

“Most often than not, nothing is done about such complaints. The truth is that whatever Facebook is doing to check these people is mere tokenism and is totally ineffective,” Mohammed said.

from dailypost

12 comments:

1. He's absolutely spot on here..

IPOB or whatever should stop with their wanton killings plus destruction of properties already..Smh!

I have never seen a group that incites violence like the IPOB does..

Vin.

1. Are you serious
      Chai!!!

2. Oga Liar Mohammed kukuma tell them to help IPOB get their own independence. They are tired of being in this shit hole. Tell your oga Vuhariya to invite everyone for amicable divorce.

2. I applaud him for this great step he's taking to fight this murderous sect that see themselves as 'god'. I'm from the East and I'm fully against the activities of eyepub. Whatever they are fighting for shouldn't come before human lives that they perish like grass on a daily basis.
    Anything within the powers of the government to call them to order and bring the culprits to book: I'm in full and total support.

Also, I will like him to look into the activities of some sect in a certain violent religion who all they do is call the for the heads and as much as kill their so called infidels. We must fight it all in totalism. The genesis of all these stems from nepotism and favoritism; where a particular violent group is handled with an iron fist while the other is being spoon-fed.
    We must learn to call a spade a spade and handle things the way it should be handled...walks out

1. What foolish step? Where's safe in Nigeria? IPOB is also responsible for the numerous atrocities happening all over the country? See how they easily deceive some of you, let them continue to scratch the surface and things will continue getting worse.

2. #JusticeForDeborah #FreeLeahSharibu

3. It’s a good move. Criminals are overrunning the East in the guise of IPOB. Disturbing the peace of citizens that didn’t send Kanu to Kenya.

4. go to the same FB and see comments from the blood thirsty northern Islamic murderers and terrorists. they wont talk about that. The buhari government is barking harder at IPOB than the bandits and terrorist from the north.. They should apply the same pressure on all sectorial killings period...

5. Nigeria as a whole is in jeopardy no corner is safe, let's not deceive ourselves and be calling IPOB they're not the only problem, this group operates in East, at least we understand their grievance "they want Nnamdi released" Northern part of the country is worse, These ones have different groups making lives unbearable for no reason. The earlier we face the whole issue the better. IPOB is not the major issue in this country now tell yourselves the truth. Boko Haram didn't use Facebook and they're still in operation till tomorrow. Tell yourselves the truth you cowards, Nigeria is on serious fire. Most of these evil politicians are now taking advantage of this IPOB just to make them look bad. It's better our Colonial masters come back at this point. Very foolish set of people in power.

6. IPOB will keep giving them HBp. Liar Mohammed face front and leave them alone. Tell your oga to do the right thing and stop running your mouth. Facebook no be twitter o.