Eighteen months after the death of former Ondo State Governor, Oluwarotimi Akeredolu, the state government has revealed that a coroner’s inquest will be launched to probe the cause of his death.
The state government, through the Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice, Kayode Ajulo, disclosed that the move became imperative following a request from some concerned citizens of the state who submitted a petition to the Ministry of Justice.
According to Ajulo, the petitioners—whose identities he did not disclose—alleged that the widow of the late Akeredolu, Betty, and others were suspected of being behind the demise of the former governor.
Akeredolu died in December 2023 after succumbing to prostate cancer, which he battled for a while during his tenure as governor of the Sunshine State.
While emphasising that the coroner’s law in the state was designed to address public concerns surrounding deaths considered unnatural or controversial, Ajulo emphasised that under the law, any citizen or group who reasonably suspects foul play or has lingering questions about a person’s death has the legal right to demand a coroner’s inquest.
Ajulo, who stressed that the law would be allowed to take its course without bias or sentiment, said:
“It is not out of place for citizens to demand its invocation when there are legitimate concerns.”
The chief legal officer of the state revealed that petitions over the request were received from within and outside the state, including professional bodies, as well as from the late former governor’s hometown.
Ajulo maintained that the petitioners raised concerns over what they described as the “unguarded and unhinged conduct” of the former First Lady, with the claim that her actions cast doubt on the official narrative that the former governor died from cancer-related complications.
Dailypost
According to Ajulo, the petitioners—whose identities he did not disclose—alleged that the widow of the late Akeredolu, Betty, and others were suspected of being behind the demise of the former governor.
Akeredolu died in December 2023 after succumbing to prostate cancer, which he battled for a while during his tenure as governor of the Sunshine State.
While emphasising that the coroner’s law in the state was designed to address public concerns surrounding deaths considered unnatural or controversial, Ajulo emphasised that under the law, any citizen or group who reasonably suspects foul play or has lingering questions about a person’s death has the legal right to demand a coroner’s inquest.
Ajulo, who stressed that the law would be allowed to take its course without bias or sentiment, said:
“It is not out of place for citizens to demand its invocation when there are legitimate concerns.”
The chief legal officer of the state revealed that petitions over the request were received from within and outside the state, including professional bodies, as well as from the late former governor’s hometown.
Ajulo maintained that the petitioners raised concerns over what they described as the “unguarded and unhinged conduct” of the former First Lady, with the claim that her actions cast doubt on the official narrative that the former governor died from cancer-related complications.
Dailypost
Who is surprised?
ReplyDeleteThe woman gave him prostrate?. Mad, tribalistic people
DeleteShe criticized the Oba of Olowo heavily. How can the Oba sit down & watch them demolish the Olowo Cenotaph?
DeleteShe called him a BABY OBA.
They should exhume dead body & find what she used in calling him or the rope she used in strangling him, she said what she said.
They must sha accuse the widow. Let's see how this plays out...
ReplyDeletePolitics has stated all because she cried out recently over the degrading of her late husbands legacies. Shame to the authorities.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmmm! Mattress arising ๐ง
ReplyDeleteBut the late governor died of prostate cancer, or is there something I'm not understanding, are they going to exume his body to conduct autopsy?
ReplyDeleteI hope the accusation on his wife isn't because of tribalism and her character.
He had cancer na. Ah! Allow her mourn her late husband. Must women ALWAYS be responsible when their husbands die??
ReplyDeleteIt's really terrible ๐๐๐
DeleteDid she mourn her husband? Woman who made them bring down her husband back to Nigeria just because she didn’t want to lose grip on power? Was she a caring wife? Nonsense mourning. Then came out publicly saying the husband was reckless in not taking his health issues serious.
DeleteDon't stress yourself, this one is purely politics, see how they didn't mention the names of those who made the enquiry? The current govt (read that as the 'govano') want to just show her pepper because she heavily opposed them when her husband was still alive, particularly a year to 2 before he tied when he had become obviously sick.
DeleteI thought that they said easterners are the only ones who mistreat widows? Mschew
ReplyDeleteFirst thing that came to mind when I read this
DeleteAnon 17:16, I think it's because the woman is from the East, that's why they want to pin her husband death on her, wicked people.
DeleteThis is purely politics, not really about tribal talks.
Delete17:16
Maltreat you say?
Have they cut her hair to shine like bottle?
Have they asked her to bathe with the water used in washing her late hubby's corpse?
Have they collected all her husband's properties, chase her out of where she is living and locked everywhere up?
Have they?
Just get out abeg, your tribe are evul
Anon 17:16, stop watching too much Nollywood movies.
DeleteThis man was sick for long that he even stayed long overseas for treatment. How come his wife is now the suspect?
ReplyDeleteYou people accused this woman of lying that her husband was still alive just to maintain his office, the same woman that you said was desperate to remain your First Lady is the same woman you’re accusing of kpaing her husband? Make una fear God o
I'm telling you! They should stand for one accusation. Yesterday they were accusing her of holding on to power today dey are saying she killed him. Hiannnnnn
DeleteShe was desperate to have her grip on power while her husband was busy suffering and under treatment. Dragged the dick man to Nigeria, governing from Ibadan in sickness and pains, installed her sons, just not to be out of the domain of power. Look her tweets, bigoted.
DeleteHian! ๐๐
ReplyDeleteHe died of prostate Cancer, according to the autopsy, why accuse his widow?
ReplyDeleteThere was no autopsy.
DeleteEven at this old age, wow, Nigeria oooooo
ReplyDeleteThe low key tribalism that has always existed could have been managed by those in power. Now with this new presidency it has grown exponentially. So much hate for Igbos in Yoruba land. Such a shame. It was never like this.
ReplyDeleteIt is a shame for you to tribalize the on going issue, real big shame.
DeleteThanks
DeleteYemi7up are you awake?!!!
DeleteHe had prostate for a long time.
ReplyDeleteSo how did ahe kill him.
Omo, na wa oooo
ReplyDeleteAbegii.... someone that battled prostate cancer for long.
ReplyDeleteAdunni
When a husband dies, one way or another, his death must be connected to his wife, but when the wife dies, it is called amuwa Olorun. I'm guessing the former first lady is not dancing to their tunes, may God help her.
ReplyDeleteTribalism nothing more, they’ll need evidence in court or you cash out ma. Let them pay through their nose for defamation.
ReplyDeleteUna go just open mouth talk nonsense,Tribalism,t least she was not asked to shave her head and drink dead body water unlike our people from the rising sun.
DeleteAfter Autopsy Test Confirm He Died Of Prostrate Cancel
ReplyDeleteWetin Come Be The Problem
Lord Have Mercy ๐
Women endangered gender. ๐๐๐. Always the culprit
ReplyDeleteKayode Ajulo should know better than this nonsense and the governor should not be this high on ether this early. The governor should lso have taken a better approach: announce the replacement and start building instead of allowing a woman with keen interest in your failure and little control over her emotions to whip up sentiments.
ReplyDeleteYes, the ex first lady was desperate and uncouth when Aketi was ill, running a shadow government and not disclosing his location or status to those in his government who should know, even making moves to have you impeached but you don't fight dirty with people who's aim is to muddy you up. It's not like she didn't have a good reason to dislike you if the allegations of wife beating are true.
In wife beater Vs rude selfish wife, nobody is a saint. This fracas will only damage Aketi's legacy.
Ajulo should get elders involved to dissolve this case. Ipako o gbo suti is what the governor and Oba should be doing now. Rebuild a befitting edifice in the right place where tradition and the dead are honoured and for others, have the courage next time to tell any governor where he is in error no matter the assistance he rendered in the past. I'm tired of governors wasting resources pulling down and rebuilding with no progress being made.
You're the only one so far who understands what exactly is going on, this has Ayeda....'s hands written all over it it stinks to high heavens.
DeleteYeah, she afflicted him with cancer and killed him in Germany, dumb idiots.
ReplyDeleteToor this one off me...
ReplyDeleteDid she infect him with cancer abi what is with the baseless allegations
Haaaaaaa ๐ฏ
ReplyDeleteNa wa ooooooo
This brought back sad memories, my hubby died of same prostrate cancer, I was accused of killing him, was called so many unprinted names, ridiculed, mocked all because they wanted his money/properties.
ReplyDeleteThese people have no idea the depth of pains associated with losing your lovely husband to something as cruel as cancer, they added to my sorrow in a way I never imagined, oh I cried to God of justice and guess what, they’re suffering more than me today.
Are you a christian/Christ-like? Is that what you wish for - an eye for an eye? You are no different from them - wicked and evil, all of you!
Delete05:17, is 'an eye for an eye' not in the Bible?
DeleteIf you try evil near me, you will collect it back in double dose.
Ps: I'm not the widow with he first comment.
Accusing a widow wrongly is one of the gravest mistakes people make, no matter how tempted you are, don’t do it.
ReplyDeleteFrom all the comments in the comment section few Nigerians a learned. They are just arm chair critique nothing more. They look for ways to explain away issues they don't understand even if they need to keep quiet. Inquest into death is to see the lessons you can learn from such circumstances moving forward and is very common in the west. Aketi died of Prostrate, but there is lessons to be learned from his care despite the fact he had access to prime medical services.
ReplyDeleteAnd you are who to conclude based on these few comments here that few Nigerians are learned?
DeleteDoes this comment of yours portray you as being amongst the few learned or among the unintelligent but educated ones? Assumption they say is the lowest form of knowledge.