Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Beverly Osu Says Movie Role Left Her Depressed

Tuesday, August 19, 2025

Actress Beverly Osu Says Movie Role Left Her Depressed

Actress and model Beverly Osu has revealed that her role in the Netflix original film Òlòtūré left her depressed for months.
She says that the intense nature of her role led to an identity crisis, causing her to battle depression for three months.

She said: “What we are is what they call method actors. I can’t just read a script, execute it, and then in two days become another person. It takes a lot of mental detox before I can enter into another character.
“When I shot Òlòtūré and left the set, I was depressed for three months because of an identity crisis. I was trying to search and piece together fragments of Beverly in order to bring myself back.”

BBC Pidgin

20 comments:

1. Sorry dear. One of the hazards of your job

2. I can imagine when you take a whole year acting who you are not. Its said that whatever you listen to consistently, is what you become.

3. I can relate with what she said, cos u keep reading lines upon on lines in ur ahead.

4. I can relate with what she said, cos u keep reading lines upon on lines in ur ahead.

5. Acting is not child’s play unless the actor fails to fully immerse themselves in the character they are portraying. It’s that level of dexterity that defines a good actor. That phase is over now, Beverly. If there’s a sequel, letting this slip could cost you another chance.

6. 🤣🤣🤣🤣 this one self dey call herself method actor. Anyways, if you don’t hype yourself who will?

1. And who knows you, werey?

2. Hahaha… I shock as I see method actor. Anyway like you said she has to hype herself

7. Seasonal actor. Your will be fine.

8. Well, it happens. I think she became too attached to the character

9. You no be actor then.
    You never mature for actor job shah.