Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ondo State Bans Graduation Ceremonies For Nursery And JSS3 Pupils

Thursday, August 28, 2025

Ondo State Bans Graduation Ceremonies For Nursery And JSS3 Pupils

These governors are just giving me Joyyyyy......LOL

On Wednesday August 27, 2025, Ondo state banned graduation ceremonies for nursery pupils and Junior Secondary School 3 students, and also prohibited the practice of compelling parents to buy new textbooks every academic session.

The state govt described the practice as unnecessary, exploitative, and a needless financial burden on parents, and stressed that graduation ceremonies should be limited to pupils completing Primary Six and Senior Secondary School, SS 3, as these remain the officially recognised exit points in the state’s education system.

Edo, Imo, and Benue states had, a few weeks earlier, also abolished graduation ceremonies in kindergarten, nursery, and basic schools, as well as the use of customised books.

32 comments:

1. I agree with the customised books but the graduation is a stretch nau

1. Parents are being over burdened with the bills. All graduating classes pay extra, in Abuja some schs pay as high as 100k extra on top of sch fees for third term, just for graduation. For God’s sake a child graduating from nursery 2 is worth all that celebration? In this hard economy? Some of those kids cry all through, some don’t even know they are graduating. If you want to celebrate a pre schooler, when they finish nursery, please take them out, let them go and have fun in kid friendly places, but they shouldn’t over burden parents. A time will come when they will be celebrated, even they will join and know why we are celebrating them. Kudos to the government of these states, and i pray the FG too takes this initiative, so that we, Abuja residents will also benefit.

2. Top private schools whose parents see no big deal in all these may not keep to the state govt. directive .

1. At least, they are not being forced.

3. This is a welcome development, Please lagos state follow suit, before my baby starts school biko.

4. Welcome development 👌👌
    Good moves.

5. Good initiative 👍

6. I'm loving this.

7. Make This Great News Reach Lagos oo...

8. Nice one!
    OYO state governor should follow suit abeg

9. Nice one
    Make Delta State follow suit abeg
    Having the same textbooks 4 times in a roll is so annoying.

10. Nice one. Lagos State, over to u.

11. Onyin's Scentsational (08143485426)28 August 2025 at 09:59

Very good, all states should follow suit.

12. Almost all the states are on this

13. FCT...pls do same
    School is about to resume..person no fit chop better food for house cos of fear of school fees and textbooks

God will help us

14. That's a good one because I don't know what they're graduating to

15. This is a welcome development. Other states should follow suit too.

16. All states should adopt this.
    In many schools, graduation has shifted from being a celebration of academic achievement to a display of status, with expensive clothing, parties, photo shoots, and financial demands that put unnecessary stress on families.

When states or institutions simplify graduation requirements, for example, by standardising ceremonies in schools or discouraging flamboyant spending, it helps:
    Reduce financial burden on parents.
    Refocus on the true purpose of graduation: celebrating academic success.
    Promote equality, so students from less affluent homes don’t feel left out.
    Encourage moderation, making the event more meaningful and less performative.

1. The US they are trying to copy does not even hold graduation proms for elementary and middle schools and prom in high school which was a tradition because college is optional before joining the workforce is not compulsory. One of my children did not take part in prom. Even college graduation ceremonies are optional. Everything in Nigeria is about copying, bragging or flaunting.🚶🏿‍♀️

17. Imagine making money from other people misery and claiming prosperity? These are the same people wanting to destroy the education sectors so that they can keep making money.

18. But where are they graduating to?
    I pray every state use this new method

19. i'm loving the new development

20. Lagos State over to you🙏

21. This is not even an issue in another part of Nigeria where even seeing people who will graduate is the real miracle.

1. Sha that same part u are insinuating made the whole country proud recently in a global competition academically. I just say mk i remind u.